We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th General Restaurant”

Restaurant Ca L'Estevet
Reserve with
Restaurant Ca L'Estevet is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #329 of 11,155 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$51
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: El Raval
Description: This property was present and witnessed Barcelona's move from the late nineteenth century. Ca L'Estevet is a part of the rich history of the city as a rallying point of the certain nuclei of Barcelona's society, which had its great moment from the formation and development of the ineffable "gauche divine". The reports of La Vanguardia filled its capacity at noon, and today there are two cultural center of reference, the Museum of Contemporary Art (MACBA) and the "Centre de Cultura Contemporanea de Barcelona" (CCCB), as well as neighboring universities, while at night it still remains one of the most traditional meeting places.
Reviewed 8 December 2014

Fourth generation owned and operated Catalan Restaurant. Our private tour guide recommended this casual restaurant for a 3pm lunch, and it was packed. We were lucky to get a seat. Mostly locals. Food was outstanding. Service was excellent and very friendly. Everyone spoke English. Food was Catalan. The server had been to San Francisco, near where we live, and we got to meet the owner, his wife, and daughter, too, just home from school. Everything is fresh. The owner does the buying himself every early morning. Perhaps our best food experience in Barcellona. We lingered a long time we were enjoying the afternoon here so much.

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 102 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2014

Came for dinner, family-owned, neighbourhood restaurant, the owners may be new? Spoke good English; very traditional local food, rather too salty for our liking (we had the cod and paella which was so concentrated and salty we could not finish it). Good friendly prompt service. There are much much better options however available in Barcelona.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Skin197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Exceptional dinner, probably the best in our trip so far and we've been avoiding the touristy spots! Thanks tripadvisor for recommendation!

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mel_m_chong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I had shoulder of kid and my husband had the Catalan sausage - both were packed with flavour and simply but beautifully presented. The asparagus starter might be the best I've ever had and the Catalan spinach I will be trying to replicate at home. Our children shared entrecôte and chips. The meat was crispy and caramelised on the outside and juicy on the inside. A really lovely restaurant in an interesting neighbourhood.

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Littlebitofbutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

This a great place to have some food after a long day in Barcelona. Whether you've stumbled by by accident in your hiking gear or gone home and got dolled up, this place is appropriate for all.

Staff are very friendly. Head waiter comes out in a white tuxedo and black tie and is very attentive.

Wine selection here is very good. Good array of white and red wines.

On to the food... Wow. So good. Firstly I have to say don't overfill yourself on the bread and olives at the beginning! To start we had a pepper and goats cheese dish which say on a bed of aubergine as well as home made cannelloni in a white sauce. both were very good. Cannelloni was very filling so best plan to have a lighter main if you fancy the cannelloni to start. For mains we had the meatballs with cuttlefish and the baby squid with garlic. The quick was the clear winner. A must for a hot day and a very chilled bottle of dry white!

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Foodgoorou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Ca L'Estevet also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurant Ca L'Estevet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing