We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!”

Taverna Can Margarit
Ranked #658 of 9,698 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$29
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Montjuic
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Loved this place! It is rather hidden and off of the beaten path, but WELL worth it! It was SO nice to get away from the tourist traps. This seemed like a place locals go to. When we arrived I was a little surprised because we walked into what looked like an old barn. A big open area with high ceilings, full of wine barrels and lots of candles. We were offered tastings from their local wine, right from the barrel, before we were seated. It wasn't great wine, but ok. The food was authentic Catalonyan. I ordered the lamb chops and fried peppers and they were delicious! A little oily, but consistent with typical lamb and Spanish cooking with lots of olive oil. Dinner for two people with wine and an appetizer of the typical Catalonyan bread with oil and fresh tomato was only 31 euros. A steal! So happy we fund this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    104
    39
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“The rabbit, please”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Incredible, interesting place, hidden from main street, open only for evenings. Print a map to find it easier. Great ambient and antiques, lots of stuff I could not figure out. We had rabbits and calamari and they were great. We could not finish the portions. Asked for a wine with a sweet aroma for my wife and they immediately got it (and wrote down the name of the wine and the village that makes it, complete with map etc.) The waiter, the cooks - all lovely people!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xergiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“We're only here for the rabbit! (not quite true)”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This restaurant is in Poble Sec and can be difficult to find without a map. Anyway, lots of tourists - as well as local people - seem to be able to find the way. On the several occasions we have been, it has been full, and it's a big restaurant. Originally it was a bodega, from about 1900. When arriving you are served small glasses of local wine, right out of the barrels.The menu is quite short, and the ccourses are not cheap. This time we had some very good "pan con tomate" and fried squid for starters, and then both the best thing on the menu, the rabbit. Big portions!
Beware theat drinks are quite expensive. The wine list leaves a lot to be desired, particularly seeing that we are in an ex-bodega. That said, we had a very decent Rioja. I think we like to take people to places like this mostly for the atmosphere, but everyone we´ve taken has been delighted. The service is very friendly, though it can be difficult to catch the waiters' eye during the rush. Finally: Yes, we're going to carry on taking people here (and enjoy the rabbit!). The fourth star is really for the atmosphere - you can eat better for less in many places in Barcelona.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Len P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Show up hungry...”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My friend and I had been wandering around Barcelona all day, and were totally famished by the time we arrived at the taverna after 10pm. It took us a little while to find this place, but I'm glad we kept searching.

When we arrived, this place was bustling and almost full. We were immediately asked if we wanted some wine and were directed to the self-service tasting barrels. We tried the 4 different wines there, and that took the edge off the hunger.

We were immediately seated afterwards, and began perusing the menu. Even though this is billed as "medieval" food, there were plenty of options for this pesco-vegetarian. My friend and I ordered the following:
1 jarra vino pequeno -- small jug of wine
2 pan payes con tomate -- bread with tomato rubbed on it
1 ensalada varias -- salted cod over potatoes
1 sardinas o boquerones -- fried sardines
1 ensalada verde -- green salad
1 esparrago de calahorra -- white regional asparagus
2 budins de la casa -- almond cake desserts

I wouldn't say the food was amazing, but it was really good, simple and well done, and the dessert, served with a digestif, really rounded out the meal. The plates were just the right size to split between two (or more) people, which allowed us to try more things and gave us a good sense of the different flavors. The total bill was 35 euros, which absolutely floored us! What an incredible price!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 25Stefan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Get away from the the tourist restaurants.”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This place sits around 1000 out of 4000 on trip advisor in Barcelona! The only reason for this is the location, 2km away from the main centre but still in Barc. A quick taxi trip.
It was word of mouth that led us there.
Full of locals not tourists, book by phone if you can. As you go in there is a wall of wine barrels with taps on them, help yourself whilst waiting for your table, it's a barn like place, really simple but looks and feels great. It's all Tapas, main course type or the smaller dishes. We had the best food of our stay in this restaurant. Snails, huge bowls of rabbit, the best Veal kebabs I've ever had, and many more simple dishes of great quality. We just added more or re ordered as we went along. Loads of wine, loads of dishes, 5 blokes well happy for 20 € each!!!
It's a must for me, I will go back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timbos123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna Can Margarit also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Taverna Can Margarit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing