We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ciutat Vella
Nearby Hotels
El Palace Hotel(Barcelona)
US$579
US$537
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$260
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Hotel Central(Barcelona)
US$549
US$311
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Constanza Barcelona(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$242
US$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
US$153
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Andante(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$139
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Musik Boutique Hotel(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
US$280
US$251
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$366
US$323
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (522)
Filter reviews
522 results
Traveller rating
172
255
67
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
255
67
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslas ramblashot tub on the roofvintage shopsstore roomrecommend this hotelfree bottled waterpoor wifiuniversitat metro stationel ravalstreet facingrooftop areasun terracefront desk personnelbasic hotela lot of noisewould stay here againlight sleeper
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 522 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Located in very close to everything. easy to find. short walk from the plaza.
Nice room. Basic but VERY clean. free bottled water all day. 24h reception.
Very helpful staff

Cannot ask for more !

Some wrote some comments about noise. We never used our ear plugs... (!)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gonen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before heading to the Costa Brava. Rooms are clean and modern, but somewhat sterile. You do get unlimited supply of free bottled water, which is nice. Main issue was terrible service at any price - staff was unfriendly and did not make the slightest effort to help us with the most basic information. You felt crazy for asking. Terrible.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikura2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Hotel Ciutat Vella is very very well-located; 5 min. walk to reach Plaza Catalunya, 5 min. walk to reach El Raval; next to the Airport Bus stop (Universidad).

The lobby communicated a fresh and young atmosphere at the first sight - perhaps a blend between a boutique and a youth hotel. The bedroom was fine, clean and spacious, although it looked empty and cold with linoleum on the floor (disliked). We had a very nice terrasse (1st floor). The service is also cold and distant - not personalized at all.

Free bottles of water at the reception, no swimming pool but jacuzzi on the rooftop terrasse.

I would come back to this hotel for its good location and reasonnable prices. However, if I decide to go for a fancy weekend in Barcelona I'd chose another option.

Room Tip: 1st floor, ask for a room with terrasse
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oeilaiguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Location. Very good, but do not stay in the street facing room! Noise! There is some glass bottle facility in adjecant building and they are starting with sorting at 5 AM. Every morning. And if you somehow oversleep that, cleaning vehicle at 5:15 AM will wake you up. Our room was clean and tidy. It is on the small side even for 2 and we have additional bed in it. Bathroom is big enough and clean, but with no toilet brush... Hotel is clean and tidy. There is no breakfast room, so tables are in the lobby. Hotel staff is friendly and helpfull. There are complemntary bottles of water in the lobby, which is really nice touch. I do recommend this hotel, but do not choose room facing street. Unless you must be awake at 5.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank stanec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

PROS
• Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, cable also available at no cost for a stronger connection
• Amazing location (3 min walk from La Rambla and Catalunya metro)
• Free bottled cold water service all day & coffee/espresso service from 3pm onwards
• Room was extremely clean, spacious, new and included a terrace overlooking the square
• Jacuzzi & Sun roof terrace
• Fully functioning air conditioner
• Free printing (useful for printing attraction tickets and onward travel confirmations etc.)
• Friendly and helpful staff
CONS
• No fridge in room
• As we discovered all over Europe, the ‘double’ is more accurately 2 twins pushed together. Not a major concern, but worth noting.
• Potential to be a bit (but not unbearably) noisy depending on clientele staying in nearby rooms
• Breakfast (isn’t included and not worth the €7/day charge) we regularly ate breakfast across the street at ‘Mucci’s’ for far less where a variety of breakfast and other foods are available.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and although it wasn’t the cheapest place to stay in Barcelona (€90), the location was fantastic and the other extras, which to our pleasant surprise, were all included, made this a pleasant refuge and base from which to explore Barcelona. So much so in fact that the positives we have highlighted for this hotel now form our checklist for budget stays while travelling.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonnieandClyde2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews