We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Onix Liceo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Onix Liceo Hotel
Ranked #303 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Second visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

This was my second stay at the Onix Liceo in Barcelona. I found the hotel through the internet for my first trip a few years ago and "took a chance" ... and was not disappointed. When I decided to go to Barcelona again recently I did not even have to think about where I would stay ... I will always stay at the Onix when in Barcelona.

The hotel is situated very conveniently for the Ramblas and old town areas, and yet is in a quiet location. The rooms are all well sound-proofed so that even though you are in the heart of the city it is quiet at all times.

All the rooms are similar. All very comfortable and modern. Not very big, but big enough. The wifi can be a bit dodgy in the rooms, but it is free and it is fast in the communal areas.

Essential information about the hotel is that there is no bar and no restaurant. There is a coffee machine downstairs that all the guests use. That's it for catering. However, this is not a problem at all ... a sensible decision on then management's part, I think, as the area is full of bars, restaurants and coffee shop so that nobody need walk for to get a good meal or a drink at any time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thatsmymango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    251
    98
    46
    26
See reviews for
63
356
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Room was of very good size for Europe. Staff were very friendly and accommodating and made every effort to help us out. The complimentary fruit and water were great to pack along on a day of sightseeing. The internet computers were also very useful for planning trips or looking up information. Location was close to Las Ramblas but far enough away to be quiet in the evenings. The only down side was that there was no room safe just a safty deposit box at the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsonix, Operations Manager at Onix Liceo Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
We really appreciate your opinion about the hotel, it helps us to continue improving in order to be able to give every day a better quality service, thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Nice staff, modern hotel, with a good location, a nice pool and very good breakfast. The room was quite and it was turned against the street - but no noise at all. Take the bus to the beach it is easy and take about 10 minuts. We used the Wi-Fi at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vibeke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsonix, Operations Manager at Onix Liceo Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
We really appreciate your opinion about the hotel, thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOTTINGHAM, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

The location is perfect.....just off the Ramblas half way between the port and Placa de Catalunya. We stayed here for 5 days last week and it was lovely. The breakfast buffet had something for everyone and was available from 7.30 til 11am. Each day it was easy to walk to the sights and grab lunch at the market or walk to Port Vell. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely use this hotel for another visit to Barcelona.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANGELATNottingham_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsonix, Operations Manager at Onix Liceo Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thanks for your feedback, we hope to have you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a friend mid Aug 13.

Location wise great. Literally off the Ramblas with its interesting combo of market stalls, friendly locals and dodgy beggars! But that's not the hotels fault!

Hotel was clean, and to a pretty decent standard considering the price we'd got it for (double for about £40pppn). Reasonable sized room. Comfortable bed. Air con. Mini bar. And decent bathroom with various soapy things.

We didn't spend too much time in the hotel as there were more pressing things to do like drink Estrella and eat tapas but it seemed fairly quiet and efficient.

Never managed to get up in time for breakfast so can't really comment on this, although the coffee machine was pretty good!

Only negative comments would be that walking back to the hotel alone in the early hours could be a bit unnerving with the aforementioned dodgy street people hanging about. But that's the case with most inner cities. And also the staff, although perfectly pleasant were not particularly friendly or welcoming. I don't think I actually got a smile once walking thought the front door.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joekerr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsonix, Operations Manager at Onix Liceo Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
We really appreciate your comments, because they help us to continue improving in order to be able to give every day a better quality service. We hope to have you back with us soon"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at onix liceo..i read a lot of other reviews about the air conditioner so i was really worried we got our room the air conditioner wasnt that good so we asked for a change and they were helpful and changed our room..we had 2 other couples with us their rooms were fine too..the main disadvantage is that the walls are supee thin u feel u r living with people in the next room..another thing most rooms have twin beds that they stick together ror couples that was really annoying...
Other than that the location was excellent minutes walking to the port and placa catalunya..staff were friendly specially i guy called Adrian was really helpful..free apples coffee and water..rooms were clean.. I had good time overall my stay i would recommend this hotel :)

Room Tip: Choose a back or high floor room mine was in the middle no outside view but a bit bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsonix, Operations Manager at Onix Liceo Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
We really appreciate your opinion about the hotel, we are open to all the comments because they help us improve. We hope to have you back with us soon Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Onix Rambla Hotel
Onix Rambla Hotel
#223 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Espana
Hotel Espana
#107 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Medinaceli
Hotel Medinaceli
#318 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Eurostars Ramblas
Eurostars Ramblas
#298 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#89 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Gaudi
Hotel Gaudi
#169 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onix Liceo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onix Liceo Hotel

Property: Onix Liceo Hotel
Address: Nou de la Rambla 36, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#180 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#207 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Onix Liceo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotels Onix, right in the heart of Barcelona. Your little hotel in the City. Modern and charming, the ideal choice for your trips to Barcelona, leisure and business. Feel the ambiance of the Mediterranean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Onix Liceo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onix Liceo Barcelona
Onix Liceo Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing