We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emotional Stay!!!”
Review of Buba House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buba House
Ranked #163 of 735 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed 2 November 2011

My boyfriend and I came across Buba house on a search engine as we wanted to try something different for our holiday to Barcelona and had never stayed in a hostel before and loved the look of the pictures of Buba house on their website so decided to book a private room for 9 days.

On arrival to Buba house, finding the Hostel was quite easy and you can get there by metro which is really cheap and super quick to travel around Barcelona, we had printed out a google map so that we could locate the hostel as we have heard that it's very hard to find and there is no clear Buba house signage, this is totally true as the only signage you have is tiny sticker stuck on to the buzzer outside the main building!

The actual location of Buba house is pretty good, the beach is a 10 minutes metro ride and La ramblas is a couple of blocks away, we travelled in August so we also had a few street festivals which were fun and a good way to experience the local culture.

We were buzzed in and took a very tiny, old elevator which is a better way to reach Buba house than taking the marble spiral staircase where my boyfriend actually slipped down a couple of times and actually found out he fractured his elbow when arriving back home!

The Buba house block is very quiet and very dark with not a lot of natural light so if you don't want to live like a vampire than maybe take another option, however this did make the block slightly cool (not the bedrooms though) during the crazy 35 degrees weather we experienced for the next 9 days stay!

We were greeted by the receptionist who was really nice and friendly but told us that our room wasn't ready yet and still needed to be cleaned and asked us to maybe come back in 2 hours, they only have one lady cleaner who to be honest looks like she had lost all motivation for life and is extremely rude and unfriendly! We were told we could leave our backpacks in the reception area and so we did taking all our valuables with us even though we were informed by the reception staff that they have not had a theft in 5 years!

We were given a box room with a double bed which was actually very comfortable, a tiny bedside table big enough for a book and no wardrobes or shelves so we either had to leave our clothes in our bags or on the floor, floor NOT advisable due to dirt and dust! Under the bed was FILTHY with dust! Asthma sufferers me aware! The room also just had a small window overlooking another room and the bathroom so no Barcelona view :( ! During the next 2 days our stay in the room became unbearable as we had no air con or fan and no natural air so I ended up catching a horrible chest infection due to humidity, eventually we were given a small, rather pathetic fan which did absolutely nothing for the heat!

The floor we stayed was on the 1st floor which consisted of 7 private double rooms and is more suited to couples, however only 1 bedroom had front facing street view with balcony!

Breakfast is served until 10.30am, on our first morning there we came down 2 minutes late due to bad sleep because of heat and room and were told we couldn't have anything as the cleaner now needed to clean which we thought was rather bad service as we were only 2 minutes late and the breakfast was all still out, it consists of a rather miserable bowl of bran flakes, white and brown toast, tea, coffee and rather bad orange juice, after this we decided NOT to bother with breakfast for our duration!

On our 3rd morning my boyfriend had had enough with our room and went to reception to inform them that we were not happy and that it was not what was advertised in the website and would like to change rooms as I was becoming increasingly ill, he was then told that there were not other rooms available and that 'everyone is hot due to the weather' and there was nothing they could do! The next day he went down again was was informed by a more helpful member of staff that we could have the double front facing room with balcony in another 2 days as it wasn't available until then!

We were eventually given the room promised which had better natural air as we had the balcony and it was quite nice to finally have a view on Barcelona but found the room to be very noisy during the night as the nightlife and traffic is Barcelona is non stop!

Still very angry and upset that we have had such a bad stay at Buba House and staff being so unhelpful, my boyfriend and I then took the decision to talk to the manager about our experience and were eventually refunded on the last day a quarter of our stay and used that to enjoy the last day we had in Barcelona. :'( By this point we were very much ready to return back home to London!

On the day of checking out, our flight was early morning and therefore had to check out at 3 am, I woke up feeling rather itchy but thought was heat rash until I noticed things crawling on my pillow and eventually noticed things crawling on the bed sheets, my arms, my clothes and my backpack, my boyfriend and I were HORRIFIED! we spent the next 15 minutes checking each others bodies, bags, clothes and hair for bugs!! We went down to reception to check out and whilst waiting I noticed a massive COCKROACH on the kitchen table where guests had been in eating THEIR DINNER!! We decided not to say anything and just get out of there as soon as we possibly could!

I asked the receptionist, a girl this time, for directions to the airport and she gave me them only to find out later that she had given me the wrong directions to the wrong airport so if I hadn't noticed this before we set off we would of ended up MISSING OUR FLIGHT!

Overall Buba house ruined our holiday! It's dirty, bugs crawling around everywhere, furniture consists of bad buys from Ikea! The bathrooms are constantly over flooded with water and dirty and Buba house has a persistent damp smell! No laundry place so you have to wash your clothes in the bathroom sink and put them out to dry on the clothes line(also dirty) which has no sun light!!! Some staff were friendly but some (2 new girls at the time) were very rude and unsympathetic to our situation! We paid £450 for 9 days and a TOTAL waste of money, we would rather sleep on the street, it was cleaner and had more air flow, I probably wouldn't of got so sick which I am still in recovery and it's now November!!

You CAN find better accommodation in Barcelona so please do not stay here!! It will ruin your holiday and cause nothing but stress and upset! And the fact you will be residing with creepy crawlies and cockroaches!!!!

Also so that you are also all aware, when Buba house gets full they take off the main buzzer for the building that states Buba house so even if you have booked and they have over booked you they will not let you in into the building as you will not be able to find it, hence the lack of signage for the hostel. Several people staying on our floor also ended up being refunded and left the hostel to find another!!

If you do decide to ignore the above and still go to Buba house we only have 2 words for you....GOOD LUCK!!

Room Tip: If your going to stay then request for the room front facing with balcony, it's best for very ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2011

On arrival to the centre of Barcelona, we managed to walk to the hostel quite easily. Its a little handwork if you have heavy luggage though but quite close to the centre without being directly in the hustle and bustle of it all.

We arrived to the street but couldn't find any signs to the hostel (take note of the door number, this is the only way you will find it).
The hostel is in fact located in an Old but quaint apartment block on the street and is only defined by the tiny tiny label on the buzzer of the flats.

Once you buzz in you have to get a ridiculously small and old elevator to the floor of reception. Either that or climb the spiral stairs.
This is where you check in.
At reception you also have the communal kitchen and some bathrooms at the entrance.
The room we stayed in however was another flight of stairs up!

We were under the impression from the site we booked via we could check in at any time, but when we arrived we were told we had to wait for the rooms to be cleaned in about 2 hours time.
They told us to leave our luggage in reception and come back at that time. Luckily we were ready to hit the sights. Although if you have been travelling for a long time and need to change/shower etc i can see how this would not be convenient.

The room itself was really spacious but really really stuffy (we stayed in august) the huge french windows opened out onto the main street so the noise levels are incredible.
There was 1 small fan in the room which did nothing to cool us down so the only option was to try and sleep with the windows partially open.
This didn't last as the traffic outside is non-stop and and the noise level is equal to somebody having a party in your room.

After a sleepless night there was the ordeal of shared bathrooms.
There are only 2 on the floor we stayed on.
1 had a tiny shower and toilet next door, the other had the shower and toilet combined.
In the first bathroom there is no lock on the main door so if you are taking a shower anyone can come in and use the toilet next to you. A little cosy some might say.

the bathrooms are filthy and thinking that they get cleaned everyday is a joke as the cleaner is clearly apathetic. She comes everyday but the only thing she seems to do is change the sheets on rooms that have new guests arriving.

Now last but not least, the BED BUGS! One the second day i woke to find my self covered in bites, they were too small to be mosquito bites which i also acquired but initially i thought it was heat rash.

When we got home to London the next few days were a nightmare. We had unfortunately brought them back with us. For several days after coming back from holiday i woke to find several new bites and our house is now infested with bed bugs.
We are now having to pay for professional services to fumigate our house thanks to staying here.

So if you don't mind the bugs and the poor cleanliness then stay here, the staff are very friendly but thats about it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank london_thing82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

It is quite difficult to fnd this hostel, as there aren't any signs outside, just make sure you go to the correct address that is sent on the email. There is a small buzzer on the left of the door that says Buba. They should let you in if you press that.
The staff are really friendly and helpful and the breakfast is a nice addition. Very laid back atmosphere, with useful recommendations for whatever you need.
Had a private double for 3 nights, which while hot (included an essential fan) was fine and serves its purpose. Shared bathrooms were clean with good showers, no problems there.
Unfortunately, on our last night we found bedbugs in our room, which led to a sleepless night and put a real downer on an otherwise great stay.
Still would recommended, just do a thorough check of the rooms ...

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinytom21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinervaRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AostaGian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mirjam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank marica12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
The Hipstel
The Hipstel
#175 of 735 in Barcelona
678 reviews
Eixample
Don Moustache Hostel
Don Moustache Hostel
#123 of 735 in Barcelona
123 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Sun & Moon Hostel
Sun & Moon Hostel
#537 of 735 in Barcelona
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Equity Point Centric Hostel
Equity Point Centric Hostel
#70 of 735 in Barcelona
925 reviews
Les Corts
ROOM018BCN
ROOM018BCN
#28 of 735 in Barcelona
278 reviews
Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
Hola Hostal Eixample
#109 of 735 in Barcelona
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buba House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buba House

Address: Carrer de Arago 239, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 735 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: £16 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Buba House 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take Advantage of "Buba House" having your own home in one of the european major cities.In our property:Comfortable beds, Warm Spaces in Winter time (Central Heating) , A cosy kitchen, Refrigerator, Free Internet, Free Maps and all the good tips that our staff always recommend.We also highlight our Cleaning*, Security*, and Privileged Location.About our beloved Hostel:The Hostel is located at one old nice Building where we take advantage of every corner! When you arrive you will see our Logo "Buba House", Yes is there! Don't expect to see a big logo like Hotels 5* but... we will welcome you like 6* Hotel :)Important!!!Hostel is located in "Principal" floor inside the building ( Principal floor in the Elevator ). That's mean one floor above the street.In Summer fans are available in all the Hostel.BREAKFASTEverything begins with a Free Breakfast to start the day that Includes:Tea - Coffee - Chocolate with Milk - Toasts - Jam & Butter - Cereals - boiled Eggs and others.AND ALSO- Hot showers. No lockout & No curfew. Fresh linen included.- Luggage Room free to leave suitcases in during the day.- Free Maps & all Tourist information with good tips from our cool staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Buba House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buba House Hotel Barcelona
Buba House Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing