We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Julia and Holly ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Patio Barcelona
Ranked #12 of 326 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Julia and Holly ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at The Patio and could not have asked for a better B&B. Not only were Liz and Tony welcoming, they made us feel completely at home, recommending things to do and places to eat which were very reasonably priced and had delicious food! We stayed in the double room which was very spacious and cool!!! The shared bathroom was never an issue and always clean, and it was lovely to sit and eat breakfast with the other guests. The location of ThePatio is also fantastic, the metro is located right outside the front door, however if you love to walk like us, the center of Barcelona is easily accessible. A big thank you to Liz and Tony for making our trip absoloutly amazing!

Helpful?
1 Thank Holly J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    42
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
78
183
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We've been back to Barcelona and stayed once again at the Patio. It's a real pleasure going to a place where you can feel so at home. The photos (uploaded) of entrance to the Patio show why we go back....it's so quiet! Tucked away in the middle of the building, it's a unique location.

B&B's aren't for everyone. You share a bathroom, but with only one other room, it's not a hassle. All the B&B's we've stayed in have shared bathrooms..as they don't have the space or the design is difficult to incorporate en-suite bathrooms

The benefits are the variety of guests you meet that keep you entertained. This time we were lucky to meet an Australian couple who were cycling around Europe. My wife knows all of my stories so she's glad of the chance to hear about other people's.

If you're looking for good value and hosts who seem to save their guests from the numerous scrapes they get into...you can't go wrong with the Patio.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

My husband and I are regular visitors to Barcelona and have stayed in more than 8 different B&Bs in the city. Last week we tried out The Patio, run by Liz and Tony, and it couldn't have been a better experience. Being Summer time we wanted to escape the hoards of tourists in the old town. The Patio's tucked away location means that, unusually, there's no traffic noise so you're almost guaranteed a good night's sleep. Liz and Tony's calm efficiency creates a relaxed atmosphere where you benefit from really useful local knowledge including excellent restaurant recommendations. It's also one of the best value B&B's around. We'll definitely stay there on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

I can't say enough good things about Liz and Tony. They were perfect hosts - always there to help with information, directions, recommendations, reservations, etc but never too present as to make us feel we didn't have privacy. They arranged our transportation to and from the airport, let us check in early since our room was available, and made sure we had breakfast our last day even though we had to leave before the regular breakfast time. The rooms, bathroom and breakfast are are separate from their home by a hallway so it almost feels like you have a whole apartment to yourself. The room was quiet (absolutely no street noise) with a comfortable bed, places for all our luggage and lovely decorations. The bathroom was spotless with fresh towels daily, a hair dryer, and a fresh, pleasant smell and atmosphere. The breakfast room and patio areas are clean, comfy and well appointed with coffee/teas available anytime. We had some bad luck in that our neighbors were in their late teens/early twenties and were out late - making a lot of noise when they came in at night. This, however, was not the fault of our proprietors who run a lovely b&b. Book now and cross your fingers that you have quiet neighbors. Please book somewhere else if you are not a quiet neighbor yourself.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CordovasTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Staying at The Patio made all the difference between a "good" visit to Barcelona and a "great" one. Tony meeting us at the airport for an early morning arrival and letting us into The Apartment before check-in time was just the beginning. Their advise on where to have very good food and wine at very good prices was a huge plus. And Liz booking tables for us and giving us advise on how to get around and what to see added to it. All and all, an excellent experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffyt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Comfortable, Clean, Convenient, Cost-effective: Those are my 4 C's when looking for a place to stay while traveling. If "quiet" started with "C", I'd add that to the list, too. The Patio was all that--and oozes with Charm as well! (What's not to love about beautiful English antiques, tiled ceilings, original brick walls, and breakfast served with a lovely presentation?) Tony and Elizabeth, our delightful hosts, were fantastic from the start, and thought of everything in preparing The Patio as a place of rest and refreshment for their guests. They live in the flat across the hall, and make themselves available in a helpful-but-not-hovering way, magically appearing when we had questions or needed assistance. We landed in Barcelona in the morning, exhausted from travel, and I was so grateful that Tony picked us up from the airport so I didn't have to navigate transportation on my own. (He also returned us to the airport at the crack of dawn a few days later, maintaining a cheerful attitude.) After we got settled at The Patio, he kindly walked me around the corner to the bank so I could exchange money (a better rate than the airport.) Elizabeth is a warm and gracious hostess, offering helpful advice as-needed--including an inexpensive but delicious 3-course dinner recommendation at a nearby hotel, with free champagne for Patio guests. She took pains to accommodate our likes/dislikes with breakfast food, patiently taught me how to make coffee in the French press, and took extra time to help us find our daily destinations on maps that she provided.
But let me get back to the 4 C's:
Comfortable: I'm picky about beds, due to a bad back, and our bed was great-- I slept better at The Patio than I had slept in months! A one-story flat located a residential neighborhood that is tucked into the city, it is quiet at night--no street noise, no people upstairs or next door making noise. All the comforts of home were here, as well as comforts unique to Europe!
Clean: Fresh, fluffy towels, and a sparkling bathroom that didn't have a speck of dirt, dust, or mildew--and was supplied with a hairdryer, a towel warmer, extra toilet paper. Yes, we had to "share" the bathroom with the other guests, but since we only saw them twice (briefly, at breakfast) during our stay, that was a non-issue.
Convenient: Did I mention that The Patio is exactly 45 steps from the entrance to a Metro?(Yes, I counted.) The convenient location was the primary reason I had selected The Patio, since we wanted to see everything from Montjuic Parc to La Sagrada Familia to the Gothic Quarter. We were never on the Metro more than 10 minutes to any destination, often less. As a woman traveling with my daughter, I felt extremely safe at night since we only had to cross the well-lit street to get to our front door.
Cost-effective: "You get what you pay for" is an understatement with the Patio--we got SO much more than we paid for! I am definitely a budget-minded traveler, and the Patio was a bargain in my estimation!
The 5th C: Charming! A picture is worth a thousand words, so take a look at my pictures! I'm a sucker for old English antiques and china, beautiful table linens, and a lovely presentation of food. The warm hospitality of Tony and Elizabeth, combined with the ambiance of the Patio, deliver the message: "Come rest, relax, and be refreshed." If I ever get to Barcelona again, I'll be on their doorstep in a heartbeat! Thank you, thank you, thank you, Elizabeth and Tony!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dallastravelmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Tjanks to Liz And Tony. Great tips on food, shopping & sightseeing. Picking us up and storing our luggage until we arrived. All part of the service. We stayed in the Loft apartment...walked all over the city and felt safe at all times. 5 fantastic days on Barcelona after a fantastic holiday through Spain.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,972 reviews
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#40 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,609 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#5 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Eixample
Barcino 147
Barcino 147
#2 of 326 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Patio Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patio Barcelona

Property: The Patio Barcelona
Address: Rossello 32 | Interior 4, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 326 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patio is a cosy two room B&B tucked away in the inner courtyard of a larger building in the Ensanche neighbourhood. The B&B is totally separate from the owners' home, maintaining privacy, but with a connecting door in the kitchen. The main room of the B&B has a sofa where guests can sit and relax, and a table that seats all the guests, where the breakfast is served. Guests are welcome to make themselves a coffee or tea at any time during the day. One of the highlights of the B&B is the patio just above the guest rooms, where there is a table, chairs, umbrella and plants. Perfect for a sunny break during the day or for relaxing with a glass of wine and a book in the evening........ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Patio Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Patio Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
The Patio Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing