We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel central and easy access to Barcelona”
Review of Hotel Ciutat Vella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ciutat Vella
Ranked #221 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Situated between plaza universidad/ catalunya/ la rambla. Only minutes from all main tourist areas, buses, metro. Excellent location for shops, eating out and partying! Close to main gay nightlife! Hotel chic, comfy beds and well maintained! Would definitely use again!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rayenpalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ciutat Vella
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were only here for 1night before getting on a cruise. The location was just close enough to Las Ramblas, Catalunya Plaza, and the metro - about a 5-10 minute walk. The room was clean, modern, and served it's purpose. Two elevators ensured no waiting. The bottled water was a bonus. The staff was friendly and helpful. The large map on the wall was also very helpful. Unfortunately, we did not have the opportunity to use the rooftop whirlpool, though it looked very inviting. We would not hesitate to stay here again if ever in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Located in very close to everything. easy to find. short walk from the plaza.
Nice room. Basic but VERY clean. free bottled water all day. 24h reception.
Very helpful staff

Cannot ask for more !

Some wrote some comments about noise. We never used our ear plugs... (!)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gonen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before heading to the Costa Brava. Rooms are clean and modern, but somewhat sterile. You do get unlimited supply of free bottled water, which is nice. Main issue was terrible service at any price - staff was unfriendly and did not make the slightest effort to help us with the most basic information. You felt crazy for asking. Terrible.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikura2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Hotel Ciutat Vella is very very well-located; 5 min. walk to reach Plaza Catalunya, 5 min. walk to reach El Raval; next to the Airport Bus stop (Universidad).

The lobby communicated a fresh and young atmosphere at the first sight - perhaps a blend between a boutique and a youth hotel. The bedroom was fine, clean and spacious, although it looked empty and cold with linoleum on the floor (disliked). We had a very nice terrasse (1st floor). The service is also cold and distant - not personalized at all.

Free bottles of water at the reception, no swimming pool but jacuzzi on the rooftop terrasse.

I would come back to this hotel for its good location and reasonnable prices. However, if I decide to go for a fancy weekend in Barcelona I'd chose another option.

Room Tip: 1st floor, ask for a room with terrasse
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oeilaiguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Location. Very good, but do not stay in the street facing room! Noise! There is some glass bottle facility in adjecant building and they are starting with sorting at 5 AM. Every morning. And if you somehow oversleep that, cleaning vehicle at 5:15 AM will wake you up. Our room was clean and tidy. It is on the small side even for 2 and we have additional bed in it. Bathroom is big enough and clean, but with no toilet brush... Hotel is clean and tidy. There is no breakfast room, so tables are in the lobby. Hotel staff is friendly and helpfull. There are complemntary bottles of water in the lobby, which is really nice touch. I do recommend this hotel, but do not choose room facing street. Unless you must be awake at 5.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank stanec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

PROS
• Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, cable also available at no cost for a stronger connection
• Amazing location (3 min walk from La Rambla and Catalunya metro)
• Free bottled cold water service all day & coffee/espresso service from 3pm onwards
• Room was extremely clean, spacious, new and included a terrace overlooking the square
• Jacuzzi & Sun roof terrace
• Fully functioning air conditioner
• Free printing (useful for printing attraction tickets and onward travel confirmations etc.)
• Friendly and helpful staff
CONS
• No fridge in room
• As we discovered all over Europe, the ‘double’ is more accurately 2 twins pushed together. Not a major concern, but worth noting.
• Potential to be a bit (but not unbearably) noisy depending on clientele staying in nearby rooms
• Breakfast (isn’t included and not worth the €7/day charge) we regularly ate breakfast across the street at ‘Mucci’s’ for far less where a variety of breakfast and other foods are available.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and although it wasn’t the cheapest place to stay in Barcelona (€90), the location was fantastic and the other extras, which to our pleasant surprise, were all included, made this a pleasant refuge and base from which to explore Barcelona. So much so in fact that the positives we have highlighted for this hotel now form our checklist for budget stays while travelling.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonnieandClyde2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Lleo Hotel
Lleo Hotel
#197 of 513 in Barcelona
1,233 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Reding Croma
Hotel Reding Croma
#190 of 513 in Barcelona
545 reviews
El Raval
Meson Castilla Atiram
Meson Castilla Atiram
#224 of 513 in Barcelona
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#164 of 513 in Barcelona
669 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Grau
Hostal Grau
#91 of 513 in Barcelona
571 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#176 of 513 in Barcelona
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciutat Vella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciutat Vella

Address: Carrer Tallers 66, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#156 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £63 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ciutat Vella 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ciutat Vella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciutat Vella Hotel
Hotel Ciutat Vella Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing