We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in the awesome city”
Review of Pension Luis

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pension Luis
Ranked #216 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Zielona Gora, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in the awesome city”
Reviewed 20 June 2011

I have been to Pension Luis in June with a group of friends. Our room wasn`t big but it was clean and we had a private bathroom and even TV. The owner, Luis, is a very nice guy, he alwalys helped us if we needed it. There is also a kitchen for everyone if you want to make your own meal. The place, as others said, is not luxury. However, for this price it`s a great deal. There was almost always silence and when we you are too loud at night Luis may come and ask you politely to be a bit more silent;) When we had been choosing accomodation we had read the reviews also on this site. At first we didn`t want to go to Luis but finally we booked a room. I don`t regret but remember that everyone has different experience and so on. So don`t pay attention to every opinion too much as we did at first. Barcelona is a great city and if you want to see everything you probably won`t spend much time at your hostel.
To sum up, if you: want to live in the city centre, are quite young, travel with a group of friends, don`t need 5star accomodation, don`t want to spend much money
Pension Luis is certainly for you.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magda092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    6
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Pension Luis is a wonderful small hotel. It is close to a lot of Indian Gourmets and a few minute walk to the famous strip La Rambla. The Owner of Pension Luis is really friendly. If you want to make your own breakfast there is a small kitchen. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

This place is certainly not for everyone, but if you are just after a cheap place to bunk down in the centre of things, this is a good place to choose. The owner is very friendly and helpful, and the place felt safe and secure. We had a room with a blacony facing away from the street. However, there were some other guests who came home at 3am and chatted loudly in the hall, banishing all sleep. The rooms are not sound proof. Overall, however, it was a good experience, and if you are used to hostels and other such places, then you will be happy with this place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hb277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

I've been in Pension Luis and I liked it. It's not luxury at all but the rooms are really clean. When you enter the outside door of the pension that is the door of a building it's a bit disapointing but when you enter the Luis pension it's a nice place. You have to go up 3 floors (it says it is on the first but it's not like that). Luis is a very helpfull guy and he made our stay really good. There is wi-fi connection in the rooms and a computer in the pension. Rooms are well cleaned and I saw Luis cleaning them for the people that were coming. Towles are like beach towels but at least you have them. There room was warm and it has air conditioning too. You can use the kitchen to cook but we didn't like it very much. The pension is very well located because you're near turistic places, near the metro and near plaza catalunya that is important to go to the airport. FOr the price you pay this is a good place to stay! There is no breakfast included but there is a place near there that is called LA Candela that I liked very much.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria1233582768687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2008

After reading the other reviews, I can see why people say what they do, after spending time here. My boyfriend, a friend of ours and myself stayed here for 5 nights. It was a place we picked for the location and closeness to The Ramblas and the oceanfront.

We expected it to be a place where we would keep our things and sleep and shower. Luis does his best to keep the place in clean shape. I can see how someone would think it is dirty because it is an old building.

We wanted our own room, which we got, including a bathroom and shower. Those were all given to us. We arrived there with Luis greeting us, helping us with our baggage. It is on the 3rd or 4th floor, but the we did not complain about the walk up. It is set within a cultural district of locals and amazing restaurants and groceries.

Luis took his time to show us around. The sheets do not match, but that added to the details of Pension Luis. There are colorful bedding with all the blankets you could need. The bathroom towels are vibrant, hilarious towels.

Our room was not facing the street and it was very quiet. We had a small balcony.

There is a kitchen area and it was a little cramped, but Luis had many pots and pans to use, condiments, the use of a refrigerator, microwave, stove, sink, etc. If you are wanting to mix going to restaurants and eating in, then this place is great for that. Every morning Luis offered to make me tea. He is very friendly and easy to talk to.

He has a free use of internet on a very old pc, but it got us information we needed of places we wanted to visit after Spain.

Overall, this place is for a couple or small group of people that enjoy the simple things in life and the hospitality of a small house-like setting. This is a place that you can only expect so much from, but with our experience we received much advise from Luis about the city and a comfortable, safe place to sleep and bathe. We enjoyed ourselves and would stay there again.

  • Liked — location, the hospitality
  • Disliked — the rooms are small, but for 3 of us, it was fine. if you have a larger group it might be a problem.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hawaii_traveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2007

I'm sorry that I didn't shot neither a picture of the room that the owner proposed to us. Because you could understand better watching the picture what I mean. So I will try by words.

First of all: the room that the owner gave us, with his nice oriental manners, was without windows. Yes, it's incredible but that room was without windows. The hot air leaved you no chance to breathe, and the fact is that also in the corridor was incredibly hot (if outside in the street was 20° C inside the corridor was at least 35°C and in the room there was a free turkish bath experience). The room had a bathroom with a saloon door (so you can easily smell all the typical perfumes of the toilet directly from the bed). A little dangerous fan (without protection between your face and the propeller) was the only tool to freshen the air. The pavement was dirty and the room was very little.

The owner proposed us other rooms for the next days, rooms with windows!!! But we refused because of the heat, the dirt and because the windows were all in front of the corridor so you should keep them barely closed or else everyone who would pass through the corridor could watch inside.

The owner presents this place adding that there is a free kitchen and a free PC connected to internet; but the kitchen was only a dirty utility room with some tool to cook; the pc was there but didn’t seemed to us a real plus.

We (me and my girlfriend) tried to sleep one night in the room without windows because we arrived at 1 a.m. and we were really tired to move our baggage (Pension Luis is situated at the forth floor, in a building without elevator and with really narrow stairway); we didn’t succeed to sleep and the next morning we went away. The “once nice mannered” owner tried to get angry, than sad, than melancholic (what a play to get paid for the next days we reserved) but we didn’t, so we moved away without pity and with the clear sensation to awake from a nightmare.

I hope that you read this review because Pension Luis is a crap and surely its value is sub zero.
It was a really bad experience. Stay away from Pension Luis.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — The room without window
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tormento76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2007

Pension Luis is close to the tourist area Las Ramblas. About a 5 minute walk. The price was good. We had to climb 3 flights of stairs.
We were a group of 4 females and stayed in room 7 with a private bath. The toilet had a pull down to flush and smells like pee. It had
a bunk bed and a double bed and also a singe bed that Senor Luis offered to take away to give us more space. We kept it since nobody wanted to go on the top bunk. This is more like a border house, no matching bedsheets or towels. He allows use of the kitchen to get coffee or tea, but we couldn't really figure it out. Senor Luis is a very nice man and offered all sorts of advice. This place is not for anyone who is fussy about cleanliness and space, for us it was ok as it was a place to sleep and shower.

  • Liked — Senor Lusi
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lailai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Alba Hotel 3
Alba Hotel 3
#443 of 513 in Barcelona
50 reviews
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#22 of 723 in Barcelona
1,461 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#114 of 308 in Barcelona
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,705 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Martinval
Hostal Martinval
#18 of 308 in Barcelona
635 reviews
Gracia
Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Luis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Luis

Property: Pension Luis
Address: C/ Hospital 93 1-1a, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Pension Luis Hotel Barcelona
Pension Luis Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing