We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Paradeta

La Paradeta
Ranked #187 of 9,409 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“OK!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Initially I had the impression that this place was too touristic, but at the end the quality is not compromised, I find. Fish is good, mostly fresh and a few items probaly pre-frozen (but of good quality). The idea is quite original, you buy your fish and pay per weight, then they will cook it for you. The recepies are quite standard (mainly grilled or fried, steamed for the shellfish) but really well cooked, basically you cannot go wrong with those classics. Price is OK, maybe a little bit expensive considered that you have no service (pick up yourself at the counter) and the location, a bit snappy. Overall good!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank netdepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,994
    1,060
    244
    67
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great seafood at affordable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

I found this restaurants through the foursquare apps, and there are lots of choice of seafood, the chefs cook well and we had a enjoyable dinner there. The price is not high, we really like the experience there.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Olivia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Freash seafood at great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

If you are in Barcelona and you want to have a "no frills" freash seafood meal at reasonable price, " La Paradeta" is a great choice. There is no ambiance at this place. The noice level is high. No reservations, so be there before 8p.m. (if you don`t want to wait for a while). Please, read other reviews about the way you order your food.
You will enjoy the freashness and variety of seafood!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TorontoMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“All the seafood and nothing but the seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012 via mobile

I had the same experience as below - taken by a local (sort-of). From the outside it looks like a combination of fishmonger and cheap cafeteria, with a queue. Don't be put off. Once inside, you pick out the seafood and fish you like, they weigh it and then it arrives in batches appropriately fried (the whitebait, baby squid) or sautéed (the clams and razor shells) or grilled (the tuna, gambas and cuttlefish). We ordered too much (but only spent €80 for 3 with wine and beer) and my local friend took the rest home. It helps if you can tell them how you like your tuna done, but otherwise just eat it as it comes. Also helps if you can count in Spanish because the food is called out by ticket number. Anyone in the group who doesnt want seafood is out of luck I think, although there was a possibility of salad (which we certainly would not have needed). What a great little place. Think I might go back tomorrow!

Helpful?
1 Thank SchrodingersBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“...if u don t mind spend time in a cue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

...i don t like coz after it all you smell to fried fish...but could be funny try once...fresh fish....cheap...something different, altought not my style.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank mimi r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Paradeta also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Paradeta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing