We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gastehaus Gran Via

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gastehaus Gran Via
Ranked #252 of 325 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

I don't know how these guys got a trip advisor award for excellence. Thank god i was not with my wife, she would have divorced me. Carlos saved the day though. Whatever you do, just deal with carlos. Decent location, breakfast average, rooms terrible. Saving grace was that i was really just passing through.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank EmmaS53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    8
    3
    6
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
21
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

Me and my friend stayed at this place last week. First night we were taken to another house as we are told they were fully booked. After spending a night at nunber 415 we got bitten by bedbugs!!!the German owner moved us to the number 429 and said that he WAS aware of the problem with bedbugs and offered us a nicer (at first glance) room. The following night I got bitten very badly by what a doctor at A&E told me was fleas! The hotel owner fist denied that it happened in his hotel, then suggested to pay for medical treatment but when we gave him receipts he only paid for one, the cheapest one. When I tried to explain to him that he ruined our holiday and that we were concerned about the state of his hotel since I got bitten by insencts in his filthly hotel he stopped listening. I asked for a full refund and then he became very agressive and kicked our luggage and ourselves from his hotel swearing in German and being very abusive. We called in the Police and obviously he denied everything. The worse experience so far. Avoid this place. We just hope that we don't end up with scars now. Absolutely disgusting!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curiousgirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here in May of 2011 and were very pleased with our stay. Though compact, the room had everything that we needed and was clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful, informative and knowledgeable. The breakfast was beautiful and delicious. I would stay here again in the future with no reservations.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSnellings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a city break, we really enjoyed it. The staff are great, the optional breakfast is lovely, our room was really clean and comfortable... We'd definitely recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

Do not stay at this place if you want a good vacation. My girlfriend and I booked this online last may. I thought it was going to be a bed and breakfast due to the photos/reviews. We went up a rickety elevator to the fourth floor which I thought was going to collapse. The gentleman who was presumably the owner was not unpleasant however he walked us two blocks where we had to go up to the sixth floor of another building and we were led through an apartment to a room with a window that looked out towards the middle of the building. The room was hardly big enough for the bed. It felt creepy like a horror movie and the bathroom was covered in a slippery film. The place was dead quiet and there were several other rooms in the apartment that all shared the same bathroom. In the nighttime we could hear other guests using the bathroom(right next to our room) and we were glad we only booked two nights. We both said we'd rather have stayed in a hostel than in that claustrophobic place. I'm so glad that I didn't book the whole time in Barcelona there we would have probably cut our losses and left as soon as we saw it. I write this a year later in the hopes that it will prevent someone else from staying there and having a ruined vacation. I feel also that this place is highly misrepresented online and don't want anyone else to be duped into booking this place

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshjohnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2010

I stayed at the guesthouse recently and I was impressed by the professionalism, helpfulness and courtesy of the staff/owners throughout. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable and the bathroom was of the same high standard for the price. The breakfast was outstanding and unbelievable value, a massive array of cooked/cold meats, cheeses, eggs, fruits, cereals, yoghurts, wide variety of juices and coffee served in a small but immaculately well presented room. The only negative thing I have to say is that some of the rooms belonging to the guesthouse are located in another building so check where you are staying before you book. other than that I had a great stay and I would definately return if I go back to Barcelona.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curlybrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

-Staff was great, always very helpfull and friendly! Always in a good mood and attentive.

-Breakfast was really great! very complete and had various good quality products! Great value!! you won't find a breakfast this good and this cheap anywhere else in Barcelona!

-The rooms were cleaned daily and were very comfortable, the bathroom was cold in the morning though, and the shower was a bit small. Hot water comes from a small boiler, so it might get cold if you take long showers, still that was not a problem for us! the rooms are very close to each other and sound proofing is poor, so you can hear almost everything in the hallway, so if your planning a nightout, sleeping during the day might not be that easy.

-Location is great, it's in the Gran Via, it's very close to the metro station (rocafort) and various buses (including Aerobus, which takes you to the airport) . Very close to the Plaza de Espanya and Montjuic.

-Once we got there, we weren't sure where it was, and it looked like it had no sign, but it is there, it's the bottom one (on door #429) and it has the NETRooms logo. It's on the last floor, so take the elevator instead of the stairs!! ;) you will know when you're there if you see two big aquariums!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis86amaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#66 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
Hotel Sant Angelo
#327 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Vilamari
Hotel Vilamari
#185 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
TWO Hotel Barcelona by Axel
#70 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Eixample
Ofelias Hotel
Ofelias Hotel
#96 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Eixample
BCN eixample hostel
BCN eixample hostel
#540 of 760 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gastehaus Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastehaus Gran Via

Property: Gastehaus Gran Via
Address: Gran Via Corts Catalanas 429 4th Floor/1th Door, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gastehaus Gran Via 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
Gastehaus Gran Via Hotel Barcelona
Gastehaus Gran Via Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing