We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for breakfast”
Review of Venus Delicatessen

Venus Delicatessen
Ranked #1,702 of 9,698 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: US$6 - US$17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Description: With love
London
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“great for breakfast”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

this was my place of choice for breakfast. Whether you want pastry or a local bocadillo this is a great place to start your day. I found the staff nice and the service fast.
Just don't consider it for tapas...they were overpriced for the quality that you get back.
Great location.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank txugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    145
    48
    25
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Alternative tapas bar”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Unusual place lost in the narrow streets of barri gotic, an alternative delicious option for the traditional tapas. In the walls you can see exhibition of local artists, the stuff is "hippie style" and so warm and friendly!! All young people!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryElef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Orange on a plate made me irate!!!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Nice relaxed vibe with friendly service and welcoming to families. Had the menu del dia which was great apart from when it came to the desert. My wife ordered the cheesecake instead of the fruit and I was planning to have the same. However, I was informed that she got the last slice and that all I could have was either an apple or an orange. Would have been satisfied if they had offered me an alternative cake but instead all I received was an unpeeled orange on a plate with a blunt knife! Slightly amusing at the same time but because of this I didn't leave a tip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j_wolfemurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“would eat there again”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

this cozy delicatessen, restaurant, and cafe has an ideal location,overlooking Comtessa de Sobradiel in the gothic area.the decor is simplitic but the food is tasty.would recommend the stuffed chicken with ham dish.the staff and friendly and ran off their feet.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank preston318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

I have visited this place twice this year. It is hidden away in the gothic quarter but well worth a visit. The staff are incredibly friendly and the tapas is great - the mussels are worth trying. It definitely quirky and different but always busy which reflects the quality. Not glamorous but tasty and a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheffield88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Venus Delicatessen also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Venus Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing