We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking location!”
Review of Onix Liceo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Onix Liceo Hotel
Ranked #308 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Cracking location!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Onix is situated in the perfect location. A stones throw away for the busy rambla but just far enough back to ensure of a peaceful nights sleep.
Spacious clean rooms with wi fi minbar and all the essentials.
We had a problem with payment when we arrived we were told for some reason they hadn't taken full payment and would need it straight away if we were to stay there this matter was quickly resolved and was the only down point to our stay.
Breakfast was good well worth the Money.
Although an extra €11 a day each to have it brought to our rooms a bit steep!
I would avoid the safes at all cost. €50 deposit for the key, €6 a day for the safe which is kept under the counter at reception, and your only covered for €200 should it go missing!!
There's several beautiful restaurants within half a mile on the other side of the rambler. (Well worth eating away from the rambla)
Two little bars a couple of doors up an English pub and an Irish bar showing all The football if that's of interest.
Swimming pool and small outdoor garden looked very inviting we unfortunately didn't have the time.
If I'm ever back In Barcelona I'll be sure to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DannyD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    258
    101
    49
    28
See reviews for
66
370
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Nice hotel and good location,staff helpful,my only criticism is that the room doors bang,take earplugs if sensitive.Nice that coffee(no milk) and water are available free 24/7,very nicely restored hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Louis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is the worst 4 stared hotel i have stayed at in long time!
The wifi didn't work the 4 days we stayed at this hotel, the staff was not very helpful and didn't care about that there was no wifi.
Noise from the corridor and you could hear the room next door taking a shower.
The room is small and boring.
The location is good, but you can properly find a better hotel.
The best thing about this hotel is the shower head, lots of hot water.
I will not recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirDunno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We travel and stay in 4 and 5 stars hotels all over the world because of our job so our standards are quite high. But this hotel hasn't disappointed us at all!
Hotel is located next to the Rambla but even though our rooms were facing the street it was absolute silence due to the double doors. Perfect size room, clean and with very comfortable beds. Breakfast was good value for money.
Staff was also very friendly and helpfull. No doubt that we will book this hotel again for our next trip to Barcelona!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mariel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This place is a quiet gem nestled into the busy Las Ramblas area of the old city. I am American and therefore have a different standard for hotels, but for a European city hotel I found this place to be great. The staff was always willing to help us and essentially be guides for directions and attractions. The rooms are better than the average European Hotel rooms, very clean with nice bathrooms and excellent air conditioning. We used the AC every night for the white noise and slept great without hearing the possible noise outside. I would pay the extra 10-15 Euro for the "deluxe" room to get a more airy feeling. I am a picky person and I would definitely come back to this place again if I needed to be in BCN.

Room Tip: I would pay the extra 10-15 Euro for the "deluxe" room to get a more airy feeling. I am a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JonM61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This was my second stay at the Onix Liceo in Barcelona. I found the hotel through the internet for my first trip a few years ago and "took a chance" ... and was not disappointed. When I decided to go to Barcelona again recently I did not even have to think about where I would stay ... I will always stay at the Onix when in Barcelona.

The hotel is situated very conveniently for the Ramblas and old town areas, and yet is in a quiet location. The rooms are all well sound-proofed so that even though you are in the heart of the city it is quiet at all times.

All the rooms are similar. All very comfortable and modern. Not very big, but big enough. The wifi can be a bit dodgy in the rooms, but it is free and it is fast in the communal areas.

Essential information about the hotel is that there is no bar and no restaurant. There is a coffee machine downstairs that all the guests use. That's it for catering. However, this is not a problem at all ... a sensible decision on then management's part, I think, as the area is full of bars, restaurants and coffee shop so that nobody need walk for to get a good meal or a drink at any time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thatsmymango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Room was of very good size for Europe. Staff were very friendly and accommodating and made every effort to help us out. The complimentary fruit and water were great to pack along on a day of sightseeing. The internet computers were also very useful for planning trips or looking up information. Location was close to Las Ramblas but far enough away to be quiet in the evenings. The only down side was that there was no room safe just a safty deposit box at the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsonix, Operations Manager at Onix Liceo Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
We really appreciate your opinion about the hotel, it helps us to continue improving in order to be able to give every day a better quality service, thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Onix Rambla Hotel
Onix Rambla Hotel
#236 of 513 in Barcelona
562 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Espana
Hotel Espana
#108 of 513 in Barcelona
1,572 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Medinaceli
Hotel Medinaceli
#309 of 513 in Barcelona
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Eurostars Ramblas
Eurostars Ramblas
#313 of 513 in Barcelona
366 reviews
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#180 of 513 in Barcelona
1,065 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#87 of 513 in Barcelona
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onix Liceo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onix Liceo Hotel

Property: Onix Liceo Hotel
Address: Nou de la Rambla 36, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#184 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#207 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Onix Liceo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotels Onix, right in the heart of Barcelona. Your little hotel in the City. Modern and charming, the ideal choice for your trips to Barcelona, leisure and business. Feel the ambiance of the Mediterranean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Onix Liceo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onix Liceo Barcelona
Onix Liceo Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing