We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Low cost option for downtown Barcelona” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Luis

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pension Luis
Ranked #224 of 325 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Low cost option for downtown Barcelona”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

I visited with a friend Barcelona for a couple of days. For a place to stay we were looking for a low cost accommodation close to some of the key spots (Placa Catalunya, Ramblas, Barrio Gotico) - Pension Luis is just that.

The Hotel is situated 3-4 walking minutes from the Ramblas in a small street. The actual Pension Luis is in one of the upper floors, not so easily found.
The rooms are really, really basic - no frills whatsoever (not really large bed, small storage place for clothes, simple towels and sheets - that's basically it).
It's overall very clean - except the shower curtain that really needs some changing. The price is absolutely in line with what Pension Luis has to offer, so you get what you pay for.

A real highlight, however, is the owner. Luis is a very friendly, relaxed guy who was absolutely great in making us welcome and was helpful all along the way (pre-arrival organisation, check out time, luggage storage etc.). Luis makes the difference between just a very cheap place to stay and a good home base for a fun trip to Barcelona.

So if you are looking for an affordable place to stay to then focus on (and have more money fo) all the great things to do in this amazing city, check out Pension Luis.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    6
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zielona Gora, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

I have been to Pension Luis in June with a group of friends. Our room wasn`t big but it was clean and we had a private bathroom and even TV. The owner, Luis, is a very nice guy, he alwalys helped us if we needed it. There is also a kitchen for everyone if you want to make your own meal. The place, as others said, is not luxury. However, for this price it`s a great deal. There was almost always silence and when we you are too loud at night Luis may come and ask you politely to be a bit more silent;) When we had been choosing accomodation we had read the reviews also on this site. At first we didn`t want to go to Luis but finally we booked a room. I don`t regret but remember that everyone has different experience and so on. So don`t pay attention to every opinion too much as we did at first. Barcelona is a great city and if you want to see everything you probably won`t spend much time at your hostel.
To sum up, if you: want to live in the city centre, are quite young, travel with a group of friends, don`t need 5star accomodation, don`t want to spend much money
Pension Luis is certainly for you.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magda092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

Pension Luis is a wonderful small hotel. It is close to a lot of Indian Gourmets and a few minute walk to the famous strip La Rambla. The Owner of Pension Luis is really friendly. If you want to make your own breakfast there is a small kitchen. Rooms and bathrooms are clean. We enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

This place is certainly not for everyone, but if you are just after a cheap place to bunk down in the centre of things, this is a good place to choose. The owner is very friendly and helpful, and the place felt safe and secure. We had a room with a blacony facing away from the street. However, there were some other guests who came home at 3am and chatted loudly in the hall, banishing all sleep. The rooms are not sound proof. Overall, however, it was a good experience, and if you are used to hostels and other such places, then you will be happy with this place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hb277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

I've been in Pension Luis and I liked it. It's not luxury at all but the rooms are really clean. When you enter the outside door of the pension that is the door of a building it's a bit disapointing but when you enter the Luis pension it's a nice place. You have to go up 3 floors (it says it is on the first but it's not like that). Luis is a very helpfull guy and he made our stay really good. There is wi-fi connection in the rooms and a computer in the pension. Rooms are well cleaned and I saw Luis cleaning them for the people that were coming. Towles are like beach towels but at least you have them. There room was warm and it has air conditioning too. You can use the kitchen to cook but we didn't like it very much. The pension is very well located because you're near turistic places, near the metro and near plaza catalunya that is important to go to the airport. FOr the price you pay this is a good place to stay! There is no breakfast included but there is a place near there that is called LA Candela that I liked very much.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria1233582768687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2008

After reading the other reviews, I can see why people say what they do, after spending time here. My boyfriend, a friend of ours and myself stayed here for 5 nights. It was a place we picked for the location and closeness to The Ramblas and the oceanfront.

We expected it to be a place where we would keep our things and sleep and shower. Luis does his best to keep the place in clean shape. I can see how someone would think it is dirty because it is an old building.

We wanted our own room, which we got, including a bathroom and shower. Those were all given to us. We arrived there with Luis greeting us, helping us with our baggage. It is on the 3rd or 4th floor, but the we did not complain about the walk up. It is set within a cultural district of locals and amazing restaurants and groceries.

Luis took his time to show us around. The sheets do not match, but that added to the details of Pension Luis. There are colorful bedding with all the blankets you could need. The bathroom towels are vibrant, hilarious towels.

Our room was not facing the street and it was very quiet. We had a small balcony.

There is a kitchen area and it was a little cramped, but Luis had many pots and pans to use, condiments, the use of a refrigerator, microwave, stove, sink, etc. If you are wanting to mix going to restaurants and eating in, then this place is great for that. Every morning Luis offered to make me tea. He is very friendly and easy to talk to.

He has a free use of internet on a very old pc, but it got us information we needed of places we wanted to visit after Spain.

Overall, this place is for a couple or small group of people that enjoy the simple things in life and the hospitality of a small house-like setting. This is a place that you can only expect so much from, but with our experience we received much advise from Luis about the city and a comfortable, safe place to sleep and bathe. We enjoyed ourselves and would stay there again.

  • Liked — location, the hospitality
  • Disliked — the rooms are small, but for 3 of us, it was fine. if you have a larger group it might be a problem.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hawaii_traveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2007

I'm sorry that I didn't shot neither a picture of the room that the owner proposed to us. Because you could understand better watching the picture what I mean. So I will try by words.

First of all: the room that the owner gave us, with his nice oriental manners, was without windows. Yes, it's incredible but that room was without windows. The hot air leaved you no chance to breathe, and the fact is that also in the corridor was incredibly hot (if outside in the street was 20° C inside the corridor was at least 35°C and in the room there was a free turkish bath experience). The room had a bathroom with a saloon door (so you can easily smell all the typical perfumes of the toilet directly from the bed). A little dangerous fan (without protection between your face and the propeller) was the only tool to freshen the air. The pavement was dirty and the room was very little.

The owner proposed us other rooms for the next days, rooms with windows!!! But we refused because of the heat, the dirt and because the windows were all in front of the corridor so you should keep them barely closed or else everyone who would pass through the corridor could watch inside.

The owner presents this place adding that there is a free kitchen and a free PC connected to internet; but the kitchen was only a dirty utility room with some tool to cook; the pc was there but didn’t seemed to us a real plus.

We (me and my girlfriend) tried to sleep one night in the room without windows because we arrived at 1 a.m. and we were really tired to move our baggage (Pension Luis is situated at the forth floor, in a building without elevator and with really narrow stairway); we didn’t succeed to sleep and the next morning we went away. The “once nice mannered” owner tried to get angry, than sad, than melancholic (what a play to get paid for the next days we reserved) but we didn’t, so we moved away without pity and with the clear sensation to awake from a nightmare.

I hope that you read this review because Pension Luis is a crap and surely its value is sub zero.
It was a really bad experience. Stay away from Pension Luis.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — The room without window
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tormento76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Generator Barcelona
Generator Barcelona
#26 of 760 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#94 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,577 reviews
Gracia
Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hostal Martinval
Hostal Martinval
#24 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Barcelona City North
#198 of 325 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Colon Hotel
Colon Hotel
#84 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Luis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Luis

Property: Pension Luis
Address: C/ Hospital 93 1-1a, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Pension Luis Hotel Barcelona
Pension Luis Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing