We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment - very centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DestinationBCN Apartment Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great apartment - very centrally located”
Reviewed 2 October 2009

My two friends and I stayed at the Paso Doble apartment in early September. Patricia met us at the apartment and was SUPER helpful in getting us oriented. She spent a half hour reviewing maps, making restaurant suggestions and showing us where everything was. Nice, clean 2-bedroom apartment with modern bathroom and kitchen and w/d. Was the perfect size for the three of us. Free wifi was a bonus and they even had a cable out to attach an ipod to the stereo system. The sun room has a great view for people watching. My only complaint was the street noise at night but given that you are in the center, it is to be expected.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    25
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
82
84
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
waxahachie, TX
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We spent 4 nights in the Paso Doble apartment and 2 nights in Ghost. The building is a wonderful old historic structure that has been beautifully restored with creative modern design while leaving as much of the historic touches as possible. The original old pine doors, outer brick walls and a great old elevator/lift make this building a charming place to stay. It was a perfect location for our first trip to Barcelona. Three blocks from Plaza Catalunya where you can jump on the tram,hop on the bus or begin walking down the famous Las Ramblas. Some of the best shopping and dining are just minutes away. Patricia made us feel very welcome and went out of her way to help us get settled, make dinner reservations and show us all the apartment amentities. Iberia Airlines lost our luggage the first 3 days and the whole Destination BCN team were so helpful in trying to locate our bags and deal with the airlines. Managers Anne and Miklos answered every question we had and even burned a CD for us to take home that we enjoyed listening to during our stay. Having a washer and dryer in the apartment was our saving grace with no clothes the first few days. The apartment has every staple you could possibly need and a supermarket is just down the street for anything additional you might want. Paso Doble faces the busy Rondo Universtat and can be a bit noisy if you are not used to that. It has dark colors and is very warm and cozy. However, Ghost faces the back of the building and is extremely quite, but without the street view. It is very bright and cheerful and has more space. We enjoyed both units and were VERY pleased with EVERYTHING.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dovesnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2009

We stayed in the BCN Walden apartment . I could not recommend it more highly. The apartment is beautiful- well appointed and beautifully furnished. It was even equipped with staples such as coffee and tea, oil, vinegar, laundry detergent. The location is quiet but within an easy walk from the main streets of the old city. The apartment was spotless upon our arrival. Check in and departure were easy and we were provided with a number to call if there were any diffiuclties. In addition, there is a concierge in the building.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crossVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Appartment Finn, Ronda Universitat: excellent location, designer furniture (Habitat), high quality bed, kitchen with blender, microwave, induction, nice wines, coffee etc. Lots of restaurants and shops to buy your breakfast nearby. Fantastic location.
Just visite their website: what you see on the pictures is what you get. Great alternative to a 5* hotel. Fantastic place in a fantastic city!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bruno.bemelmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2009

My wife, two year old boy, and myself stayed at the Canadilla apartment for 6 days in early August.

Our host, maybe Patricia (can't remember her name), met us a couple minutes after we arrived and was very helpful in explaining the amenities of the apartment and providing dining suggestions. Unfortunately, after two planes with a toddler and a six hour time difference, I needed to shower and I stopped listening to her after the first ten minutes.

The location of the apartment is wonderful. It's an easy 5 min walk to the Placa de Catalunya and Las Ramblas. Also, there is a large grocery store in the middle of the Placa de Catalunya which was very convenient.

There were a lot of apartment amenities but the only ones we really used were the fridge, dishwasher and the washing machines. We did not watch much tv but there were a lot of channels available. Wireless internet access was easy to use, as was the air conditioning.

Items to note: Don't get scared when you see the facade of the building. There is a hostel sign attached to the front of the building, and I think the hostel occupies the first 2 floors. We never had any problems with noise or cleanliness, which may be associated with hostels. The apartment was very clean.

Although the building has an elevator, it is extremely old school. First, it only fits 2 adults, and has a gate and double doors that open inward, which makes getting in/out somewhat annoying. Also, if you have suitcases/duffel bags, you're gonna need to take at least two trips on the elevator. It's not really a fault or negative comment, just not something I was expecting when I first arrived.

The two notes mentioned above in no way affect my impression of the apartment. They are minor points which were a bit surprising. Overall, the apartment is a wonderful place to stay in Barcelona and I would definately stay there again if we go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darkshine629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

My husband and I rented the Principal Apt for 5 days at the end of July along with two friends. Before our arrival Anne was responsive, helpful and even provided a list of recommended restaurants in Barcelona. We arrived at the apartment at 9:30am after taking a red-eye flight from PHL. Patricia met us at the apartment and provided maps, restaurant tips, etc. The apt was not ready for an early check-in since the previous renters were checking out at 10AM that day and then they still needed to have the apt cleaned. They were very accomodating to arrange the cleaners to clean the master bedroom first so we could go into the apt early and take a nap and recover from jetlag. I wish I could find house cleaners like this back home! They spent 5 hours cleaning and the apt was spotless (and I'm a neat freak).

The apt itself looks exactly like the pictures. The tub in the master bedroom is amazing, I only wish I got to use it more than once. The apt is stocked with high end furnishings, wine glasses (not the typical IKEA ones you see in most rentals) and bed linens. Also, no need to bring any guide books, they have the apt stocked with at least 20 different recent books. Overall, this was one of the nicest rentals I've stayed in. I would stay here again without hesitation.

Pros: Luxurious, great location, attentive service
Cons: Metro can be heard and felt, might be a problem for light sleepers but not us. There isn't much of a view from the outside terrace since it's the inside courtyard of the building. There were often cigarette butts from the upper tennants dropped onto the terrace.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ocean_gal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at DestinationBCN Apartment Suites, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Important Update:

For those considering future bookings with DestinationBCN, previous disturbances caused by vibrations from the metro near our Universitat apartments have now been resolved. Barcelona transport service TMB has completed maintenance work to resolve this issue and we are no longer experiencing this problem.

We would like to offer our sincere apologies to prior guests that may have been affected by this.

DestinationBCN value the stay of our guests and will continue to ensure that they have an enjoyable experience whilst staying in our apartment suites.

Kind Regards,
Anne - DestinationBCN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

My husband, myself and our 10 year old son stayed in the Cadaques apartment in July 2009 for one week. Patricia who greeted us was very professional and explained everything, apartment was beautiful, clean and very well appointed and also we had a nice bottle of cava and some chocolates which was really nice surprise.

Terrace was very nice but not nearly as private as we thought as you are overlooked by other property, but you do have the electric sun roof which does provide some privacy.

You do get some metro noise but you do get used to this although we must have gone a a bad time as all we seemed to hear was the partying until 3 am in the morning from other people in the building. I presume this is because part of the building is still a youth hostel. It's not very sound proofed and you could hear everything - a young american lady with all her friends - by all accounts.

It was a real dissappointment to us, it was fortunate that our son had the bedroom to the far side and it wasn't nearly as noisy for him.

You can't fault the quality of accommodation or location - fantastic, atlhough if you are travelling take some ear muffs!!

Paul, Anne & James Nicholson, England

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Universitat
H10 Universitat
#139 of 512 in Barcelona
1,521 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Ginebra
Hotel Ginebra
#241 of 512 in Barcelona
330 reviews
Eixample
Sleep Green Eco Youth Hostel
Sleep Green Eco Youth Hostel
#72 of 722 in Barcelona
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Amister Apartments Barcelona
Amister Apartments Barcelona
#108 of 722 in Barcelona
167 reviews
Eixample
BCN Rambla Catalunya Apartments
Eixample
Midtown Apartments
Midtown Apartments
#2 of 722 in Barcelona
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DestinationBCN Apartment Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DestinationBCN Apartment Suites

Property: DestinationBCN Apartment Suites
Address: Ronda Universitat 11, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 722 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DestinationBCN Apartment Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DestinationBCN apartments offer both short and long-term boutique accommodation in the neighborhoods of Eixample, Barri Gotic and Borne - the buzzing heart of Barcelona, Spain. The apartments are uniquely furnished with sleek, contemporary furniture and handpicked items and provide a luxurious alternative to hotels in the city. From private roof terraces to refreshing plunge pools and a well-stocked kitchen, each is a private sanctuary and a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith and Booking.com so you can book your DestinationBCN Apartment Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destinationbcn Apartment Hotel Barcelona
DestinationBCN Apartment Suites Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing