We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona
Ranked #63 of 520 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I stayed here recently with my daughter who was taking a break from interrailing around Europe. We had a classic/standard twin room with beds touching. The room was indeed v small and at the back of the hotel overlooking roofs, a basketball court and residential properties. So, not a great view, but surprisingly quiet, even with the window open.
There was a flat screen TV which appeared to show only Spanish progs (mainly football), but not an issue with us.
The furnishings were stylish and clean, but the black furniture was beginning to look a little worn. Disappointingly we only had a shower, but this was probably because we had booked one of the cheaper rooms at Euros 165 per night through hotels.com.
The shower cubicle itself was enormous, but its design meant that, instead of water draining through a plug hole, it dripped over the edges and stained the floor of the cubicle. Otherwise, the room and bathroom were v clean and the chambermaids did a good job considering the debris left around the room from my daughter's backpack. (Sorry!)
Housekeeping also collected and returned her trousers promptly for cleaning (at Euros 11).
The location and stylishness of the hotel are its best bits. It's an easy taxi-ride from the airport at about Euros 27, but also within a stone's throw of the fast, efficient, clean Metro. Along the median running through the boulevard outside (La Rambla de Catalunya) is a succession of restaurants.
We tried the recommended Cerveceria Catalanya on the first eve for good tapas, but surly service from a Rowan Atkinson lookalike waiter. El Fornet, just down from the hotel towards Placa de Catalunya, has lovely pastries for breakfast. Also good for dinner was Meson Cinco Jotas nearer the hotel and on the opposite side of the road.
We did not try any meals in the hotel itself as it seemed prohibitively expensive and I preferred Spanish food to Asian fusion. But we did treat ourselves to cocktails, which were excellent but dear (Euros 11 for a Martini) and we ended up paying extra for nibbles, which seems a bit mean.
We visited Casa Battlo, which is v close, and Parc Guell, which isn't. (Tip: go by Metro; it's a long way on the No.24 bus, although you do get closer to the top). On a wet day, we went to the Picasso Museum to find an enormous queue at 5.00pm. So, even if we'd bothered to stand in line, the museum itself would have been packed.
Overall, it was an enjoyable, if expensive trip. Free wi-fi in the hotel would have been so useful for my daughter checking reservations, etc, for her onward journey.
The staff were generally most helpful, esp when we wanted to leave our luggage before checking-in and after checking-out.
A good hotel if money is no object or for an occasional splurge.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank booknerdEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,008 - 1,014 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2011

Recently stayed at Hotel Murmuri in september. Frankly, with all the glowing reviews on tripadvisor, I was expecting a high end boutique with exceptional services. First the positives: very close to metro station, on rambla catalunya(many nice outdoor cafes and restaurants while still very quiet), very comfortable bed and nice size bathroom.

Now the negatives: shower temperature very uneven. Have to constantly adjust the knob while showering because the water changes from hot to cold for no reason. The water even stopped for several minutes at one point. Room service is very uneven. We came home in the afternoon at 4pm one day to find the bed has not been made yet. Requests for pillows and towels sometimes need to be made again because after 20 min none has arrived. The room is the tiniest of all the hotels we stayed in while in Spain. Finally, I can't believe this was the only hotel that did not offer free wifi service. With today's use of ipads and iphones, I think a 4star hotel needs to up the ante and provide free wifi service. A friend stayed at the 3 star hotel jazz which had free wifi service.

For a four star hotel, I was surprised at many of these deficiencies. Hopefully, Hotel Murmuri can read this and correct them. Because, it has potential to be a great boutique hotel

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dandan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We spent 6 nights in Barcelona and this hotel was one of the highlights of the trip. Roberto and Regina and all of the staff were always smiling and accommodating. The room was beautiful, spacious and sparkly clean! Can't wait to go back!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank anita b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

My husband and I where staying in Barcelona for one night only. We booked a room at Hotel Inglaterra as we'd stayed there before (excellent hotel). On arrival in Barcelona I was contacted by Inglaterra and informed of a double booking. To compensate us for this mistake we were offered an 'up-grade' to their sister 'Boutique' Hotel Murmuri. Our room in Murmuri was smaller then in Inglaterra, it may have had mood lighting and extra (pointless) fancy pillows, ridiculously low hanging chandeliers and all the bells and whistles one might expect form a 'Boutique' Hotel but I almost felt uncomfortable staying there. The Murmuri bar and local restaurant prices are extortionate. It's a fancy area but if money is an issue, stay at the other end of Plaza de Cataluña. On the plus side the staff where very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The 'Design' rooms are small and we didn't get bathrobes or slippers as advertised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank K E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. Comfortable beds and room. When I came home 3 pieces of my clothes were missing! I have a very bad feeling about this.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ClaraPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a four night stay at the Hotel Murmuri. We really enjoyed our stay, the room was elegantly designed, the bed was fantastically comfortable and the level of cleanliness impeccable (all bed linen and towels were changed every day). The air conditioning was great and the lighting could be dimmed which was very relaxing at the end of a busy touristy day. The breakfast was delicious and the waitresses were charming. All the staff were helpful, good humoured and prompt to respond to any requests. It was the combination of their friendliness and professionalism that set the hotel apart from other hotels we have stayed at. We felt very welcome and would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

If you had to choose a hotel in Barcelona, Spain, choose the MurMuri. It has excellent and friendly service. The food is good. It has great rooms and a fabulous view of La Rambla! It tops every hotel in Barcelona!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hasan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#69 of 520 in Barcelona
1,993 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 520 in Barcelona
2,407 reviews
Eixample
Gallery Hotel
Gallery Hotel
#28 of 520 in Barcelona
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#48 of 520 in Barcelona
1,529 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#65 of 520 in Barcelona
1,230 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murmuri Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murmuri Barcelona

Address: Rambla Catalunya 104, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#54 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £96 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Murmuri Barcelona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept of Boutique Hotel opens in Barcelona in March 2008. Murmuri Barcelona is getting ready to surprise you, please you and serve you. A meeting point in the Rambla Catalunya where you can delight in the murmur of the constant throb of the city. Created in an intimate style, with reminiscences of classicism, not forgetting the most modern and sophisticated design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Murmuri Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing