We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel!”
Review of Praktik Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Praktik Garden
Ranked #132 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

a few blocks away from placa catalunya, this hotel is fun to stay at. they have a nice garden upstairs. the hallways are draped with colorful graphics, the staff are helpful and the rooms may be small but really clean and cozy. will definitely stay here again! it's worth the money and it's 'praktik'al!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Timi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PraktikGarden, Gerente at Praktik Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear reviewer!
We are delighted that your experience in our hotel was so positive.
As you mentioned the design and decoration of our hotel as well as its central location are two of the main strengths of it.
Thank you for your kind comment.
Hope to see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,061)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

833 - 839 of 2,061 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Very clean hotel with comfortable beds. We had a nice balcony facing the terrace in the back of the hotel which we requested (to be away from the noisy street). Staff were very helpful as we made our travel plans from the computer downstairs. Breakfast was very nice, loved the nespresso and eating in the terrace was very charming. Drawback was there were no room safes to keep passports loced etc. Great location close to many main streets. We walked everywhere but metro is 5min walk if needed. Definitely would recommend this hotel!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PraktikGarden, Gerente at Praktik Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear guest,
It's really rewarding to hear your positive feedback. We are doing a great effort to offer our guests the best stay possible.
In addition we are very glad you liked the service delivered by our front desk staff and you enjoyed with our delicious breakfast and the wonderful central location of our hotel.
We much appreciate you recommend us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Praktik Garden was a great place to stay on our first trip to Barcelona.
The staff were very friendly and helpful with restaurant, tour recommendations and booking of our airport transfer.
The location of the hotel was convenient to explore the sights of the city, in a nice area of town and being an easy walk to the hustle of La Rambla and Placa de Catalunya.
We loved the huge bed, clean room and contemporary interior. The courtyard was a perfect place to catch up on emails or to have a few drinks after a big day sightseeing.
We did pay extra at the time of booking online for a room upgrade which we would recommend doing.
We would definitely recommend Praktik Garden!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room upgrade. Rooms facing the street were totally fine with noise from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 119Lacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PraktikGarden, Gerente at Praktik Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear reviewer,
It's is a big pleasure to have guests as satisfied as you as it's our best award to our work.
We are very happy you enjoyed the central location of our hotel as well as the comfort in its rooms.
Thank you for recommending us!
We will love to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We got a friendly and helpful welcome on arrival at the Praktik Garden, the staff provided all the information we needed and were able to offer suggestions for nearby places to eat. We were also able to buy tourist bus tickets from reception. The hotel is perfectly located to visit all parts of the city, it is possible to walk to main tourist areas such as La Rambla and the Bara Gothic, as well as the beach. There are metro and train stations also within easy walking distance for trips further afield. Our room was not huge but the bed was very large and comfortable. We had a room overlooking the road and there was some noise but we had windows open so can't complain about this. It certainly did not stop us sleeping. The room was cleaned and linen changed every day. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a reasonably priced, well located place to stay in Barcelona and we hope to make a return visit ourselves.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hilaryann55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PraktikGarden, Gerente at Praktik Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear guest,
We are really happy to know that you had a warm welcome and you were well attended throughout your stay by our staff.
We agree with you about the privileged situation of our hotel, pretty close to the main touristic areas.
Your feedback is much appreciated by us.
Looking forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

we spent one night but we will surely return. the staff is great and it's a nice location, but the best part is the comfort of the beds and bathrooms- fantastic shower and a nice private wc. good quality materials for all the amenities and excellent soundproofing on the street side. ( we stayed in a premium double which I would recommend) easy walk to paseig de gracia and some good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: the "garden" rooms at the back open onto a large open area, the ones on the front are stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PraktikGarden, Gerente at Praktik Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your nice review.
It's a great pleasure to hear that your stay with us was so good. And we love you enjoyed the service, facilities and the fantastic location of our hotel.
Hope to see you in a future occasion.
Best regards from Barcelona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here during my three night stay in Barcelona. The hotel is quaint and decorated so nicely! The staff was nice and helpful and the garden in the back is serene and relaxing!
While the rooms were very clean and contemporary looking, it seemed to be designed more like a hostel than a luxurious hotel room. The sink was located in the main room, while the shower and toilet were in the bathroom. I really would have considered going back again if it were not for the extremely dim lighting situation in my room. At first I thought one of the bulbs were out, but then realized and confirmed with the front desk that this was the only light available in the room.

Overall I had a pleasant stay, hotel is centrally located and very clean and hopefully they will add more lighting to their rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PraktikGarden, Gerente at Praktik Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear guest,
We like you enjoyed the design and decoration of our hotel, its relaxing garden, as well as the central location.
It's very pleasant to hear you value as positive the service delivered by our staff.
We regret you found lack of light in the room. We take note of this and we will try to improve this issue.
Thank you for your review, it's very important to us to know the feedback of our guest.
Regards from Barcelona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed 5 nights here and really liked it. Everything was very clean and the staff, two guys at reception in particular, were extremely helpful and friendly. The location near the center was great - it's walking distance to lots of sights like Casa Batlo, Placa de Catalunya, La Rambla, Mercet de la Bouqueria, Palau Guell, Barri Gotic, etc. They also sell tickets for the Bus Turistica. The hotel is in what must have once been a town house but has been modernized and is very creatively decorated, with some of the old charm maintained as well. They have succeeded in making it modern and keeping the charm - plus there is a beautiful plant filled roof terrace! Our room was a double overlooking the tree-lined street from a little balcony. The other person in our group had a single which was quite small, but the prices were reasonable for the rooms, we thought. Other travelers mentioned the breakfast issue - we had it on the first day. I would suggest not booking the breakfast in advance but trying it the first day to see if it is your kind of thing. If you eat muesli, yoghurt, fruit, etc, you may not find that coffee, pastries and cheese/ meat-cheese sandwiches work for you. However, this seems to be the typical Spanish breakfast, so you may want to try it, especially if you are a coffee drinker. This is a great hotel for a holiday but as the rooms are a bit small (though nice, with big beds) it might not suit business travelers with lots of work. There wasn't a desk and chair, and there were only hooks if you wanted to hang a suit. These are small things, however, in the big picture, because the hotel is nice, clean, well-located and the staff are great. We thought it was good value and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Singles are quite small, it might be better to pay more and get a double, even if you are a single t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GajriKesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PraktikGarden, Gerente at Praktik Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your valued feedback.
We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us and you felt well cared by our staff.
As you highlight the great location of our hotel is really convenient to discover the main touristic attractions of the city by walk.
We also have the Garden rooms which offer desktop facilities.
Thank you again for taking your time to write us.
We will love to welcome you again.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Bakery
Hotel Praktik Bakery
#85 of 518 in Barcelona
2,033 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#66 of 518 in Barcelona
1,671 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#88 of 518 in Barcelona
2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 518 in Barcelona
4,158 reviews
Eixample
Acta Antibes
Acta Antibes
#120 of 518 in Barcelona
1,962 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#77 of 518 in Barcelona
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Praktik Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praktik Garden

Address: C/Diputacion 325, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £38 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Praktik Garden 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Praktik is a new, clean and very economical hotel in the centre of Barcelona. It is a new concept midway between a modern hostel and a contemporary hotel. In Praktik, the technology and comforts we seek when we travel combine with the history of the city of Barcelona, as it is located in a historical building from the Modernist age, in the heart of the Eixample district. Praktik is chic, friendly, comfortable and very cheap. The best way to visit Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Praktik Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praktik Garden Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing