We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Barcelona Fira Suites
Ranked #243 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We stayed here from 05/07/10 – 08/07/10
We stayed in the suites not the Tower. Both are 5 star. I would say Apartment would be 4- 4.5 star. Very clean and spacious. We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the 3rd floor, Room 311. There is only 3 floors at the Suites. You need to book in at the Tower not the suites. Parking is underneath in the car park. Costs €24.00 per 24hours. We got a good deal direct with hotel. €222.00 for 3 nights not including parking. Apartments are decorated in black granite and light & dark wood. Queen size bed in 1 room and a single in the 2nd bedroom. Bathroom is huge, with a huge power shower with massage jets. Apartment is air conditioned, with plasma TV with English Channel - Sky News. Kitchen has a cook top with 2 elements, under bench fridge, toaster microwave, coffee machine but bare essentials for cooking with. Minimal cutlery and plates etc as the house keeping wash everything for you. Our only complaint is that it seemed housekeeping only washes dishes and cutlery etc under hot water as food and oil was still visible on plates and pans after they were left to dry. There is no tea towels or dish cloths or detergent for you to do this or even a cloth to wipe the bench from spills etc so we had to use the bathroom hand towels for this. There is a 4 seat dining table and separate lounge area. Free wifi in the apartment. Metro is a 3 minute walk across the road and trough a car park, and the train into Catalunya station takes 15-20 minutes and costs €1.40 one way. There is a grocery store right around the corner for food and essentials; also they provide a free shuttle into Barcelona city centre but not a return ride. Timetable for this free shuttle services is available at the reception. Staff are very helpful and fluent in English. Great place overall to stay just in the outskirts of Barcelona in a business district. Nothing really around her to see that is touristy but like I said it is close to the Metro. Would definitely highly recommend this accommodation and would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brooke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for NH Barcelona Fira Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2010

We stayed here in Aug for 5 days for our wedding anniversary , We chose here because we were on a budget and wanted to sightsee.
What a choice and a brilliant bargain , which i may add upset a couple of guests when they asked what we had paid .
Cheap flights £100 return , Hotel £200 and about 20 euros for 5 days travel on the bus and underground .
I admit its far out but the underground is only over the road and the hotel has a shuttle bus. We fitted so much into 5 days and spent a lovely day at the beach (which was quite entertaining) there is so much to do i cant begin to say .
Our room got upgraded because they had no studios , We had a 2 bed apartment beautiful bathroom beautiful everything . Our shower broke and within minutes a guy came to repair it , Cleaned daily , Ice machines on every corridor , Everything you could ask for . Brilliant ! Round the corner you,ll find a few bars that close about 10pm and they dont speak english but if you point to your drink they sort it and you get massive measures and is very very cheap .

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireKebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

The Hesperia Hotel is just next to the 'Fira Suites' building (we had to check in/out at the reception there as they don't have one manned in the fira suites building out of season, but it's no trouble as it's right next to it. We found our room to be of a high standard and very clean, a sort of 'living area' with a mini kitchen and a table to eat at, with a tv and sofa, the bedroom and bathroom both leading off it. It was really nice to be able to buy our own food and cook for ourselves some evenings, but because it's a hotel and not self catering, you get your washing up done for you the next day :). On the first night we arrived late and had room service and drank from the mini bar (not too horrendously priced). There was a very fancy shower with water spraying from here there and everywhere, nice if you like that sort of thing but i'm more of a bath person!! We didn't really deal much with the staff other than checking in and out as we tend to keep to ourselves but they all seemed polite and spoke good english. The location was an ideal base for exploring the city with a metro station just over the road, there are a few shops nearby but nothing much of interest in the district where the hotel is, so remember when you get back to the hotel that's where you'll stay! Overall we found the Fira suites to be a great place to explore beautiful Barcelona from, i really enjoyed coming back to our nice apartment after a long day of walking around the city!! highly reccomended.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank au_contraire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

The staff went out of their way to be helpful. It was a great hotel, the suite was a good size. It was nice to have the kitchen area to make tea and some small meals. There wasn't a coffee maker or kettle, but we made to with a pot to boil the water.

There is a free shuttle from the airport available, we requested the schedule by email before our arrival. The shuttle also runs into Barcelona a number of times each day, you need to get yourself back to the hotel. We used the metro more than the shuttle, it's only a short distance away. We purchased a T-10 ticket for just under 8 Euros and shared it, so found the metro fast, easy and inexpensive.

We don't do late nights, so didn't mind being out of the downtown area. There is a small shopping area just behind the hotel, with a supermarket, bakery, sandwich shop and a couple of bars.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marilyn_Gerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

I loved being here. First of all, the Hesperia Fira Suites is adjacent to the Hesperia Tower hotel, so you check in there and get access to it's stuff, including a fantastic ground floor cafe with a yummy entrecote steak, and a Michelin-starred top floor restaurant, EVO, which I didn't try, unfortunantly. The suites are great. They are very roomy, with comfy beds, good decor and a great shower, though the AC never went below 22 degrees Celsius, which kinda was a problem for me, but I still liked it a lot. It's also close to the airport, and so this is a great choice for people who are flying. I highly recommend this hotel. My only regret was that Google Maps gave us the wrong directions to this hotel, so we did get lost trying to look for it, and almost gave up looking. So do NOT use Google maps looking for this place. Overall, this is a great hotel, and a fun place to stay, so give it a shot.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jameygamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Firstly, clarification - the suites are a separate building very close to the main tower where all admin is conducted so go there first. It is very much a business hotel and so impersonal. Many pluses:
1) The free shuttles to Barcelona centre and airport are very good, former enabling a full day in town and then return for suite cooked dinner in the evening (NB previous review incorrect - you can get the shuttle back from downtown but it finishes around 10 pm; the airport shuttle runs to a schedule - posted on the hotel web site but only the Spanish PDF downloads; hotel says it is starting a third shuttle to the beach in summer; shuttle to Plaza Catalunya takes 15 minutes in light traffic.
2) There are a number of shops - supermarket, fruit and veg, pharmacy; bakeries - and bars less than 100 metres/yards away in a square (walk down wide road in opposite direction to the hotel for just a few yards and look right to see a sign for the first of these shops - either walk right here or carry on a few yards for a wider approach, which is probably best at night (NB an earlier review mentioned social housing - correct but think ordinary working people rather than dysfunctional)
3) Suites themselves spacious and comfortable - good beds and reasonably equipped. e.g. 2 hot plates and a microwave for cooking.

The downsides other than location are:
1) Very poor (even by Spanish standards) choice of English channels on TV - e.g. no BBC
2) Missing essentials (especially if you're used to American suites) - nothing to wash or dry dishes with, and now no in room coffee for the Nespresso machine (has to be purchased in main hotel at 0.7 euros a pop).
3) 12 euro fee for the pool/spa - though to be fair this is a separate facility (Metropolitan Spa) which Googling suggests is a level above the typical hotel facility

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheKoolKestrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

The fira suites is in a seperate building next door to the very impressive tower hotel (where you have to check in). The fira suites however are very clean and modern, our room was split into a small lounge/kitchenette, a great bathroom and a double room with safe. Accomodation was great and the hotel is situated a couple of minutes away from the metro however there is not much to do around the hotel and drinks at the bar in the tower hotel can be quite pricey although the bars are very nice. Staff are very accomodating and professional. If you are keen on nightlife you may have to wait until nights when the metro runs later so you can go into town until late as tourists will be disappointed with the surrounding area. Can highly recommend for a cheaper city break.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deftablud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#127 of 513 in Barcelona
2,555 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Alfa Aeropuerto
2.3 mi away
SmartRoom Barcelona
SmartRoom Barcelona
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat
Salles Hotel Ciutat del Prat
#1 of 4 in El Prat de Llobregat
1,192 reviews
8.0 mi away
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#181 of 513 in Barcelona
587 reviews
3.5 mi away
Melia Barcelona Sarria
Melia Barcelona Sarria
#149 of 513 in Barcelona
2,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Barcelona Fira Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Barcelona Fira Suites

Address: Mare de Deu de Bellvitge, 3, 08907 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Hesperia Fira Suites)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#153 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#156 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#158 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £63 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Barcelona Fira Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Barcelona's new business district, the NH Barcelona Fira Suites hotel, formerly known as Hesperia Fira Suites, is a 10-minute drive from the airport and 15 minutes by car to the city center. It's also very close to the University of Barcelona and the Fira de Barcelona trade fair center. The nearest metro station is a 5-minute walk away and will take you directly to Plaza Catalunya. - located in Barcelona's new business district - easy access to the city and the airport - nearby metro stop with a direct line to the city center The hotel has 50 well-equipped apartments with one or more bedrooms, a separate living room, and a kitchenette. All the apartments are spacious and modern with free Wi-Fi. Some have a private terrace with lounge chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, NHHotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Barcelona Fira Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Fira Hotel Barcelona
Hesperia Fira Barcelona
NH Barcelona Fira Suites Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing