We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall; a few drawbacks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona
Ranked #48 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good overall; a few drawbacks”
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel about 4 years ago and really loved it, so on our return to Barcelona I was excited to return to the Murmuri. Unfortunately our experience wasn't quite as positive this time but overall it still is a very good choice. The positives: as many people have mentioned, it has an unbeatable location, on a nice street close to everything. It also has a very stylish and modern decor, and helpful front desk staff. I enjoyed their breakfast buffet. Negatives: it really irritates me now when a hotel at this price point doesn't provide free wifi access (or even LAN cable access in the rooms). Come on guys, it is 2012 not 1999. We all have laptops/iPads/etc and we need to use them. You can either pay the ransom (15 euros per day or something) or use their antiquated desktop computers on the first floor (ask at the front desk for a sign in key every time you want to use it). The other problem was noise. Doors closing, people walking around in the room above you at all hours of the night. Nevertheless, in spite of these relatively minor irritants we enjoyed our stay overall.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rasmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariacontreras, Gerente at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Rasmonton,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us again for your stay in Barcelona.

We would like to thank you for your inputs on various things to improve at Murmuri, specially the internet connexion.

Please kindly accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience with the WIFI connection; we are working on having free Wi-Fi access throughout the entire property.

As far as noises goes, we are sorry to hear that the room above was being noisy at night and we would like to encourage you to tell us immediately if it ever happens again as had the front desk been advised about it, we would have taken measures immediately.

Having this said, we hope you choose Murmuri for your next trip while in the city!


Warmly,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    416
    92
    17
    21
See reviews for
236
790
52
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This lovely hotel is located in the end of the famous street in Barcelona Rambla de Catalunya. The location is perfect since it is not in the crowded side of the street. The hotel is also close to the shopping area and many famous restaurants around. The hotel staff was the friendliest among all the hotels I’ve been to. I’ve stayed for 5 nights in a Privilege Room which was modern and spacious.
The one thing I was not a fan of is the breakfast which had very limited options.
One last advice is to be careful of your pockets in Barcelona since there are a lot of thieves everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bg_ads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariacontreras, Gerente at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear bg_ads,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your positive experience with the rest of TA users and for pointing out the satisfaction about your recent stay at Murmuri and the helpfulness of the staff. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with us overall.

Just a quick note to remind you that we offer a side menu for breakfast with a lot of different options and it can be amazing.

We hope to welcome you back soon in Barcelona.

Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Wife and I stayed here for a week. Very private and excellent location -- best in Barcelona, we thought. It's like the fifth avenue of Barcelona. Very close to two subway lines, many, restaurants, and its an excellent strolling avenue with many outdoor eating options.

While there, go to: Muri (pastry), MorDisco (good restaurant), Cerveceria (tapas), Pategonia (steak), Farga (coffee and hot chocolate)...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EHinBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariacontreras, Gerente at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Ehinbh,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased you found us to be located “like the fifth avenue” of Barcelona! We are happy to learn you enjoyed your time while at Murmuri.

We would very much like to welcome you back during your next visit to Barcelona!

Warmly,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

We both loved this hotel from the moment we arrived. Friendly staff, brilliant location, great room (privilege) and the best coffee! Situated at the top of Cataluyna di Rambla, the street is very quiet but even more so with the hotel's soundproof windows! Every morning was peacefully blissful! The ambient lighting system takes a bit of getting used to, but does add to whole atmosphere. The metro station (Diagonal) is very close and so are all the main attractions, shops etc. Overall a great hotel to stay in sans enfants, and we would definitely go back! We love Barcelona AND Hotel Murmuri!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariacontreras, Gerente at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Carl E,

On behalf of the whole Murmuri staff we would like to thank you for to share your opinion with the rest of Trip Advisor users. It´s nice to hear that your stay at Murmuri was pleasant and that you recommend our hotel to other guests. We hope to welcome you again in Barcelona.


Warmly,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This hotel has an excellent location. Very nice room! A lot of restaurants and nice stores nearby.
The reception staff was friendly and helpful. We loved this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariacontreras, Gerente at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Maria C,

Let me start by thanking you to share your opinion on trip advisor. It is nice to hear that the staff at the front desk could be at your assistance. We hope to welcome you back soon at Mumuri and to make your stay even more memorable.

Kind Regards,


General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Small hotel in a great location. We were within walking distance of many attractions including some of Gaudi's buildings and the La Rambla. There were lots of restaurants nearby with good shopping throughout the area. We had a prestige room, which by european standards, was quite large and comfortable. An added bonus was the small balcony overlooking the Rambla Catalunya, the main street in this area. The hotel staff were most welcoming and attentive. We wholeheartedly recommend the Murmuri Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJC2975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We spent a long weekend in the elegant Murmuri at the end of March. We checked in early purely to leave our bags with the hotel so we could explore the city until a reasonable time. (No-one can expect their room to be ready at 10.30 in the morning - we certainly don't.) Not only was our room ready, but we had been ungraded to a suite - which on both counts was a lovely surprise, especially as this was a surprise trip for my husband's birthday. The reception staff were both friendly and helpful. Our room was amazing with a great view over the quiet street. It was spotlessly clean, it was comfortable and had lots of nice touches that make this a proper boutique hotel.

The location was perfect, peaceful but still easy to get to from the airport, the metro is just around the corner and easy to walk just about everywhere in Barcelona with lots of great architecture all around the hotel. There are also some excellent bars and restaurants in the street alongside the hotel.

We had fantastic room service on our first night, a great breakfast each morning and had dinner in the restaurant one evening. The food in the restaurant was amazing - not at all like 'hotel restaurant' food. Really different and tasty, the restaurant should be considered a destination of its own. The hotel bar was also unlike a standard hotel bar. It was cosy and had a good atmosphere, especially on terrace outside watching the people go by.

All the staff were polite, helpful and knowledgeable and I would like to thank them for helping to make our stay in Barcelona wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Snow_Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariacontreras, Gerente at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear The Snow Cat,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. As you noted, our staff works exceptionally hard to ensure all guests a truly memorable stay. We were equally pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room being for its décor and nice touches and the service provided by our staff as well as the quality of the food and drinks.

We hope to have a chance to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for select Murmuri for your accommodation.

Warmly,

Maria Contreras
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 513 in Barcelona
2,108 reviews
Eixample
Gallery Hotel
Gallery Hotel
#35 of 513 in Barcelona
1,315 reviews
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#42 of 513 in Barcelona
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#28 of 513 in Barcelona
185 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#97 of 513 in Barcelona
2,178 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#50 of 513 in Barcelona
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murmuri Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murmuri Barcelona

Property: Hotel Murmuri Barcelona
Address: Rambla Catalunya 104, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Murmuri Barcelona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept of Boutique Hotel opens in Barcelona in March 2008. Murmuri Barcelona is getting ready to surprise you, please you and serve you. A meeting point in the Rambla Catalunya where you can delight in the murmur of the constant throb of the city. Created in an intimate style, with reminiscences of classicism, not forgetting the most modern and sophisticated design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Murmuri Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing