We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Characterful and charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amiga Barcelona Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Amiga Barcelona Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #140 of 325 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Characterful and charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a delightful guest house, full of character and charm, and a welcome antidote to corporate hotels. Located within a short walk of the metro (Vallcarca), it's in a pleasant and relatively quiet area. The owner, Maragarita, is a very generous and thoughtful multilingual host who welcomes you into her home warmly, and takes you through the essentials with a quiet efficiency.
Bathrooms are shared, but very clean and comfortable, while the bedrooms are charming with elegant furniture, art posters on the walls and spotlessly clean bedding. Breakfast in the dining room was the pièce de résistance though, with a magnificent choice of cheeses, preserves, fruit, charcuterie, juice, teas, cereals etc.
Amiga is a splendid place to stay; it offers a kind and genuine hospitality of the type all too rare these days when anonymous convenience predominates.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viaggiatoredelvino66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    16
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
33
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed for 5 nights during a business trip. The location is 5-10 minutes walk uphill from the Vallcarca metro station; it's a quiet area, which means not many restaurants or bars but a good nights sleep which is what counts. There is an ancient lift or several flights of stairs, so a slightly tiring arrival when you have your luggage. Personally I enjoyed the character of the building.

No hesitation in recommending: the welcome was friendly, the room was fine, and the breakfast excellent. The hosts do not speak much English, though better than my Spanish, and we resorted sometimes to attempting to converse in French!

If you stay here take a moment to walk to the nearby Parc Turo del Putget: more steep climbs but some great views over Barcelona.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timjand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The place is very clean, the atmosphere is so homey... Margarita treated us as if we're part of her family... the location is 10 minutes by train to La Rambla. The train station is about 10 minutes walk from Amiga.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zigzecil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafing, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

i stayed only one night in amiga BB barcelona, but i have to say
you feel like arrieving home, the reception from margarita is just
perfect and the breakfast amaizing.
i can highly recomend this bb for visiting barcelona if you seek a more
individual and personalized accomodation.
the host is just perfect evrything the word amiga means

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kurtmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heverlee, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

I spent a fabulous week in Barcelona, and my stay at Amiga Barcelona made it one of my best citytrips ever. The B&B has everything you need.
- B&B is a large apartment in an authentic 100 year old modernist building in a quiet neighbourhood, a 5 minute uphill walk from Vallcarca Metro (the short climb makes you even more happy to come "home" at night :) It's not really centrally located, but nevertheless quickly/easily accessible on the green L3 metroline.
- Beautifully decorated, very clean rooms with perfect beds (the first day I took a nap and only woke up 6 hours later, instead of 30 minutes...).
- Royal breakfast : re-energize for the day with the more-than-you-can-eat breakfast (wide variety of fresh and dried fruits, yoghurt, different kinds of jamon and other meat, different sorts of cheese, cookies/cake/cereals/bread, a croissant, tea, coffee, hot (cocoa)milk, ...).
- Free coffee/tea & cookies during the day
- Fresh soup at night, also included in the price
- Free wifi
And last but not least
- a perfect host, Margarita, who will go to any lenght to ensure that you have everything you need. When I arrived she welcomed me with fresh soup (there was fresh soup every night). When is was pouring, she provided an umbrella. When my feet were sore from walking all day she made me a foot bath and gave me a footcream to massage my feet. She told me which places where worth visiting, got me a free ticket for the MNAC via her brother. She prepared heavenly sandwiches for my returnflight.

Amiga Barcelona B&B is an understatement. It should be Angel Barcelona :)
I can only highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I recently visited Barcelona for 4 days and stayed at Amiga Barcelona. I really enjoyed my time there. Margarita, the owner, is very kind and the breakfast is great! The location is not so close to the city center but I prefer it as I could stay faraway from very touristic places plus it was easy to take the metro for going there any time I wanted. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AleMMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We spent 5 days in Barcelona recently, and found Amiga Barcelona to be the perfect base, despite the fact that it is a little way out of the city centre. This makes it quieter, and after a short walk from the nearest metro stop, it was worth it! Margarita is a wonderful host, there wasn't anything she wouldn't do to help with travel arrangements etc. The rooms were comfortable, clean and quite unique. Every day the beds were remade and there was always a huge choice of breakfast items, breads, fruits, cheeses, yoghurts and so on. Cold beers could be purchased from the fridge for a few Euros in the 'piggy bank'! We truly felt at home here and would love to go back some day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripandtell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Catalonia Park Guell
#334 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Aparthotel Bertran
#268 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Exe Mitre
#333 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anita's Bed & Breakfast
#100 of 325 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Alberg Mare de Deu de Montserrat
#279 of 760 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Gracia
Casa Gracia Barcelona Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amiga Barcelona Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amiga Barcelona Bed & Breakfast

Property: Amiga Barcelona Bed & Breakfast
Address: Gomis, 49, 08023 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged situation to access Fairs, City Centre, Parc Guell, Quiron Hospital.Very clean, quiet, cozzy and very Personal attention.24 - Hours Buffet off Coffee, Juice, The, Fruits. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amiga Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Amiga Barcelona Bed And Breakfast
Amiga Barcelona Bed & Breakfast Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing