We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent - a top quality hotel in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Murmuri Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona
Ranked #48 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent - a top quality hotel in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Murmuri 6-9 September for our wedding anniversary. The hotel is stylish, the rooms are very well finished, and the aircon is excellent - important in Barcelona ! The hotel staff were just the best - polite, helpful, and very knowledgeable about all things Barca.
The location is possibly the best bit of all - less than 10 mins walk from the top of La Ramblas, but far enough from the mass crowds, and in a very smart part of Barca - great shops, street cafes and restaurants from right outside the door. Final tip - the Murmuri has it's own pavement restaurant outside the front on Pl. de Catalunya - and it is excellent.
We've travelled a lot over the years, and you expect to have to make some compromises each time, but this hotel is top quality, without exception.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony overlooking Pl. de Catalunya
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariacontreras, Director de Recepción at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comment on trip advisor, and let us know your feedback about your stay with us. We are very happy that you have enjoyed and you have felt comfortable during your stay with us.

We are very proud about the good service that you have recieved because that means we are working on the correct way.

We hope to see you again on Murmuri Hotel.

Kind regards,

Regina PAGES
Jefe de recepción - Front desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    407
    90
    17
    21
See reviews for
231
771
50
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We spent six nights at Hotel Murmuri and it was a very nice staying.
Pros: 1-The staff is very polite and always helpful, ready to give you information, directions, suggestions, etc - this is a major point for us while choosing a hotel.
2- The hotel is very clean and the room, although very small, was nicely appointed. Very comfortable bed and good bathroom . We took a privilege room with a private terrace ( room 603)- it is incredible tiny! It is difficult for two people to move around the room and the luggage block your passage. The door that leads to the terrace doesn´t open wide because the bed is too close to it. The front desk woman did warned me about the size of the room and offered as an alternative to take a privilege room without the terrace, which is indeed much better in terms of space. We refused because we wanted the terrace. If you don´t mind the terrace, pick this one without the terrace.
3- Location could not be better. The hotel is in a neighborhood called Eixample, which is very nice, safe and with lots of good restaurants, bar and upscale stores. It is in Rambla de Caltalunya ( don´t mistake it by Las Ramblas, which is noisy, crowded and dangerous). From the hotel you can walk to the the historic center, a nice walking , take a bus or metro. There are bus stops and a metro station (Diagonal) a block away. Hop on hop off buses also have their stops a block from the hotel.
The hotel is a block from Paseig del Gracia which is a beautiful avenue, with its high-end stores and nice bars. You are a block from La Pedrera ( Casa Mila) and a few blocks from Casa Batlo, Gaudí´s wonderful buildings.
4- We didn´t try Restaurant Murmuri because somehow it didn´t attracted us, but in our way back to the hotel we always stopped at Terraza Bar Marfil for a few drinks and tapas ( a nice outside area on the avenue, good for watching the movement ). Good service.
CONS: 1- The breakfast is far below reasonable. Few options, very poor buffet, terrible coffee. If you ask for anything cooked like a simple omelete you have to wait for a long time. The service is terrible, the staff here doesn´t speak English and it is not properly trained. They don´t clean the tables right after the customers leaving which leaves the general impression of a very dirty place. Sometimes the cups and cutlery are dirty. You get the feeling that the breakfast area doesn´t belong to the hotel and complaints are just ignored. That is the only point why I am giving this hotel a 4 stars instead of 5.
However, right around the corner you have an excellent pastry called Mauri, where you may a have a very good breakfast.
2- Internet at 15 euros/day.

Room Tip: Privilege room without a terrace is bigger than privilege room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliza53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We selected this hotel for our honeymoon in Barcelona, and we were looking for two things: central location where we could get to everything, and a quiet, secluded room to escape. Murmuri blew us away on both counts, and threw in a couple of surprises as well!

Our room had a balcony overlooking one of the main streets in the city. It was small, but perfect for sitting out with a drink and watching urban life from a 4th story perch. When we came inside and closed the balcony door, it felt as quiet and peaceful as a private getaway - not a sound from outside - it was amazing! Close the blackout curtains and you wouldn't even know that there was a city outside your window.

Now that would have been plenty for me to write a glowing review - but Murmuri deserves exceptional recognition for going above and beyond. The room and all public areas were immaculately clean, the staff was always friendly and helpful, our room was cleaned every day no matter what time we left the room, and they surprised us with a complimentary bottle of champagne and a fruit plate our first night there to welcome us to their hotel and to the city.

I do agree with some of the other reviews, that I was disappointed they did not offer free wi-fi. But that would be my only gripe.

We were halfway across the world, in a foreign city that speaks two largely unfamiliar languages, and yet this hotel felt like home. After a long day exploring the nooks and crannies of beautiful Barcelona, I was always happy to see the great front door of Murmuri. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to be right in the thick of things, but who wants a place to escape when they need a break from the city and a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Noise is not an issue, so I'd recommend asking for a room with a balcony overlooking the Ramblas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFoliage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

I stayed here recently with my daughter who was taking a break from interrailing around Europe. We had a classic/standard twin room with beds touching. The room was indeed v small and at the back of the hotel overlooking roofs, a basketball court and residential properties. So, not a great view, but surprisingly quiet, even with the window open.
There was a flat screen TV which appeared to show only Spanish progs (mainly football), but not an issue with us.
The furnishings were stylish and clean, but the black furniture was beginning to look a little worn. Disappointingly we only had a shower, but this was probably because we had booked one of the cheaper rooms at Euros 165 per night through hotels.com.
The shower cubicle itself was enormous, but its design meant that, instead of water draining through a plug hole, it dripped over the edges and stained the floor of the cubicle. Otherwise, the room and bathroom were v clean and the chambermaids did a good job considering the debris left around the room from my daughter's backpack. (Sorry!)
Housekeeping also collected and returned her trousers promptly for cleaning (at Euros 11).
The location and stylishness of the hotel are its best bits. It's an easy taxi-ride from the airport at about Euros 27, but also within a stone's throw of the fast, efficient, clean Metro. Along the median running through the boulevard outside (La Rambla de Catalunya) is a succession of restaurants.
We tried the recommended Cerveceria Catalanya on the first eve for good tapas, but surly service from a Rowan Atkinson lookalike waiter. El Fornet, just down from the hotel towards Placa de Catalunya, has lovely pastries for breakfast. Also good for dinner was Meson Cinco Jotas nearer the hotel and on the opposite side of the road.
We did not try any meals in the hotel itself as it seemed prohibitively expensive and I preferred Spanish food to Asian fusion. But we did treat ourselves to cocktails, which were excellent but dear (Euros 11 for a Martini) and we ended up paying extra for nibbles, which seems a bit mean.
We visited Casa Battlo, which is v close, and Parc Guell, which isn't. (Tip: go by Metro; it's a long way on the No.24 bus, although you do get closer to the top). On a wet day, we went to the Picasso Museum to find an enormous queue at 5.00pm. So, even if we'd bothered to stand in line, the museum itself would have been packed.
Overall, it was an enjoyable, if expensive trip. Free wi-fi in the hotel would have been so useful for my daughter checking reservations, etc, for her onward journey.
The staff were generally most helpful, esp when we wanted to leave our luggage before checking-in and after checking-out.
A good hotel if money is no object or for an occasional splurge.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank booknerdEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Recently stayed at Hotel Murmuri in september. Frankly, with all the glowing reviews on tripadvisor, I was expecting a high end boutique with exceptional services. First the positives: very close to metro station, on rambla catalunya(many nice outdoor cafes and restaurants while still very quiet), very comfortable bed and nice size bathroom.

Now the negatives: shower temperature very uneven. Have to constantly adjust the knob while showering because the water changes from hot to cold for no reason. The water even stopped for several minutes at one point. Room service is very uneven. We came home in the afternoon at 4pm one day to find the bed has not been made yet. Requests for pillows and towels sometimes need to be made again because after 20 min none has arrived. The room is the tiniest of all the hotels we stayed in while in Spain. Finally, I can't believe this was the only hotel that did not offer free wifi service. With today's use of ipads and iphones, I think a 4star hotel needs to up the ante and provide free wifi service. A friend stayed at the 3 star hotel jazz which had free wifi service.

For a four star hotel, I was surprised at many of these deficiencies. Hopefully, Hotel Murmuri can read this and correct them. Because, it has potential to be a great boutique hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We spent 6 nights in Barcelona and this hotel was one of the highlights of the trip. Roberto and Regina and all of the staff were always smiling and accommodating. The room was beautiful, spacious and sparkly clean! Can't wait to go back!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anita b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

My husband and I where staying in Barcelona for one night only. We booked a room at Hotel Inglaterra as we'd stayed there before (excellent hotel). On arrival in Barcelona I was contacted by Inglaterra and informed of a double booking. To compensate us for this mistake we were offered an 'up-grade' to their sister 'Boutique' Hotel Murmuri. Our room in Murmuri was smaller then in Inglaterra, it may have had mood lighting and extra (pointless) fancy pillows, ridiculously low hanging chandeliers and all the bells and whistles one might expect form a 'Boutique' Hotel but I almost felt uncomfortable staying there. The Murmuri bar and local restaurant prices are extortionate. It's a fancy area but if money is an issue, stay at the other end of Plaza de Cataluña. On the plus side the staff where very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The 'Design' rooms are small and we didn't get bathrobes or slippers as advertised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#13 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#40 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,156 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#52 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Gallery Hotel
Gallery Hotel
#38 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Eixample
Sixtytwo Hotel
Sixtytwo Hotel
#15 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murmuri Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murmuri Barcelona

Property: Hotel Murmuri Barcelona
Address: Rambla Catalunya 104, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Murmuri Barcelona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept of Boutique Hotel opens in Barcelona in March 2008. Murmuri Barcelona is getting ready to surprise you, please you and serve you. A meeting point in the Rambla Catalunya where you can delight in the murmur of the constant throb of the city. Created in an intimate style, with reminiscences of classicism, not forgetting the most modern and sophisticated design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Murmuri Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing