We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, could not believe 28 cource tasting menue”
Review of Disfrutar

Disfrutar
Ranked #91 of 10,810 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$175 - US$221
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: L'Antiga Esquerra de l'Eixample
Description: Open since December 2014, the restaurant Disfrutar (in English “Enjoy”) arose after years of intense work at elBulli, where Mateu Casañas, Oriol Castro and Eduard Xatruch met and trained professionally, and after reaffirming the work done at Compartir opened in April 2012 in Cadaqués. Disfrutar is not a replica of Compartir, but they are united by inherent aspects that reflect the three chefs and owners: a comfortable and welcoming ambience; attentive, close and relaxed, with a great team led in the kitchen by Nil, Antonio and Francesca and in the dining room by Toni, Patricia, Rubén and Vicente. In Barcelona the gastronomic offer revolves around the tasting menu, with clearly avant-garde cuisine and where the dishes stand out for their great, markedly Mediterranean identity. In short, a restaurant with daring, fun and modern cuisine searching for taste as the main proposition. The premises are also surprising due to their design.
Reviewed 12 July 2016

we booked this six months in advance. don't forget to book as you may get a table but it will be at the front and you will miss all of the sights. don't be put off by the volume of the tasting menu as every one is just mouthful but what a mouthful...

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank richardcM8999YQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 312 of 1,914 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2016

Disfrutar means to enjoy in Spanish and there could not be a more appropriate name for this place. The staff was the friendliest I have encountered in a Michelin star restaurant. From the time I made the reservation to the end of the meal everyone was warm and friendly. The food does not disappoint either it is innovative, flavorful and playful. We did not have a table and sat at the bar which was wonderful because we were able to see the staff prepare the desserts. The wine pairing included sherry, manzanilla in addition to the usual cava, white and red wine. I smiled throughout the entire meal. Great experience.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wagosto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Took my mom here to celebrate her birthday during a trip to Barcelona. Food was so creative and interesting. Not every course was a home run taste wise but, the service was fantastic and the courses that WERE home runs were so great that I would still recommend this place to anyone. Such a cool experience overall and a perfect way to spend a hot Barcelona summer afternoon inside.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joiedevivre29
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

The big names of the 3 head chefs and the special molecular gastronomic theme have attracted me to pay a visit for lunch.

Booking was very full and so my lunch only started at 230pm (which is not too late for Barcelona though). Advance booking is definitely required.

We opted for the biggest 'Daily Menu' which, according to my count, has 29 courses (wow!). Each dish has manageably small portion but still, 29 of these combined will definitely make you full. If you don't have a big appetite you could probably choose the other 2 lighter menus.

I particularly like their special macaroni carbonara, saseme tuna and the pigeon which are with quite strong flavour. Their desserts are simply arts - pretty presentation and spectucular taste (not too sweet). You could probably appreciate all the great innovation and technique from each of the ingenious dishes.

Service is very good and attentive - precise description of the dishes and the waiters always act quick to satisfy your needs.

My restaurant of the year 2016 so far - totally don't understand why they only have 1 michellin star - same star rating as some very local dim sum place back in my home town Hong Kong. Think 2 stars are prominent unless there are certain secret rating criteria under michellin's rating system.

Date of visit: July 2016
2  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We went to Disfrutar without too much expectations, but where we ever happily surprised. We choose the most extensive dinner, out of the three available and guessed that we would have to choose some of the dishes. Not so. After some small delicious starters we got our first big surprise. The beet that comes out of the land. On a toss of a bowl, the beet sferes appear. They are light and delicious and leave you with a long aftertaste to savor. Many more tasty dishes followed, most small, all way above average and some bring you close to heaven, like the Morocan style pigeon. After 24 or so the deserts start, on the same fenominal level. We also took the wine pairing menu and were delighted with the out of the ordinary eclectic wines. A night out that we will always remember. And all of that with perfect sevice, from everyone, lots of explanations and always with a smile. Could not have been better and we hope to be back soon. THANKS! Luc and Gea

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank LovetotravelAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Disfrutar also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Disfrutar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.