We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good ”
Review of Gustos Bcn Comtal

Gustos Bcn Comtal
Ranked #1,611 of 10,928 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: US$11 - US$23
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: El Congres i els Indians
Description: GUSTOS Bcn is a new foodservice concept specialized in paellas and tapas. It offers the possibility of what it was impossible until now: to eat a good paella, with a great flavour and quality, an unbelievable price, agile and quick service, in an establishment with a pure Mediterranean interior design and ambiance.
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

We only came to this place as we were eating late and we couldn't find anywhere we fancied. I ordered paella as wanted to try one whilst in Barcelona but it wasn't too good! The pork and chicken were very dry and the chicken a little pink in the middle. They serve it from a hot plate downstairs and I didn't know how long it had been sat there, though I didn't become poorly. My mum ordered the spaghetti bolognese and it was dreadful! Looked like a child's ready meal!!! Greasy with hardly any meat and microwaved as you could see it was dry on top. For €8 that's really not acceptable. The rose wine was undrinkable and tasted like vinegar! Not a pleasant experience

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank LuciaPickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustos Bcn B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gustos Bcn Comtal, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2016

Hello! First of all, thank you for giving us your opinion. They are all important for us. We are sorry if you didn't have a pleasant experience. About the paella, we have 2 kinds, the one which the cooker cooks in front of people, which is the one I guess you tasted that it was done, and other specialties cooked by order. Even though, think that the paellas exposed are nearly done at the same moment, as we have a lot of rotation because of the demand. About the spaghetti we are going to talk with the cooker to see what could happen and pay attention to it. Finally, about the rosé wine, we work with a wine D.O. Catalunya, called Can Estruc, and we have been always congratulated by it, because it's very high quality and very good wine. If your bottle was not good (like vinegar), maybe it was chopped up. The wine has it's natural process and it can happens. But if you say it to any of our servers, they will automatically change it for a new one. Please do not hesitate to tell anything to our staff. They will be greatful to help you and make you feel a great experience. Sorry eventhough, and hope you give us a next chance to enjoy our restaurant. Thanks and kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

We were walking along and most restaurants smelled incredible and looked like somewhere you'd want to sit with ambiance and a great view.

Unfortunately we could not decide until too late and we settled on this place. It seemed decent downstairs. It is small and we got moved upstairs with two large groups. It was not comfortable at all it it felt crowded. It seemed rather unnaturally bright too.

We ordered pizza and sangria. The sangria was average. It did not taste as good as other we had. The margarita pizza was terrible. The crust had a consistency of soup crackers. The topping was too much cheese sprinkled with dried Basil.

One of the servers seemed friendly. However the gentleman that sat us, that worked downstairs, seemed very disinterested in general.

Although others seemed to like this place, we did not enjoy the experience and left feeling very unsatisfied.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank SpaceCowboE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustos Bcn B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gustos Bcn Comtal, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2016

Hello! First of all, thank you for your opinon. All of them help us to be better. Referring to the lights upstair, we will note it down to pay attention about it and study if in general people prefer it darker. Unfortunately about the people we cannot do anything. If it was crowded we are sorry, for the feeling of uncomfartibility, because it has not to be like this. Next time you can tell our staff, if you prefer downstairs to wait a bit, if you can, until there's a free table. About the pizza we will see how they did it, because normally it has cheese but we have no Basil. We will see and pay attention it's done as the way it has to be. Sorry and we hope we can give you a great experience next time!Thanks again and kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

I think it was just one of those unlucky days. The small restaurant looked really cool from the outside and was busy. We ventured in and found there were a few more tables upstairs.

Most of the customers were Spanish which should normally be a good sign in Spain! The English spoken was limited and although I tried Spanish, I clearly failed as we got a goats cheese salad instead of prawn salad. That was quickly rectified and all bar one of the prawns were hot and delicious. The one however was part raw part cooked which luckily I spotted before my fiancee ate it.

My mixed paella was going to take a long time and I made the mistake of accepting a standard paella. This was obviously from an ongoing large paella and was warm not hot, pretty average and not exactly packed with seafood.

Please note that there is a very good value set daytime menu choice and all of the courses come basically the same size as the sasme full price dish. My mistake for not waiting long enough to see that!

The staff were friendly, it had a good ambience and it was pretty good value so maybe try it for yourself but i' d have to counsel against the basic paella.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jrapeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustos Bcn B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gustos Bcn Comtal, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2016

Hello! It's a pity you have the feeling of disappointing. Thank you very much for leaving us your comment, they are so important for us. Hope we can see you back another time and you can taste the specialties of the home! ;-) Thanks and kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

This restaurant is small, with pretty decor and friendly staff. The food is absolutely delicious; we visited this restaurant three times during our week-long stay in Barcelona. We would definitely visit it again if we return to Barcelona! Our favourite dishes were the pa amb tomaquet (toasted bread with tomatoes), truita (traditional Spanish potato omelette), patates braves (traditional spicy Spanish potatoes) and chorizos with sidra (spicy Spanish sausage cooked in cider). Prices are very reasonable.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KSc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustos Bcn B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gustos Bcn Comtal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2016

Hello! Thank you so much for your comment. Repeating 3 times in a week with us is such a good feeling. Happy you had a great experience with us and love you enjoyed our tapas and service. Thanks again and kind regards!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

Trying to find the so far illusive great paella. This isn't the place.

Nice location. Cute setting of not too bright.

Server was very busy for the 10 tables. Having to climb up and down the stairs all day must be a hell of a workout though.

Had the shrimp muscle and squid paella with 2 glasses of wine.

Nice place. Recommended.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank whileitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gustos Bcn B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gustos Bcn Comtal, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2016

Hello! Thank you so much for giving us your opinion. It is important for us. Hope you enjoyed our paella as you recommended, but if you want to tell us what to improve, we are always listening to our clients ;-) Guess when you went it was a quite busy and you see the server going up and down, as we have two floors in the restaurant, but be sure, if you work in a nice place with nice people, it is not hell ;-) Thanks again and kind regards! Hope to see you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gustos Bcn Comtal also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Gustos Bcn Comtal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.