We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MH Apartments Ramblas
Ranked #310 of 728 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dirty”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I must agree with crewcommander - Sergio if you pay a cleaner to service these apartments you are paying too much! Dirty sponge, glasses, kitchen scissors etc all had to be washed before they could be used - ick. And without a plug for the sink - challenging. Walls are dirty, curtains are dirty, plates are chipped and cracked, not what I expected. Great location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gtrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    27
    23
    8
    9
See reviews for
47
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mittagong
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The apartment is a very spacious two bedroom apartment with a well-appointed kitchen, a large lounge area complete with a convertible bed/couch two bathrooms and a flat screen TV. What it did not come with was Wi-Fi full air-conditioning or a TV that worked all of which we had requested and paid for. These are important to us especially when we stay abroad for several days. What added insult to injury both building and apartment were filthy. I doubt if our apartment had been cleaned for weeks. The floor was so dirty we couldn’t walk on it in bare feet. The kitchen sponge looked like it had been used to clean the toilet. It was so foul I had to throw it out. We did complain to MH management and to their credit they did offer us another much newer apartment but also much further from Las Ramblas making it was totally unsuitable for our purposes. The one and only saving grace for the appointment was its locality being very close to the center of Barcelona. That and the fact that it was surrounded by well stocked convenient stores and any number of restaurants and its close proximity to the thriving ‘Las Ramblas’ was the only reason we were prepared to stay. It is also the only reason I grudgingly give it two stars but really I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrewCommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio_MH, Director Comercial at MH Apartments Ramblas, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear client,

First of all we want to thank you for having booked in MH Apartments, we feel sorry about your experience in our apartments. Cleaning service is done after every checkout, we sent the housekeeping to check and everything was found fine. About the problems you found, we don't have WIFI service in this building for that reason we do not advertise in websites and then the TV were changed in May this year, so probably there was a misunderstanding on how to work it.

We are sorry you found all these problems and we invite you to try again MH Apartments if you have the chance to come back to Barcelona in the future, we have 11 buildings with different facilites from Standard to Deluxe apartments.

Best regards,

MH Apartments Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This was an excellent well appointed apartment, a stones throw from the Ramblas and just across the street from Palace Guell. The apartment was spacious and the kitchen was equipped with everything you could need for a short stay, the bedrooms were functional and the bathroom (especially the shower) was fine.

We rang head office once we had arrived at Barcelona airport and arranged to meet one of their staff outside the property. The staff member was friendly and helpful and talked us through all that we would need to know for our stay and discussed the best way to get around the city. One thing to note was the city tax that we had to pay on arrival, it was only about £3 but it had not been mentioned prior to our arrival as far as I could tell.

As a number of other reviews have pointed out the apartment maintenance is a little rough around the edges, a scuff here, a patched up tile there and so on, but on the whole it is clean and tidy and great value for money.

The apartments have balconies, some of which look out over the street and onto Palace Guell those at the back overlook the tapas restaurant downstairs and the backs of the surrounding flats. However, if you travel to Barcelona to sit in your apartment and look at the view then you are missing the point of this apartment’s location.

The Metro station is a 5 minute walk away and there are numerous sights within eay walking distance. The supermarket (Supermercat) is just downstairs and as mentioned before a nice tapas restaurant is just below the apartments.

All in all this is a very reasonably priced apartment in an excellent location for exploring what is a beautiful city.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

having stayed many times in apartments in barcelona and also using mh apartments opera ramblas, i assumed that they would be of equal standard - Wrong! poor facilities - the oven was not connected, there was no wifi, the balcony was a joke overlooking the smoking area of a cafe, tv only had one station working, fortunately it was football or there would have been trouble as the dvd player did not work either! there was no dishwasher as stated and two out of four people came home with a contact born virus ie one with cold sores and myself with conjuctivitus! i dont believe the bedlinens or towels had been laundered and so that is where we contacted these viral infections!no definately wont be using these apartments again! Ever!

Room Tip: dont bother try opera ramblas
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cuti59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio_MH, Director Comercial at MH Apartments Ramblas, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear client, First of all we want to thank you for having booked again in MH Apartments and we are so sorry you dont get the same impression or better from Opera Rambla, we use the same laundry service in both apartments so we are so impressed of what you said and we of course take note about that. And the apartments have the same facilities (except from the dishwasher which there is no in Guell apartments) so we do not understand the problems that you had, we have a maintenance service and a person in charge of checking all the apartments before the clients checking supplies, laundry... As always we say, we have a 24h customer service where you can provide your comments and complaints and we can change everything you need. Probably the TV was not well connected and the oven it is working properly. We apologize again for that review and if you are back again you can try all over 10 buildings that we have over Barcelona. Best regards, MH Apartments Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012 via mobile

These apartments were good value for money. We were there for two night break to watch a match and the location was fantastic! Arrangements for arrival were great. The rooms were spacious and very clean if a bit dated. Can't really fault them overall. I'd definitely book them again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Location is good near every thing, size is good, wellequiped kitchen. Very bad beds, bad view specially apartments at the back. One elevator which is tiny and always not working. It is a good choice if you need an apartment for a family which is inside the city center.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamer Maged G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I was here with my family in August and the apartment was hot, no internet. The towels were so thin and used. The apartment was not that clean. I could not wait to get out. Would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 403Lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
MH Apartments Liceo
MH Apartments Liceo
#454 of 513 in Barcelona
95 reviews
Eixample
MH Apartments Tetuan
MH Apartments Tetuan
#353 of 513 in Barcelona
85 reviews
Eixample
MH Apartments
MH Apartments
#91 of 728 in Barcelona
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Palou Suites Ramblas
Palou Suites Ramblas
#49 of 728 in Barcelona
255 reviews
Eixample
MH Apartments Suites
MH Apartments Suites
#296 of 728 in Barcelona
18 reviews
El Raval
Amister Apartments Barcelona
Amister Apartments Barcelona
#111 of 728 in Barcelona
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MH Apartments Ramblas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MH Apartments Ramblas

Property: MH Apartments Ramblas
Address: Carrer Nou de la Rambla, 20, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly MH Apartments Guell)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #310 of 728 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MH Apartments Ramblas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MH Apartments Ramblas are located in a quiet street within the historic city centre of Barcelona. Central, spacious and well equiped they are perfectly location to discover Barcelona's charms, shopping and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your MH Apartments Ramblas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mh Apartments Guell Hotel Barcelona
MH Apartments Ramblas Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing