We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
RJK010
Belfast, United Kingdom

Basic hotel in a great location with friendly staff.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Sept 2023
Hotel 54 is in a great location for all that a visitor might want to do when visiting this great city. Out of the hotel and down a side street and you are at the beach. Marina across the street. Barceloneta metro a short walk away. The staff are friendly and obliging and none more so than Salvador. While the location is appealing and the staff friendly and attentive, the hotel is tired and just about 3 star.. The rooms are very clean and fine for a few days but the frosted glass screens separating the sleeping area from the bathroom/toilet are certainly not a good idea, and lacking in privacy. I could point out other areas where it falls a little short but it is a 3 star accomodation so you take the good points ( location) and accept the shortcomings. It is what it is.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£226
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £226
  • Vio.com
    £199
  • Hotels.com
    £226
0.8 miles from Hotel 54 Barceloneta
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£277
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £277
  • Vio.com
    £231
  • Hotels.com
    £277
1.3 miles from Hotel 54 Barceloneta
Pool
Room service
Booking.com
£164
  • Official website
    £181
  • Agoda.com
    £152
  • Expedia.com
    £169
0.7 miles from Hotel 54 Barceloneta
Free Wifi
ibis Styles
£140
  • Booking.com
    £140
  • Vio.com
    £133
  • Expedia.com
    £140
1.2 miles from Hotel 54 Barceloneta
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£87
  • Expedia.com
    £92
  • Agoda.com
    £80
  • Hotels.com
    £92
1.7 miles from Hotel 54 Barceloneta
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
£189
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £189
  • Agoda.com
    £153
  • Expedia.com
    £189
2.2 miles from Hotel 54 Barceloneta
Free Wifi
Pool
Salón
Vio.com
£141
  • Skyscanner.com
    £161
  • Trip.com
    £157
  • Agoda.com
    £141
2.1 miles from Hotel 54 Barceloneta
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Barcelo.com
£112
  • Booking.com
    £125
  • Expedia.com
    £125
  • Vio.com
    £118
2.1 miles from Hotel 54 Barceloneta
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Booking.com
£358
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £358
  • Priceline
    £337
  • Hotels.com
    £358
0.9 miles from Hotel 54 Barceloneta
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £322
  • Algotels
1.0 miles from Hotel 54 Barceloneta
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Barcelona
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
87
141
67
27
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
87
141
67
27
16
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2023 via mobile

Good hotel in perfect location. Reasonably priced. Close to the beach, walking distance to main attractions. Public transportation within walking distance. Close to restaurants and grocery stores.
Very clean. Friendly and helpful staff.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank irinaaa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 May 2023 via mobile

Location wise it’s amazing if you like to be close to the beach and overall great area with variety of places to grab food and enjoy your vacation. Smiley receptionists there 24/7. And the terrace where you can have some drinks or coffee with the view of the city and Sagrada

Had a free transfer from the airport which was very convincing on arrival 🙂

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Alexandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 November 2021

Just arrived back from a really nice 4 nights stay in Barcelona. Overall, we had a lovely stay at the Hotel 54., no problems at all. Don't be put off by previous negative reviews... at the end of the day; you get what you pay for. For less than £100 per night in Barcelona... what do people expect?
As we arrived at the hotel (around 11am) from an early flight, our room was not ready for us. This wasn't a problem for us, we were happy to head off and explore for a few hours, albeit in the rain! The lady on the hotel reception had actually tried calling us and emailing about an hour later to let us know she had managed to get a room ready early for us.
Room was cleaned each day, towels changed daily too. Comfy bed and a nice Juliette balcony. Really big rainfall type shower, always lovely and hot. Only odd thing about the room was the glass around the bathroom, it didn't bother us too much, but it did shed some light through on a night time from outside.
Location was great; 5 minute walk to the beach, 15/20 minute stroll to La Rambla. We enjoyed staying a little away from La Rambla, as it was more relaxing and not as frantic and the main tourist area. Some nice restaurants in La Barceloneta area if you like seafood. Breakfast was nice and simple, croissants, omelete, coffee, juice. Due to Covid this was waiter service,
We had an early start on our last day. The chaps on reception/ breakfast duty, kindly provided us with some croissants and juice to take away with us. Nice touch.

Date of stay: November 2021
Thank Copites
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2021 via mobile

I rarely leave reviews but felt I needed to warn other travellers to spend their time and money more wisely

We stayed only 1 night out of 5 we'd booked and we have never moved rooms let alone left a hotel before!!

On a positive - The first members of staff we dealt with at check in and then initially following my complaint were pleasant enough and hotel is close to the beach - that's where the positives end.

WHERE TO START?!
The hotel is very tired, run down, poor condition building.
Damp walls everywhere, paint peeling off the walls, wallpaper peeling off the walls in our room

The toilet didn't flush! The hot water in the shower took absolutely ages to come through hot. The sink had a huge dirty crack across it. We Tried to stay positive but then we tried to actually sleep after a long day travelling and things just got worse!

Don't expect to get any sleep - Awful uncomfortable, lumpy, obviously very old beds, one had a huge dip in it.

The glass bathroom 'walls'- not so cool or trendy when the light from outside is shining through your large bathroom window straight into the bedroom all night and no escaping it due to the glass walls. Absolutely ridiculous.
I literally didn't get any sleep and that was the last straw. We left the next morning and found a different hotel which was beautiful - world's apart!
Oh and the owner or manager was a rude, arrogant man who couldn't have cared less. The location although close to the beach is also on what seems to be the only 'tacky' road in Barcelona with restaurants showing pictures of their food on boards and replicas of bright blue cocktails outside.
Please don't be fooled by the nice pictures supplied by the hotel.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 486JoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 May 2021 via mobile

Super little hotel in excellent location beside one of the best shellfish restaurants in Barceloneta - El rey del gambas-.
It is front line overlooking Port Vell, easy walking to excellent choice of restaurants & quaint rustic bars.
This was our first time to stay there and we shall be back, no restaurant, well prices for the location.

Room tip: Taxis and parking nearby
Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kenb884
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews