We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, terrible beds”
Review of Sunotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunotel Central
Ranked #335 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 25 September 2013

To list the positive things about this hotel:
- Friendly staff
- GREAT location (2 minutes walk to Universitas, 10 minutes walk to Catalanya)
- Quiet hotel, we didnt experience any noise from traffic or people.
- Good standard, clean bathrooms and good shower.
- Ok roofterrace with a small (not heated) pool.
- Good price
The negative:
- Bad lightning in the room.
- Extremely hard beds, but at least this made us get up early in the mornings.
- Small room (we got the smallest they have)
- Expensive breakfast, we choose to eat at the local cafees.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are normally the smallest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AfromN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

We got a good price for 4 nights at this hotel. Half price of many other hotels we checked for this trip. Central location, but we would prefer to stay on the east side of La Rambla and a little bit closer to the beach. Took a taxi to the beach. Cost €10.

Terrace on top quite nice, but the jaccuzi did not work and looked very dirty.

We did not eat breakfast at the hotel. There is a local cerveceria just around the corner and a Starbucks close by as well.

Free Wifi and very good quality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterTNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We did not stay here cancelled on arrival the reasons no restaurant no live shows as advertised. The rooms were dark and very noisy. Sorry not for us. We checked out and found a better hotel for less money. Never to return

Room Tip: No idea we did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richp4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Very good location and friendly staff. Once again free wi-fi is included but it only worked when the room door was open to the corridor. Nice patio in our room and the terrace and the pool are a real bonus in city centre. Cleaning of rooms was sloppy. Terrace and location tip the over all balance just on the positive side.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very reasonable hotel quite close to centre of Barcelona. Our room was big enough and air con and fridge made a bid difference to our comfort. There could be a brighter light on a mirror as putting on make up was a problem. Breakfast is a bit more expensive than local cafes BUT worth it for choice of food and real table linen. Rooftop pool and Jaccuzzi very welcome in the heat. we had a room at the front and there was constant noise from traffic on the main road. This doesn't bother me and my friend used ear plugs so no problem there. We loved Barca and this hotel is well placed in proximity to bus stop/ underground station and the main squares and the Ramblas.

Room Tip: Consider noisy but interesting views at the front as opposed to quieter but no view ( gives on to sq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tootsSWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

To start with, I'd like to thanks the hotel staff who were really friendly and helpful.. They r really the main asset.
The hotel rooms were clean neat and comfy with a cheerful simple decorations... The rooms has nice balconies ..
The location is remarkable with walking distance to some attractions and shopping spots and very close to public transportation .
I stayed twice in the hotel within a month.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fayrouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This was a great hotel in the centre of Barsa, great for all the nearby site that are a must to visit on a visit here, great wee dinners nearby if you don't want to eat in the hotel, brilliant but small balconies where you could have a glass of wine and watch the busy street below, if I was going back I wouldn't miss this place again, great value, well placed and clean and tidy. Well pleased and so will u.

Room Tip: Think you need one at the front if you want a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tac9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Sunotel Club Central
Sunotel Club Central
#303 of 516 in Barcelona
411 reviews
El Raval
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#268 of 516 in Barcelona
710 reviews
Eixample
Sunotel Junior
Sunotel Junior
#363 of 516 in Barcelona
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Casanova
H10 Casanova
#93 of 516 in Barcelona
1,713 reviews
Eixample
Bcn Urban Hotels Del Comte
Bcn Urban Hotels Del Comte
#279 of 516 in Barcelona
597 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#81 of 516 in Barcelona
2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunotel Central

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 570, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#196 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £38 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunotel Central 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunotel Central is a new hotel located in the city centre of Barcelona, just a short walk from Las Ramblas, making it a wonderful base in the heart of Barcelona. After a long day guests could enjoy a relax evening indoors at the Aquarella Music restaurant and take advantage of the seasonal swimming pool and jacuzzi. The Sunotel Central is also surrounded by restaurants, cinemas, theatres, museums and shops.The comtemporary hotel enjoys a superb location close to the Barcelona's well-known attractions such as Las Ramblas, Gothic quarter, Casa Batlló, La Pedrera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunotel Central Barcelona, Catalonia
Sunotel Central Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing