We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, almost perfect”
Review of Onix Liceo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Onix Liceo Hotel
Ranked #318 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in June, just my husband and I. Cant fault the location, so close to everything! We walked everywhere from here. (Side note - the is an amazing bakery a few doors down. Chocolate croissants to die for!)

The room was massive, modern and clean. We were at the back with a view of the pool. I can imagine that a room at the front might be noisy though.

Doors slamming in the night woke me a couple of times, but not enough to get upset about!

Shower was amazing and bed very comfortable.

The staff were very pleasant but slightly lacked personaliy if I am being picky!

Check out wasn't until 12:00 which was great and they kept our bags for us as we had a late flight.

We didn't have breakfast.....too much yummy food right on the doorstep!

Find it hard that anyone could be disappointed with this hotel. Next time we come to Barcelona we will certainly book this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happyhels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is about 3 (short) blocks from La Rambla and in walking distance of many of the attractions that we wanted to see like the Picaso museum, the music museum, Museu D'historia de Barcelona and its on the same street as Palu Guell. We chose the hotel based on the location and were not disappointed. It is only a few minutes walk to La Rambla and in the morning you pass a lovely small bakery where you can buy a croissant for breakfast.
The check in and out was fast, the staff was for the most part friendly and helpful. There is a lounge at the back of the hotel with computers where you can print and a spot where you can get a cup of freshly brewed coffee and cold water for free to start you day. They also had a bowl of apples there which I thought was great.
The pool in the courtyard is very small and I didn't see anyone in it when I was there but the courtyard is a good size and a nice place to sit and enjoy a coffee in the morning.
The rooms are small but not uncomfortably so, the bathroom is a good size and the hotel overall was very clean and modern. There is one North American style plug in the bathroom but it will not take the type of plugs with one side larger then the other.
There were 2 areas of dissatisfaction, one was the air ventilation in the bathroom, it would get very hot and steamy in there after a shower and two is that you can hear the other customers getting coming and going from their rooms loudly enough that it woke us up at night.
You can take the Aerobus from the airport, its about $5.40 Euro's and you will get dropped off at the top of La Rambla. Just walk down La Rambla for about 10 minutes and then turn right on Nou street. Its about a 15 minute walk. There is a pizza place on one side of the corner and a leather shop on the other.

Room Tip: We were in room 410 which is in the back of the building. I would recommend this room as it was quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lilly_travelling_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We first stayed at this hotel in May 2013 for a few days prior to joining a cruise. The location could not be better. So close to Las Ramblas and a short walk to the port - although worthwhile getting a taxi if you are joining a ship and have luggage!

The hotel was ideal for us hence our return visit in Aug 2013 for another pre- cruise stay.

Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LisaC2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Let's start with the positive things: excellent location for exploring Barcelona, good breakfast and clean. And now the downturn: a room with no fresh air ventilation (oh yes, you can ask at the reception for the special window opener, but they have only one to share), poor bathroom ventilation on top of that; noisy due to missing carpets, tapestry or pictures (design hotel); you have to step outside on the road for a smoke after midnight because the inner yard is closed and they would not open on request (very annoying for a woman with various "ladies" around but for a different purpose); the beds must have been purchased from an army camp.......

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Thhis hotel is very clean, excelently located ( 1/2 block off Las Ramblas) and MINIMALservices and comfort.
Booked through AA.COM, rated as 4 Star. When we arrived (midday) only one person on the desk 9and on the phone), no one to help with luggage and no luggage cart. This is staffed by one employee in the front and no one backing him for guest's help or services.

The room had two twin beds together, no chairs, no drawers but a nice double closet.. Bathroom was ample, but no safety rail in the shower and was unable to operate the flexible hand spray.

No help in leaving (luggage-we had completed a 4 week cruise and had 4 large suitcases and two carry ons) we had to make multiple trips to get to the lobby.

For younger travelers, this place is OK. They do have a small pool and a seating area for outdoor dining (they only offer a buffet breakfast not other food services) to which you can bring your own food.
A 4 Star rating needs to be removed from any reference to this minimal services property.

Room Tip: Pick a dfifferent hotel, unless you only need/want a great locaton.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I had a lovely stay in Barcelona early May for 5 nights at the Onix Liceo. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room basic but nice and clean and the bed very comfortable., The bathroom was modern and had a lovely shower! We had breakfast one morning which was continental but nice and did the job on our early morning! There was quite a bit of noise of a morning from doors slamming and we could here the cleaners but it wasn't too bad at all. Our room faced onto the street but considering we were right on top of Las Ramblas and some bars we weren't disturbed at all. I would definitely recommend this hotel for its wonderful central location!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

First off, there were 15 boys in their late 20's stahing here for a stag weekend and for this purpose....excellent, the location was very good ( a side street just off the centre of La Ramba) and for us this was key, secondly the showers were very powerful which was definitely needed when one wakes up with a severe hangover and splitting headache! Another good feature was that all the floors are based off balconies off the main atrium which means people can 'communicate' on different floors fairly well and made for a 'fun' layout, this however was also one of the problems with the hotel.......you can hear everything. Our room (301) had no direct access to a window which made it a bit glum, in fact the window opened up into the main atrium so if you leave it open after you can hear all the way down to the reception and need to be careful it's not open when you come of the shower unless you want to lose your dignity. The room was fairly small and annoyingly there was no iron (one can be sourced from the reception) The staff were friendly and tolerated our sometimes loud behavior.

The Hotel was good for what we needed it for: Location, location, location! I wouldn't recommend it for couples.

Room Tip: Chose a room that doesn't end in '01' as this is directly off the atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kunal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Eurostars Ramblas
Eurostars Ramblas
#336 of 516 in Barcelona
384 reviews
Eixample
Onix Rambla Hotel
Onix Rambla Hotel
#228 of 516 in Barcelona
582 reviews
El Raval
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Chic & Basic Ramblas
#180 of 516 in Barcelona
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#89 of 516 in Barcelona
1,726 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#240 of 516 in Barcelona
500 reviews
El Raval
Leonardo Hotel Barcelona Las Ramblas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onix Liceo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onix Liceo Hotel

Address: Nou de la Rambla 36, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#189 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#207 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £52 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Onix Liceo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotels Onix, right in the heart of Barcelona. Your little hotel in the City. Modern and charming, the ideal choice for your trips to Barcelona, leisure and business. Feel the ambiance of the Mediterranean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Onix Liceo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onix Liceo Barcelona
Onix Liceo Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing