We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to recommend”
Review of Venus Delicatessen

Venus Delicatessen
Ranked #1,754 of 9,770 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: US$6 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Description: With love
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nothing to recommend”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

This is the first time I have written a negative review but I am compelled to. It is a relatively traditional cafe with lots of people in a small area. At first my wife and I were seated on stools around a barrel which given our age was not ideal. Then we were placed in a 4 seat table and placed our order. While having drinks we were moved again to a 2 seat table. We could accept that but then the food eventually came and it was to be kind, very average, we'll below that of comparable places nearby. The kicker was when I paid for it by debit card the waitress wandered around the cafe trying to get a signal before telling me it didn't go through. I then paid in cash and thought nothing more of it. Later upon checking my account I found the payment had gone through. Went back but no one could speak English..yes it is a lesson learned about making sure you keep receipts but overall we were still disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    145
    48
    25
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely little hip cafe”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stumbled upon this lovely little restaurant whilst walking up and down the Barri Gotic and were glad we stopped by for a bite to eat. We ate Tapas - the pan catalana was gorgeous as were the alternative option to Bravas (potatoes with onion and tuna)!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Billy-Shyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere but more suitable for drinks”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The place looked nice and cozy so we were quite happy to get the last table there. The service was nice and friendly. We ordered paella for two. It took ages to arrive. We were quite disappointed when we got it as well. The portion was tiny for 2 and for 30 Euros. The taste was nice, but it had hardly any seafood in it. We had the paella, dessert and still left hungry. By the way we are female and not very big eaters, so not sure how 2 hungry guys would react to the size of the portion. Definitely not the good value for money. Nice atmosphere in the restaurant, but more suitable for drinks and maybe tapas but not for main meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allendale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good bistro”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Cosy little bistro offering nice food and welcome staff. Got quite busy when we went so slightly packed in but all in all very nice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great service and tasty food”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I was there for dinner. Fast service and a nice and welcoming atmosphere in a small an cozy location. A good quality meal for a medium price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TommyNaess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Venus Delicatessen also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Venus Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing