We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona
Ranked #49 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very poor staff”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

1- I had an issue with my room after they changed it from second night from queenbed to king bed in this room the shower is not working well and wifi signal as well, but the Front Desk Manager didnt take an action on this till checking out

2- Roberto Garofano Bellboy is shout to my friend when he asked him politely to park his car for few minutes in front off hotel

3- at check out They gave me the print out of my bell with 41 euros that i didnt even signed it and asked me if i used the mini bar and i said yes for only one cola light for 5 euros but after reviewed the bill carefully i noted they got more that 2 more items from mini bar that i didnt used it !! about 10 euros more !!

so i will never stay here again

Room Tip: nothing good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bohassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmaRavasiArnau, Director General at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Bohassan,

Thank you for leaving your comment on trip advisor. We are very sorry that your experience in Murmuri didn't get your expectations.

However, we would like to replay the following: regarding the type of bed, we would like to inform you that all the requests are under availability. First night we gave you one room with 2 beds, but next day, as we can move you, we gave you one of the bests rooms of the hotel.

Second day, we informed you that wifi signal is a little bit poor when a lot of people is connecting at the same time, and we also called our system in order to know if there is a problem with that.

Regarding our employee, we would like to inform you that nobody can park for a long time in our hotel parking because the area is for people who are going to check in or check out. Your colleage asked for leave the car during the morning and he just informed him that was not possible.

Also, at check out time, we always ask if our guests take something from the mini bar the night before. If there are more charges, they are from other nights; but we only charge what guests say. That's why we also said you to check your bill to see if everything is correct. If not, we modify it; but you dind't say nothing.

We hope you come again and have a good experience with us.

Best regards,

Murmuri Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    423
    95
    17
    21
See reviews for
247
798
53
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife and stayed at the Hotel Murmuri between 5 Jan to 10 Jan 2014. We stayed in the Superior Room. I have nothing bad to say about the room . If anything the room was great. Good size and comfortable. The location was good too.

However, during our stay we had a significant amount of money (the equivalent of several hundred Australian dollars in a couple different currencies) stolen from our safe (which was left open by accident during one day) by an employee of the hotel. At a top hotel like this you would imagine leaving your safe open should not make any difference because you are paying for your mind to be put at ease by staying at what we perceived to be such a high quality hotel.

The hotel manager during our stay provided acceptable customer service paying for our cab to and from the police station to make a report. The manager agreed with us that she would make a claim from the hotel's insurance to have us repaid. This was the last time I have heard from the manager. It has been 5 months and nothing! Unfortunately, since our stay we have not heard anything from the hotel manager in relation to the insurance claim she stated she would make on our behalf from the hotel. I have made countless attempts to email and call the hotel (leaving a couple messages at reception for her to call me back) but with no reply whatsoever. I feel this is my last option to force the hotel manager to respond to our correspondence and ensure the hotel repays the money that one of their employees took from us.

The way we have been treated since our stay has been terrible and left a bad taste in our mouth. We feel cheated and we feel the hotel has been acting dishonestly by not repaying us back for the stolen money (and not communicating with us). We believe we have been very patient and understanding giving plenty of time between each attempted contact with the hotel but have given up being patient and know this might be the only way we will see our money returned.

Please respond to me and stop ignoring us.

Yours faithfully,

Alex

Room Tip: Do not leave your safe open by accident with valuable inside it as you might come back and it not be...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night. It is well located on la Rambla. Rooms were good, well fitted out, bathroom was great-plenty of space.
Bed was very comfortable, comfy pillows as well.
Only issue was the street noise,if the windows were better sound proofed would have been a perfect stay.
Good value for money hotel.
We were recommended a restaurant just around the corner - Petit Comite - wow what a fabulous recommendation.
The hotel was well located for the main shopping strip.
We would stay again and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a room on a high floor or at the side or back of hotel - if allocated a room on the 2nd floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weenjoyhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmaRavasiArnau, Director General at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear weenjoyhotels,

We are so grateful that you choose to stay with us, and we are delighted to hear just how much you enjoyed your time.

We always appreciate hearing comments directly from our customers to keep improving our main installations and services. About the street noise, please next time, tell us and we will give you a room in a higher floor.

Thank you as well, about your kinds words about our gastronomic Petit Comite restaurant.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Murmuri Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here two nice in June for a weekend away with my partner. We were upgraded to a superior room facing the front and it was very modern and comfortable. The windows were well insulated from street noise below which is an important thing in Spain! Good restaurant right on Las Rambles in front of the hotel and we had a great meal there. Great location for seeing the sights and right next to the metro. Only thing I could fault was the bed.. we had asked for a large big bed and had two singles pushed together. Otherwise it was very comfy. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank criminy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmaRavasiArnau, Director General at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear criminy27,

It is a pleasure to hear such a nice comment about your stay at our hotel, we are delighted to hear that our rooms and our location in Barcelona have fulfilled your expectations.

All our guest's comments motivate us to keep improving in our job.

Best regards,

Murmuri Hotel





We hope to see you again in our Hotel

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Decent rooms (not the biggest); excellent decor (studied but not overt); friendly and accommodating staff (very helpful when it came to asking directions - not always 'on the money' when it came to asking for restaurant recommendations); a very cool bar (inclusive tapas days seemed to be very popular); and a nice 'terrace' restaurant.

It all added up to a very pleasant 5 day stay, at reasonable rates (by Barcelona standards) in a very good location. There are three first class restaurants within stumbling distance, and several more for longer distance stumblers.

Would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel, and any criticism would be petty quibbling.

Nice moment: asked for an iron and an ironing board. Iron turned out to be manufactured circa 1970, and didn't work at all well. Alerted the front desk; the ironing was taken care of. No charge. Just the right gesture, at the right time, managing to turn a potential complaint into a good experience. The people who run/manage the hotel are focused and clued-in.

Room Tip: Any room that ends in 06 appears to be slightly bigger than the rest, with a small sitting room at o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Grizzwald2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmaRavasiArnau, Director General at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Grizzwald2010,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments on trypadvisor, and of course thank you for your nice review we always work to satisfy our guests, also we take note about the incidences and we are going to improve it.

Hope to welcome you again in a future.

Best regards,

Hotel Murmuri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Hotel Murmuri was our home base after a recent cruise. The hotel has an elegant and contemporary feel with wonderful rooms and a friendly and helpful staff. We loved the location, the hotel fronts to the beautifully tree-lined Rambla Catalunya. It is only 2 miles to the waterfront and approximately 1.25 miles to the Gothic quarter. The walk to and from the tourist areas is filled with sidewalk cafes and exceptional shopping without having all the noise and congestion of Las Ramblas.

We would recommend the Murmuri to anyone staying in Barcelona.

Room Tip: The rooms fronting Rambla Catalunya can stay a little noisy at night given all the cafes. If you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Viktor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmaRavasiArnau, Director General at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Viktor B ,

First of all thank you very much for taking the time to write a review so kind we are delighted to hear that your stay in a murmuri been perfect and both the rooms and the staff have fulfilled your expectations

We hope to see you again

Best regards,

Hotel Murmuri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spend a long weekend in Barcelona and stayed for 3 nights at the MurMuri. The Hotel is relatively new and the interior is very tasteful and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the location was great only 10 minutes walking distance from Place de la Catalunya and very close to the Passeig de Garcia. Close to the hotel are plenty of restaurants which are offering very nice Spanish food. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt84London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GemmaRavasiArnau, Director General at Hotel Murmuri Barcelona, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Matt84London,

It is a pleasure to hear that your stay in Murmuri has been so nice, and both the rooms and the staff were perfect for your expectations
We appreciate all feedback to keep doing what we love that is to give our customers a perfect stay.

We hope to see you soon

Kind regards,

Hotel Murmuri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
2,218 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#97 of 513 in Barcelona
2,217 reviews
Eixample
Gallery Hotel
Gallery Hotel
#32 of 513 in Barcelona
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#64 of 513 in Barcelona
1,863 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Hotel Primero Primera
#16 of 513 in Barcelona
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Murmuri Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murmuri Barcelona

Property: Hotel Murmuri Barcelona
Address: Rambla Catalunya 104, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#43 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Murmuri Barcelona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept of Boutique Hotel opens in Barcelona in March 2008. Murmuri Barcelona is getting ready to surprise you, please you and serve you. A meeting point in the Rambla Catalunya where you can delight in the murmur of the constant throb of the city. Created in an intimate style, with reminiscences of classicism, not forgetting the most modern and sophisticated design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Murmuri Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Murmuri Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing