We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Semproniana

Semproniana
Ranked #609 of 9,412 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Eixample
Paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Truly fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Quite far away from the main tourist attractions this restaurant is really worth the stroll. The interior is a mix of strange things brought into one space by the owner's taste. The staff is very polite and efficient- which is not often in Barcelona. And the food... just marvellous. Foie gras with parmesan ice cream, beef filet in a single malt sauce, spinach ravioli with shrimp sauce... And it goes on. On our last day we decided to go back and took different meals, all of which were perfect. You can get each one in three sizes (S, M, L): very convinient to try different courses. Oh, and the prices are amazingly low for this quality.

This was the best meal in Barcelona and probably one of the few best we have ever had.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertJudycki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    198
    66
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great for groups, like dining at home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This was my 2nd visit to Semproniana and again I came away pleased. On both occasions I dined with large groups of 8 - 10 people seated at a round table of mismatched chairs. This adds to the quirkiness of the surroundings. I really felt like I was dining in someone's home. Table spacing was great. As you walk into the restaurant you almost feel like you're in the wrong place as the dining room is tucked away through the corridor leading towards the back.

The menus are presented on wine bottles (literally) with English available. The translation is a bit suspect though I'll give them an A for effort here. All menu items are served in 3 sizes which makes this a great place for sharing however I wouldn't call it traditional tapas. For example, we had Macarro farcit de butifarra negra which is a cannelloni stuffed with black pudding. The duck was also prepared very well.

The service was pretty good although it won't blow you away. They can be a little inattentive at times such as the 15 minute wait to settle the bill. We ended up walking towards the front which immediately got their attention. Spend was about €70 per couple for copious amounts of wine, brandy, dinner, and dessert.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mattbrendle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Marvellous meal in a really individual setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Fabulous meal in a really wonderful environment. We had lovely food, fantastic wine and great service in this incredibly individual and interesting restaurant. Your eyes are drawn all over to the items and objects that decorate this great place. We had a truly fantastic evening!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Millie5R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
154 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Fine dining without plush”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We came late to this restaurant, and didn't even read the menu, just ordered the fixed menu. It was perfectly presented and paced. Six starters on a plate, then fish, meat and dessert, two glasses of cava and a bottle of red. No unnecessary complications, no extraordinary taste sensations, but very good. Everything for a surprisingly reasonable price. Smooth service by Latin American personnel. Nothing of the Catalan high brow attitude that I had feared from the description.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Luxotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

Best meal in all Barcelona! The staff is so nice! And the owner or manager helped us with what to order. The food is to die for!

Helpful?
Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Semproniana also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Semproniana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing