We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona
Ranked #52 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Our family had two rooms and totally enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The location was great - our rooms were very clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful, knowledgeable and courteous. Definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariacontreras, Director de Recepción at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear Guest,

In the name of Murmuri Hotel, we would like to thank you your comment on tripadvisor, because that means we are working in the correct way. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to se you soon again!

Best regards,

Regina PAGES
Jefe de Recepcion - Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,474)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Murmuri Barcelona
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

991 - 997 of 1,474 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2011

The Murmuri Hotel is an excellent choice in the Rambla area of Barcelona. It is a small boutique on the far north end of Rambla de Catalunya, close to the action but in a much quieter area; a perfect location actually. Though I was there for business, I was impressed by all the shopping, dining, and nightlife around the hotel.

My room was comfortable, reasonably large, clean, and well equipped with plenty of closet and drawer space, robes, slippers, safe (large enough for a laptop), minibar, hair dryer, toiletries, and other amenities you would expect a good hotel to provide. My room was on the fourth floor facing Rambla, but I was not disturbed by street noise. The room also had a cool little balcony with chairs.

High points:

* An iPod dock, which was convenient and could be used as a wake-up alarm.

* The room had a fairly sophisticated lighting system that allowed several different settings for different moods and uses.

* Wireless internet was no charge – at least for me. My colleagues were unable to find a complimentary connection.

* The air conditioning was superb. I was able to get the room down to about 19C/66F. This is a particular concern for me in European hotels, where air conditioning often seems more like an after-thought and I end up sleeping poorly because of a hot, stuffy room.

Downsides:

* The bathroom had a variety of hair plastered to the sink, tub, etc. The tub had some grunge that was not very attractive. Otherwise, the room and common areas were clean and appeared well maintained.

* My room rate did not include breakfast but given that my room rate was only 157€, I would not really expect it. However, there was no in-room coffee either and this was inconvenient in the mornings. Nevertheless, they did offer breakfast at 12€ if (I think) I agreed to buy it for each day of the stay. I declined, but this was a pretty good offer considering many hotels want as much as 30€ for breakfast.

I was very pleased with the Murmuri and I definitely recommend it when in Barcelona for business or pleasure.

Hope this helps.

.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HonkHonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Style is the first association with Murmuri hotel. Every single detail corresponds to that: room design, decoration of the hall or pillows, breakfast service, even receptionists’ appearance and manners. We stayed in Romea – 2-bedroom apartment with 2 baths and fully-equipped kitchen including coffee-machine provided with coffee-capsules. The washing-machine was most convenient; Barcelona was the 2nd city on the trip, so our stuff needed washing. We were granted a gift voucher to enjoy their restaurant gastronomy with a 15% discount. Separate thanks are to Gaspar and Francisco who were most welcoming guys on the reception. Thank you all!
Oh, the wooden floor in the shower was a special treat!

Room Tip: Romea is situated in the adjoining side street, it has a separate entrance, but it’s a bit noisy at...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed at the Murmuri for four nights and had an amazing experience. The rooms are gorgeous, modern, clean, and quiet. The bathroom had an enormous rain shower and the beds were heavenly. We had a room facing the back of the hotel, which had a view of the local apartments. We liked seeing how the locals lived with their laundry hanging from the balconies and kids playing outside. If that's not your speed, then request a room that faces the front for a more "manicured" view.

The location of the Murmuri is perfect -- at the top of the Ramblas so it's much more quiet than down by the boqueria. There are plenty of boutiques and shops up by the hotel, so it's not no man's land by any means. It's about a 15 minute walk down the tree-lined center median/promenade to get to the heart of all the action. We didn't eat at the hotel because there were so many great tapas options just outside the door.

The only hiccup was with the front desk staff who were generally very friendly, but not very knowledgable about sightseeing in the city. We wanted to visit all the Gaudi landmarks and the woman at the desk kept pushing pre-arranged tours on us when we asked how to buy admission tickets in advance. She also told us the famous Sagrada Familia was closed when it was not. Also something that's not in most guidebooks is that you must have a Spanish bank account (caixa) to purchase advance tickets for the major sites. Again the front desk did not know this and we had to learn the hard way after multiple purchase attempts on the internet.

Our only gripe was with the internet. You had to purchase a card by the hour or by the day. Once you had the code the service worked well in the room, but we wished Wi-Fi had been included in the room price. Overall, we would stay at the Murmuri again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank designer10California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Great location in the center of the city. Rooms were well-appointed. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Big fan.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southpasstiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Our family had 2 rooms for one week and we thoroughly enjoyed it...one room was a bit smaller-2 beds for the kids, and the larger room with one bed. Both were very nicely appointed and quite comfortable. The location cannot be beat...beautiful cafes and restaurants all around and easy walking distance to most of the city. The concierge staff was great and recommended lots of great restaurants. We also did a fat tire bike tour of the city which was a highlight of our stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LI77a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I stayed a week here,on business, and didn't get tired of comfy little boutique hotel in the center of lively Barcelona. Great design, everything is in the right place,great bathroom with both bathtub and shower cabin . A lovely bar downstairs is open day&night, perfect breakfast with hamon and brut cava included. The location is ideal for shopping and sightseeing, but nothing like crowded and littered Rambla streets, all you can wish for to enjoy this grand city!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RIPEPINEAPPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 513 in Barcelona
2,261 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#66 of 513 in Barcelona
1,891 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#97 of 513 in Barcelona
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Gallery Hotel
Gallery Hotel
#29 of 513 in Barcelona
1,423 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Hotel Primero Primera
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murmuri Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murmuri Barcelona

Address: Rambla Catalunya 104, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £106 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Murmuri Barcelona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept of Boutique Hotel opens in Barcelona in March 2008. Murmuri Barcelona is getting ready to surprise you, please you and serve you. A meeting point in the Rambla Catalunya where you can delight in the murmur of the constant throb of the city. Created in an intimate style, with reminiscences of classicism, not forgetting the most modern and sophisticated design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Murmuri Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing