We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Ambiance”
Review of Babia

Babia
Ranked #805 of 9,603 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
288 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Value and Ambiance”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Just a few meters down the street from the Colon and Regencia Colon Hotels, this is a great spot to stop by for a light dinner and drinks. We had a bottle of Rioja, a bottle of Cava, salads, a beer, and meat and cheese plate for 40 Euros. It is always busy, but there is always room.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    55
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food that hits the spot”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stumbled upon this by accident whilst me and my husband were looking for somewhere nice to eat away from the tourists. It's located on Carrer Dels Sagristans in the Gothic quater. We arrived at 9.15pm just before the place started filling up and locals waited for a table at the bar. Food came to €45 for 3 glasses of wine and 6 delicious tapas dishes ....we were so stuffed we couldn't finish it all. Great atmosphere, food is freshly prepared (unlike a lot of the tapas places in Barca), family run place with a personal. Touch. Great!! Well done Babia.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kuldip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible local tapas place”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We found this place on Tripadvisor and decided to give it a go. We were the only tourists in the restaurant, but felt extremely welcome. Our waiter was incredibly helpful. He helped walk us through the menu, giving us a myriad of suggestions based off our preferences. You know the place is good and the people care about the food when the waiter recommends a less expensive item than the one you initially asked about. The food was incredible. Definitely order a myriad of dishes and just share them family style. For a party of ten we ordered 6 patatas bravas, 2 of this catalan sausage sandwich dish (our favorite), two of the iberian croquettes, one of the salted cod ones, two spanish tortillas, a spicy sausage platter, prawns, and a brie dish. Not counting drinks, this came out to be about ten euro a person. Very, very well priced. We actually loved it so much that we went back the next night and had a similar, wonderful experience. My favorite place I ate at in Barcelona.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jcorsaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best mojo in town”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

My wife loved the sauce ( mojo) on the potatoes. It is increasable. Also, all the other tapas we tried, have been fabolous. Around us only locals. No tourist trap :).
Have fun.

Helpful?
1 Thank FlorianLoe
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous gem...the reviews were right”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Just around the corner from our hotel this bustling restaurant felt like a magical taste of spain
Beautiful home cooked tapas...too much to eat and chilled cava. Service was fantastic and the place full of locals...even though there were queues at the door you didnt feel rushed and could just soak up the ambience. Will definitely return

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kazfromwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babia also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Babia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing