We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Provincial and budget friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residencia Erasmus Gracia
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We stayed at Residencia Erasmus Gracia the last week of November and the first week of December 2009. We were in Barcelona for me to have a spine surgery that was not available in the United States. The hotel was provincial with few amenities, but met all of our needs and was adequate for my convalescence.

The hotel was clean, bordering on sterile. It had wireless internet access in the rooms and PC's in the lobby if you don't bring a laptop. There was only one television channel in English; CNN international. The full size bed is two twin beds pushed together, which is not uncommon in European hotels. Each room had its own bath room equipped with a toilet, sink, shower and plenty of hot water. The staff was friendly, helpful and all spoke very good English. There is no restaurant or room service, but there are vending machines on the ground floor and washers and dryers if you want to do your own laundry. Our room was on the second floor (top floor) and on the courtyard. Because we were at the very end of the building it was very very very quiet; until 8AM when the construction workers began work on the building next door. (I'm sure that construction is complete by now)

The hotel was next door to a large grocery store (large by European standards), two blocks from the Lessups subway station and had numerous restaurants, bars, bakeries and other assorted shops within a two block walk. It is within a mile walk of Parc Guell, two miles from Las Ramblas. The nightly rate varied between $50 and $70 per night.

This is a no-brainer, but we left our brain in neutral one day. DO NOT LEAVE YOUR PASSPORT IN THE ROOM! My wife did this and it was not there when we got back. We are not 100% certain that she did not lose it in the city, but are almost certain that it was taken from our room by the cleaning staff. If that happens, there is a US consulate a few miles away where you can get a temporary replacement.

All in all, if we are ever back in Barcelona we will consider staying again at Residencia Erasmus Gracia.

Room Tip: Don't leave any valuables in the room. If you're not planning on being in your room except...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jssmith6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2012

Good location - 5 min. to Lesseps metro, reasonable price, helpful staff... Don't choose breakfast, though... They have a dining area with a fridge and microwave and you can buy food if you are on a low budget trip.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first, mine was pretty clean but the walls were really dirty... And the air cond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anca I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I spent 4 nights in a triple room, together with 2 friends. We booked the stay through a Romanian travelling agency which advertised it as a 3star hotel. The room is furnished very basic and the bathroom is very small, having dampness marks on the door frame. The walls are very thin so you can hear a lot of noise coming from neighbor rooms.There is no fridge in the room and the heating was not working. I guess the heating plant was not turned on yet because during the day the weather was warm. Wi-fi is working only in the common areas on the ground floor.
The hotel has a front building which is a very nice historical building but we were assigned a room in the other part of the hotel - a back ugly building, looking like an old student hostel.
Breakfast is almost impossible to eat - same things every morning : ham, cheese , yogurt without taste, juice which tasted like dyed water .
The staff is friendly and they speak good English.
I appreciated the hotel location, close to Lesseps metro station and this made very easy for us to reach the city center. The surrounding area is quiet and looks safe.
Unlike many hotels I know, this one charges if you want to leave your luggage after checking-out. They have a room with lockers working with 2 euro coins.
I would say that this hotel is a good choice for someone looking for a low-cost trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isa2febr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The hotel is very clean with spacious rooms; we had the ability to use the air-con with no extra cost which was much needed. The staff are friendly and all those that I saw spoke excellent English.
The hotel is a 3 minute walk to Lessaps tube station, which is on the same line as the Plaza Catalunya, it is about 4 stops away so only takes 10 minutes or so to get there. We missed the last tube a few times, and the cost of a taxi back from the centre to the hotel varied from 9 - 13 Euros.
Overall the hotel is a brilliant base from which to explore Barcelona, the only downside is that it is not closer to the centre but the cost of the hotel reflects this.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank kathryn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Gracia is a great area in Barcelona. This accommodation place is modern, clean and good value for money. The wifi works very well and there are several good rec areas for travellers to read, browse the Internet or even sleep while waiting for a room. Our room had twin beds and was very comfortable. Good value for money and they even have food vending machines which is a nice touch. Would stay here again and it's in such a good area for restaurants and clothing stores.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusannahPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

This is more of an upscale hostel than a hotel. Everything about it is very basic and functional. Small but clean and adequate bathroom with room. Convenient to the Metro. Not much in the immediate surrounding area. Sparce furnishings. Wifi only in the common area which is basically a modified parking lot. But this place is cheap and clean and secure so what more would you want for this price in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

we enjoyed our stay. good value . pleasant stay. 20 min from airport, 10min from LaRambla.. i would recomend this hotel to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank ESHEWERE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Hotel La Casa del Sol
Hotel La Casa del Sol
#370 of 515 in Barcelona
26 reviews
Eixample
The Hipstel
The Hipstel
#166 of 735 in Barcelona
674 reviews
Gracia
Gran de Gracia Apartments
Gran de Gracia Apartments
#103 of 735 in Barcelona
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Equity Point Centric Hostel
Equity Point Centric Hostel
#70 of 735 in Barcelona
914 reviews
Gracia
Le Palacete
Le Palacete
#96 of 307 in Barcelona
16 reviews
Gracia
Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencia Erasmus Gracia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencia Erasmus Gracia

Address: Torrent de Olla 212, 08012, 08012 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Gracia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 735 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: £40 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencia Erasmus Gracia 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residencia Erasmus is located in Barcelona's lively Gracia district. It offers affordable accommodation with free internet and a modern en-suite bathroom. Diagonal Avenue is 15 minutes' walk away. A buffet breakfast is served, including toast, cereals, cheese, jams and fruit juices. Residencia Erasmus Gracia also has vending machines, and guests can find bars and restaurants within a short walk. The Residencia Erasmus is located in a historical building and features a garden, lounge area with a TV and a dining area with a fridge and microwave. A luggage storage service is provided and laundry facilities and parking are available on request. Bookings at the residence (for short or long stays) can be made by students or academic staff travelling for academic purposes. The residence is just 15 minutes' walk from Gaudi's famous Park Guell, with many interesting architectural elements. Lesseps Metro Station is just 200 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residencia Erasmus Gracia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia Erasmus Gracia Hotel Barcelona
Residencia Erasmus Gracia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing