We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquillity in the heart of Barcelona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Patio Barcelona
Ranked #14 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquillity in the heart of Barcelona”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The Patio is uniquely located in the central district of L'Eixample, Barcelona. It is one of a row of fireman's cottages hidden at the back of the large apartment blocks in L'Eixample. You walk through the ground floor and out the back to find an amazingly quiet spot. You can't hear a thing.

Liz and Tony are extremely warm and knowledgeable hosts. Although they sound like a traditional English couple, Tony is Catalan and plays darts for a pub team! Liz, who has been in Barcelona for 30 years, will greet you with a Yorkshire/Lancashire accent that is still there when she speaks Spanish.

Staying in B&Bs is about experiencing interesting places, meeting people and getting a better insight into what's going on. Liz and Tony are very easy to speak to, know their area extremely well and make you feel immediately at home. We have been to Barcelona a number of times, so it was good to get recommendations off the usual list.

There is a shared bathroom, which is clearly stated in the blurb, but if there are people using the other room, it's easy to suggest timing slots for the morning.

We really enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    43
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
80
184
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

This B and B is one of the best we have stayed in during our 5 month travels. There have been many good reviews on Trip advisor and all are true..we liked the fact that the B and B was in a local community and not a tourist area.we got a "feel" for the area and this reflected a real Barcelona. It is very safe and secure.It was extrememely easy to get anywhere by Metro..across the street.Liz and Tony are exceptional hosts and helped with so many details..local resaurants and areas to visit not necessarily in the guidebooks. Tony helped me park our car locally!! What a star!
The B and B is spacious, comfortable, clean and stylish and the breakfast excellent.
This is THE place to stay when you visit Barcelona..without doubt. Acommodation with character and charm!!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lyndsay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Conveniently located. An express train from the airport to the train station which is a short walk or one subway stop from this very clean, secure, relaxing bed and breakfast allows for easy exploration of the many attractions of Barcelona as well as allowing you to feel what it would be like to live in this interesting city. Liz and Tony are super hosts. From the very beginning of our 5 day stay we were treated as friends and made to feel welcomed and at home. Our room was decorated with stunning pieces of furniture and a comfortable bed. The ceiling fan provided just enough relief from some very hot summer days.The bathroom is shared with one other room but that was never an issue. Place settings for breakfast were set out the night before in an elegant dining room that added to the warmth of the greeting from Liz each morning. Delicious fruit salad, lots of choices of yogurt, cereal, toast , juices, coffee or tea were the usual although Liz was attentive to any requests. Assistance with restaurants and planning the activities of each day were offered by Liz in a genuine, generous, friendly manner. She knows and loves her city and neighbourhood and provides the correct amount of information and encouragement that allows you to discover the charms of Barcelona in your own way. We would return in a heart beat.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whundas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Friendly B & B, Liz & Tony are very hospitable. However we would not stay here again if we came back to Barcelona. We do like staying in the smaller more personal properties, however The Patio was not for us. The reason being, the rooms are not air conditioned and very hot during the summer. It is away from the main tourist sites, so you need to either take the metro or taxi. We booked a double room, and were given a twin. Liz tried to change us to the double, but Tony wouldn't let us move, even though there was no one staying in the double room for the next two nights. The beds are really hard. You have to share the bathroom, and toilet. The brick wall behind our bed was covered in dust - not very clean.

We found Liz's recommendations not suited for us. We were in Barcelona & wanted to try Tapas. However Liz recommended a Hotel restaurant that had three courses for 15 euros. It was pretty bad. No atmosphere and very bland food. The next night we used trip advisor and found a wonderful tapas restaurant in the Gothic Quarter.

We would stay in a small B & B in the Gothic Quarter on our next visit.

Room Tip: Confirm at the time of booking what room type you require. Also email a few days before your arrival...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCamNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Great location, accommodation and hosts! Liz and Tony are incredibly hospitable and so helpful. We stayed here for three nights on our honeymoon. The subway is right across the street, making it easy to get anywhere fast, but allowing you to be outside the hustle and bustle. There are fantastic restaurants within walking distance that Liz even made us reservations at. The room that we stayed in was clean and modern. Free wifi is fabulous! The breakfast is simple but fresh. The only drawback was that there is one bathroom for the two rooms. The patio on the top is great for a nice glass of wine or two after a long day of walking around. Would highly recommend staying here! We were so happy with our choice!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The rooms are all really nice and very cool in the hot weather and included free wifi. The location of the patio was really good as it was opposite a metro station and there were loads of restaurants and shops near by yet it wasn't noisy. The couple running the place are lovely people that told us everything we needed to know about where to go and how to get to places around Barcelona and gave us lots of great suggestions on where to eat and visit. Its one of the best holidays we've been on :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlyT94xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This is a perfect place to stay in Barcelona. The rooms are very beautiful (just like in the photos in their website). Everything is very clean. Liz and Tony are really charming. Stop looking for and stay in this authentic and lovely place!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mabruvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#9 of 513 in Barcelona
309 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#99 of 513 in Barcelona
3,782 reviews
Barcino 147
#3 of 308 in Barcelona
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Ca La Maria
Ca La Maria
#9 of 308 in Barcelona
163 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Live Barcelona
Hostal Live Barcelona
#8 of 308 in Barcelona
469 reviews
Eixample
ANBA Bed&Breakfast Deluxe
ANBA Bed&Breakfast Deluxe
#4 of 308 in Barcelona
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Patio Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patio Barcelona

Property: The Patio Barcelona
Address: Rossello 32 | Interior 4, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patio is a cosy two room B&B tucked away in the inner courtyard of a larger building in the Ensanche neighbourhood. The B&B is totally separate from the owners' home, maintaining privacy, but with a connecting door in the kitchen. The main room of the B&B has a sofa where guests can sit and relax, and a table that seats all the guests, where the breakfast is served. Guests are welcome to make themselves a coffee or tea at any time during the day. One of the highlights of the B&B is the patio just above the guest rooms, where there is a table, chairs, umbrella and plants. Perfect for a sunny break during the day or for relaxing with a glass of wine and a book in the evening........ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Patio Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Patio Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
The Patio Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing