We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked a 4 star got a 2 star”
Review of Sunotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunotel Central
Ranked #334 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Just spent the weekend in this hotel - booked it through Olotel.com as:
1x Double: Leisure - Room
The hotel is very convenient on the Gran Via just beside the Plaza Universitat but it is definitely not like any other 4 star we have stayed in - very small room which we didn't spend any time in though clean. Basic television service - no permanent bar in the hotel - we couldn't get a drink in it at 11pm on Sunday night. Not impressed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 790 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Smart clean hotel, good buffet breakfast including english breakfast items. Great location in walking distance of main squares and la ramblas.
No bar, but plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. Hotel has music theatre, but not in use during our mid week stay.
Rooms would benefit from tea and coffee making facilities and some english speaking tv channels on tv. Also more bed pillows required.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

A very reasonable hotel with very close proximity to everything you want to see in Barcelona. Has a steps-free access which was good for me as I had a pram with me. The breakfast option is too expensive but there are places around the hotel to grab a breakfast in. Will visit again

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Anna_nkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

the location was very good. it was within 10 minutes of las ramblas and the central district. we had a rear room that was quite. The room and bathroom were clean and functional although there was no
plug for the bath or basin probably to prevent flooding as there was no drain in the bathroom floor.
breakfast was good. the bed was two single beds pushed together, it was not the queen size we had expected. the lift was small and slow so we used the lifts as we were on the 2nd floor. It was tourist hotel but due to two large conferences in barcelona all higher standard hotels were booked solid. would we stay there again? Probably not.

Room Tip: rooms at the rear are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueboyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

i spent 3 nights in this hotel , This hotel is between 3 & 4 stars , its location is perfect , near of Rambla street & Catalunya square ,staff was friendly and helpful , my room was good in term of space and facilities , however , the mattress was not so good and not comfortable for me at least

the breakfast was very good , specially the fresh fruits

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ahmed_Hamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I booked this hotel fairly late on for a conference that I was attending. The location is reasonably good - about 10 minutes walk from Las Ramblas. The hotel itself is quite small, the facilities limited, with small rooms.

The room I had was about 10ft x 10ft (3m x 3m) with a separate ensuite bathroom. There is a tiny desk and small TV, along with a small wardrobe to hang clothes. The bed was OK, nothing amazing, the pillows were rubbish.

Bizarrely, despite having very few other facilities - coffee making machine etc - there was a mini-bar in the room.

The breakfast buffet was extra cost and not too bad.

The staff at the hotel seem to be friendly enough, although there wasn't much call to interact with them aside from check-in and check-out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sav_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

No a four stars at all. Very simple rooms, nothing charming, bathroom poor, shower changes between hot and cold water, TV small with very limied selection of international channels, service basic. Rooftop pool ok. Overall a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Sunotel Club Central
Sunotel Club Central
#299 of 515 in Barcelona
401 reviews
El Raval
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#260 of 515 in Barcelona
705 reviews
Eixample
Sunotel Junior
Sunotel Junior
#365 of 515 in Barcelona
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Sunotel Aston
Sunotel Aston
#383 of 515 in Barcelona
478 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#77 of 515 in Barcelona
2,265 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#86 of 515 in Barcelona
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunotel Central

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 570, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , Sant Antoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#196 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £44 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunotel Central 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunotel Central is a new hotel located in the city centre of Barcelona, just a short walk from Las Ramblas, making it a wonderful base in the heart of Barcelona. After a long day guests could enjoy a relax evening indoors at the Aquarella Music restaurant and take advantage of the seasonal swimming pool and jacuzzi. The Sunotel Central is also surrounded by restaurants, cinemas, theatres, museums and shops.The comtemporary hotel enjoys a superb location close to the Barcelona's well-known attractions such as Las Ramblas, Gothic quarter, Casa Batlló, La Pedrera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunotel Central Barcelona, Catalonia
Sunotel Central Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing