We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona
Ranked #62 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We had a very spacious, ultra-modern, clean 2-BR apartment attached to the Murmuri Hotel for 439Euro/night. It had a kitchen (with dishes) and a large deck (with deck lounges and table-and-chair set). View out the back is nothing to write home about, but the apartment was quiet and centrally-located. Internet use was only 10Euro for 24 hr. Hotel has a lovely bar and small restaurant, and there are plenty more to choose from in the neighbourhood. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We were advised to close not just the windows but the shutters to minimize street noise, although ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoboRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

988 - 994 of 1,522 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2011

My family and I recently stayed for five nights in one of the 2 bedroom apartments (Liceu). There are lots of reasons to like this hotel, but a couple of annoyances kept me from loving it.

First, the big plusses. The location is absolutely fantastic: right on the Rambla de Catalunya, near the metro, shopping, restaurants, and just a few blocks from Casa Pedredra and Casa Batllo. Really convenient and lovely. The apartment itself was spacious and comfortable, with a beautiful terrace. The hotel staff were very nice and accommodating. The bar was fabulous. And it was great to have access to the very nice Hotel Majestic fitness/swim facilities.

Now, the big minus. It seems that there is a restaurant kitchen just below the Liceu apartment, and we were kept awake (or were awakened) by crazy restaurant and kitchen noises, including most irritatingly a regular "thump" sound - maybe a swinging door? - that echoed throughout the apartment every minute or two. It wasn't so bad on Wednesday and Thursday nights. But Friday, Saturday and Sunday were really bad, and went until 1:30 a.m. The front desk claimed no one else had complained about the noise, but I find that hard to believe.

A couple more quibbles.

WiFi. As many others have noted, there isn't free wifi in the rooms. The hotel is moving in the right direction by offering free wifi in the lobby. But this seems hardly adequate. Sure, I'm on vacation, but I want internet access to be able to book tickets online, research restaurants, check flights, etc. (never mind about work). I don't understand why the hotel can't fix this issue.

Coffee. The apartment came equipped with a nespresso machine. Which was great. Except that there were only a few nespresso capsules provided and we didn't realize (because no one told us) that even these were not replenished daily. We were supposed to scout out nespresso capsules during our vacation in Barcelona? That seemed really silly. Someone eventually brought us additional capsules (thank you!) but only after I complained and only the next afternoon.

I do hope to return to Barcelona soon and I would stay at Murmuri again if I didn't have to deal with these issues.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TxTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We were upgraded.......to a very small room with a walled-in terrace. It was nice to open the door to make the room seem larger, but the terrace was completely enclosed, so no view!
We found the staff to be very limited in their recommendations of places to eat. After moving to another hotel, we found there were three very charming restaurants right around the corner from Murmuri!! The room was clean, and the bed comfortable, but it was definitely the smallest room we stayed in during our three week vacation in Europe!!

Room Tip: Check the room before you sign in!!!
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank rosebud10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

My husband, another couple and I stayed here on our last night in Barcelona. It was our favorite hotel the entire stay. It's in a wonderful location-close to dining, shopping and Gaudi architecture. The staff is extremely welcoming and helpful. The rooms are small and clean, but make the most of their space. We ate dinner at the restaurant in the hotel our first day there and it was delicious. We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumiller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

A well trained attendant staff makes our 5 night stay on the Rambla Catalunya as delightful as expected and much more. The receptionists/ hosts seemed to eagerly answer your queries regarding diner, sightseeing, transportation options and all of your needs in a quite professional manner; and always utilizing custom marked maps highlighting your needs. The bar was well manned and intimate. The area surrounding the hotel offers fabulous Tapas and Catalan diner options, chocolate shops and local breakfast at cafe Francesco around the corner had great fresh squeezed OJ, cafe cafe con lesche and a traditional ham or veggie sandwiches. Location ideal for all public transportation including the Aerobus from the airport. Props to Maria C, Roberto, the movie star look-a-like, Frank, and Nick.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms available upon request. Internet issue not significant and free usage is available for p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kendotm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Great stay for two nights post a Med cruise. The Privilege Double room was large w king bed & very comfy. Bathroom offered all the comforts of home: clean, robes, slippers. Street noise on a Friday night wasn't too disturbing. Hotel bar is very pricy. Cafe Mauri around the corner is great for a snack/coffee, tea, etc. Enjoy the city and walk your legs off!

Room Tip: Try to get an interior vs. street facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariacontreras, Director de Recepción at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2011

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you about your positive comment on tripadvisor. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you soon in Barcelona.

Best regards,

Regina PAGES
Jefe de recepcion - Front desk manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

The location was good if you prefer to be away from the hustle & bustle of la ramblas. Very expensive to eat & drink at the hotel bar & restaurant, however why would you when there are so many outside your door.
Room was clean & looked like the photos however quite small. Internet was in Spanish only

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petracca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#70 of 519 in Barcelona
1,994 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 519 in Barcelona
2,410 reviews
Eixample
Gallery Hotel
Gallery Hotel
#29 of 519 in Barcelona
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#51 of 519 in Barcelona
1,531 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#64 of 519 in Barcelona
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murmuri Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murmuri Barcelona

Address: Rambla Catalunya 104, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#54 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £93 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Murmuri Barcelona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept of Boutique Hotel opens in Barcelona in March 2008. Murmuri Barcelona is getting ready to surprise you, please you and serve you. A meeting point in the Rambla Catalunya where you can delight in the murmur of the constant throb of the city. Created in an intimate style, with reminiscences of classicism, not forgetting the most modern and sophisticated design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Murmuri Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing