We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Restaurant, abysmal service, food & wine.”
Review of Schilling

Schilling
Ranked #955 of 9,698 Restaurants in Barcelona
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Adelianos Kampos, Greece
1 review
“Charming Restaurant, abysmal service, food & wine.”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Lovely interior, offered a lot of promise for the prospective foodie. Presented as a wine bar from the outside looking in, it looked sophisticated and charismatic. What it was, was yet another let down in Spanish hospitality. Another business that didn't deserve the location it was situated. The wine list was limited and that's fine, but when the most expensive bottle of red offered tastes like casked wine, my hopes of finding an unexpected culinary haven were ever so slightly dashed. Ok, maybe its not a wine bar, lets look at the food. Some lovely sounding burgers & sliders on offer and that was about it, but disappointingly even they fell short of the price tag and surrounding ambience. The service was what topped the night. Having to ask for everything at least twice on a quiet night was the pinnacle of our evening. The youngish local girl though wearing trainers and tracky pants was what really stung. For a country with such high youth unemployment you'd expect them not to be so down right rude and be a little more tentative.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlanaGagliardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    203
    62
    24
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A "quiet" evening turned in to wine-fueled window watching!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Continuing my crusade to get 3.5 stars as a rating, I'll note that this place is somewhere between average and very good, but the absolutely amazing evening/night we had will result in a rounding up to Very Good. The restaurant is largely unspectacular but that isn't intended as a negative. The staff was very responsive and accommodating, and they allowed us to horde a prime window table for four during prime dinner hours. What initially was intended as a quick stop for a glass or two of wine during a "quiet" night following the preceding night's bender devolved in to approximately three or so hours of non-stop people watching while devouring glass after glass of house wine. I kid you not when I say that two couples must have gone through four or five bottles of house wine (or so it seemed), eventually ordered a few tapas plates which we deferred in actually choosing to the wait staff, and eventually invited in a few random passersby for a few pints of beer. Again, at no point were we rowdy and we realized as the night progressed the pours of the house wine conspicuously became fuller and fuller, before ultimately resulting in literally full glasses of wine. We can only assume this meant the staff enjoyed our presence. All told the bill was just over $100 US, and resulted in one of the few tips we left while in country. Which is a long winded way of saying stop hear, if only because it's a great value and you never know what it will lead to. Unfortunately for us, it turned an low-key night in to a four am bonanza through the streets of Barcelona despite our intentions to wake up at 9 am and visit the basilica (which we completely failed to do but felt it was well worth it).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chorizo Bites”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Great spot for lunch: wifi, air con and a lovely rustic interior. Food is also good and priced well - try the crispy chorizo bites, out of this world. Cocktails are good, albeit quite pricey.

A nice, reliable place on a street overflowing with options to eat and drink, good and bad.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for lunch”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We just happened to come across the restaurant as we were sightseeing. The food was excellent and service outstanding.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great bar”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere is great, we had a fantastic Gin & Tonic: G'Vine with apple, you just have to try it. Nice and helpful staff, beautiful music.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tvaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schilling also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Schilling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing