We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointing taste”
Review of Pla Restaurant

Pla Restaurant
Ranked #531 of 11,396 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £21 - £34
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: El Congres i els Indians
Description: Pla is a Contemporary Catalan Cuisine Restaurant made with local and seasonal products but also being influenced from other cultures, offering meat, fish & vegetarian options. We are located behind the City Hall in the heart of Gothic Quarter in Barcelona.
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Came here for a friend's 40th with a part of six. Decor is lovely. Location is central within the gothic quarter. Staff were friendly. Food was poor. We had the tasting menu with wine pairing. As a big white wine fan I found my first glass undrinkable. My husband described it as a sour wheat beer. The food was clearly trying to be upmarket but too many strong ingredients means it missed the mark. The dessert for example contains basil which completely overpowered (and ruined) the dish. The duck was badly cooked and ruined by the sweet paste it sat on. In essence, trying to be very fancy but the food and flavors are not good enough. Definitely not worth the money and would not recommend.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank kea136
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 225 of 1,497 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2016

We arrived at this restaurant while looking for something special and it seems that for the food scene in Barcelona, not even the sky is the limit. We knew nothing about this restaurant and with two vegetarians in the group, I can say we had a lovely experience. Low music, low lights, fantastic decor, very professional waiters, surprise snacks or small entrees on the house between meals. The menu changes quite often and you won;t have time to get bored. I can;t wait to try this place again!

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank Ioana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 August 2016

I believe i was one of the first customers in this restaurant, i was quite surprised at the time how the experience looked like, one of the chefs would come to explain what is in the menu today - after a while, when it became popular it obviously changed, and now is one of the waiters doing that - i always found something new, and most of the time delicious to eat there (contrary to many other modern restaurants, where "new" is not necessarily synonym of "good"). I've been there dozens of times, and never been disappointed, doesn't matter if you go there with someone special, friends, for business, family, it fits all possible scenarios. You have to make sure there will be a table available, because many times i found it fully booked. I recommend to ask them about the wine, since they have incredible wines and a very reasonable price.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ianeylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

After endless tapas restaurants, we wanted a fine dining experience and we got it at Pla. Located in the Gothic section with its narrow streets it can be a little hard to find, but in reality, it's just a couple blocks off Via Laeitana or La Rambla and its worth searching for.

First off, our waiter was very engaging and helpful in describing items on the menu that also caters to various dietary needs, including gluten free items.

Before our first course, there was a surprising amuse bouche, and yet another before our dessert, plus a mini truffle before we got our bill.

Our appetizers of mackerel and in season tomatoes in a surprising wonder cottage cheese sauce we both delightful.

Each dish served, salmon, pork and duck we a wonder delight of flavored done to perfection.

The lemon pielet and the small banana on chocolate were simply amazing.

This was one of my all time best meals.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank HarveyZ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Maticulous attention to detail and sophisticated flavor combinations. We Lao tried the wine pairings which was a great opportunity to sample some interesting wines from the local region.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Pla Restaurant also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Pla Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.