We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great shower. As long as the metro works then you'll have a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Barcelona Fira Suites
Ranked #216 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great shower. As long as the metro works then you'll have a great stay”
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

This was a weekend break, for 3 nights. We booked a short package With flights but I recommend you book direct to get the discounted hotel rate.
The suites, unlike the massive Hesperia (sister) Tower, are only 3 floors high, but not much of a view in the area anyway. Nice water feature and park at the back. The decour is clean and contemporary, with black gloss tiles throughout.
The kitchenette consists of sink, hob, microwave and basic pots and pans. Washing up is taken care off by staff upon servicing the room.
Large king bed was joined in the middle but I think they are bolted so hardly noticed. Breakfast is well worth the price, although if you're on a tight budget there's a cafe and shop nearby. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Shuttle bus to airport is a bonus.
Other people have commented on the location being too far out but the metro in Barcelona is cheap and efficient so no worries there.
All in all, great stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Andy-actor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    186
    51
    21
    6
See reviews for
81
230
19
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Overall, great hotel, especially in terms of value. You’d have to pay twice or more for anything of this quality downtown. Plus, it’s right on the subway and near airport.

You see that gigantic space-age-looking tower in the middle of nowhere? (You literally can see it from miles and miles.) Yeah, you are not staying there, but in a three-story building beside it. You still need to check-in at the Tower though, then roll (or get the bell boy to roll) your luggage over.
The suites section has three floors (with elevators). The rooms face either to a concrete courtyard, to a somewhat busy street, air exhaust from the tower or the back with some green space, breakfast tables and a water feature – we recommend the back.

We don’t recall the number of the room, but they all seem to be the same with the distinction of either two twin or one king bed. The rooms are bit small with low ceilings, so you might feel a bit claustrophobic especially with lots of luggage. Each suite has a kitchenette with a mini fridge, stove, microwave and a table. There is a pull out couch and a tv in the living area. Overall décor is modern-ish, albeit a bit worn out. There were two open-able windows in the living and bedroom (we like fresh air). The water in the shower is powerful. But the glass doors were no match for the water, which causes constant flooding.

There is not much in the surrounding area, there are some lunch and cheap (!) tapas places a short walk north. The subway stop (Hospital de Bellvitge) is the last stop on L1 and could be a bit deserted at night. Unlike many other subway stops in Barcelona, it is fully accessible, but the entrance is in the middle of the Hospital’s parking lot and requires a brisk walk to the hotel. Although, it does appear to be pretty safe.

The hotel does offer a shuttle between the hotel and Airport and Downtown, but it was way incompatible with our schedule, so we never used it. Do check with them for a schedule. Using subway is a breese. And it is pretty easy to get between the Airport and Hotel by bus 46 (cheap, gets you there in 15 minutes, very frequent).

If you plan on visiting museums or other landmarks, ask the concierge about travel vouchers. We bought one for La Pedrera, which gave us a small discount, and, more importantly, allowed to skip the line.

Room Tip: We recommend rooms facing back - no street noise, no air exhaust from the tower, and the view is kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank E-Taimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

we didn't stay at the tower but the building beside, it has an equipped kitchen with all the basics covered. The hotel is close to the bus stop that takes you to the airport for only 2.50 euros, also is very close to the subway station. Also they provide free rides to the Airport and to downtown and the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HamiltonViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuggi
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at the Hesperia Fira suites apartments for 5 days in August. The apartment smelled like smoke, even if that is a non-smoking apartment. Thats what they told me. Make sure to ask for an apartment in the second floor. We stayed in the first floor and everybody outside could see in to our apartment. Not funny...

We got as a welcome present some small Hugo Boss parfumes, ncie idea even though the parfumes had some "old spice" touch... Not the newest one for sure :) But that's just my opinion.

The service was very good, and the breakfast buffet was 5*****!

If you don’t want to take a taxi to the hotel from the airport, which costs about 25€, you can take the local bus number 46 at the airport. The stop where you must leave the bus is Granvia (hospital oncologico) you will see the hotel on the left. The bus ticket costs 2 Eur.

The apartment has a mini bar, which can be used as fridge.

For the nespresso machine, you can buy the capsules at Axis Bar (10 capsules cost 7€) or you can bring them; as you prefer.

The swimming pool and spa are at the Metropolitan Health Center & Spa. It has a cost of 14€ per person and day. Children are not allowed (+18 years).

If you want to take the shuttle service to the town, be aware of that only 13 persons fit in the bus. So make sure to be there some 10 min before. Wait outside for the bus. The service is for free. It will take you all the way to Placa Catalunya which is only a 5-10 min walk from Las Ramblas. Once you are in the hotel ask for the schedule. They have a sommer and winter schedule for the shuttle bus. Otherwise you have the Metro that is about 10 min walk from the hotel, the station is called Belvitge. The neighbourhood around the hotel doesnt look very good, it looks poor and has a ghetto touch (no discrimination). But we felt safe while walking around there direction metro, so no need to worry.

Once you are in the town, use the metro. Buy the T10 card. 10 trips costs you 9,80€ instead of 2€ per trip.

Last but not least, make sure you visit the best stadium in the world, Camp nou, to watch the best team ever! :) Enjoy your stay in barcelona!

Room Tip: Second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank samito77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The suite we had was a one bedroom with a small kitchenette, very clean. It was not located in the center of Barcelona, but metro station is a five minute walk. The room was very clean quiet and well equipped. Unfortunately, the breakfast was not included. Good customer service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank escanizales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

this was a wonderful hotel. Not in the center of Barcelona, but metro station is a five minute walk.
The room was very clean quiet and well equipped. Breakfast(not included) was fabulous.
Front desk staff especially friendly and helpful.
The area has parks and restaurants and stores

Room Tip: We stayed in the suites and found it excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Torquil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, CA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The suite we had was a one bedroom with a small kitchenette. There are two metro stops that are conveniently located, one across the street by the hospital and one in the opposite direction if you walk down alongside the garden with the historical chapel and cross the street. Breakfast was included in the price of the room and was very, very good, especially the fresh orange juice served daily. The bathroom was perfectly adequate. The reception desk staff, and lounge staff are very professional and friendly. Would definitely stay here again. There is also a laundromat within walking distance (7mins) next to the gas station. The area is very residential though, so quite limited in terms of neighborhood restaurants, bars etc. Our taxi driver from the airport had difficulty finding the hotel and took us to a different Hesperia and we had to back track so good to mark the freeway exits/cross streets before you leave home.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SantaClara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
0.0 mi away
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#122 of 512 in Barcelona
2,479 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Alfa Aeropuerto
3.5 mi away
Melia Barcelona Sarria
Melia Barcelona Sarria
#137 of 512 in Barcelona
2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
SmartRoom Barcelona
SmartRoom Barcelona
#104 of 512 in Barcelona
392 reviews
1.8 mi away
Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat
Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat
#1 of 4 in El Prat de Llobregat
1,158 reviews
8.0 mi away
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#185 of 512 in Barcelona
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Barcelona Fira Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Barcelona Fira Suites

Property: NH Barcelona Fira Suites
Address: Mare de Deu de Bellvitge, 3, 08907 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Hesperia Fira Suites)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#143 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#153 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#158 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Barcelona Fira Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Barcelona's new business district, the NH Barcelona Fira Suites hotel, formerly known as Hesperia Fira Suites, is a 10-minute drive from the airport and 15 minutes by car to the city center. It's also very close to the University of Barcelona and the Fira de Barcelona trade fair center. The nearest metro station is a 5-minute walk away and will take you directly to Plaza Catalunya. - located in Barcelona's new business district - easy access to the city and the airport - nearby metro stop with a direct line to the city center The hotel has 50 well-equipped apartments with one or more bedrooms, a separate living room, and a kitchenette. All the apartments are spacious and modern with free Wi-Fi. Some have a private terrace with lounge chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your NH Barcelona Fira Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Fira Hotel Barcelona
Hesperia Fira Barcelona
NH Barcelona Fira Suites Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing