We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slow slow service for so so pricey food”
Review of UDON Born

UDON Born
Ranked #5,250 of 10,179 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: US$18 - US$27
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Takeout
Neighbourhood: El Born / La Ribera
Description: Welcome to Udon Noodle Bar, where noodles are fun!We are specialized in Noodles, but we also make delicious side dishes, rices, salads and home made desserts.Udon is based on the concept of "casual food", which combines fast-food, speed and an affordable price policy using quality raw materials and traditional Asian cuisine.
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Give this a skip. I only went because my system could no longer take the wheat based food and more tasteless paela. Insult to Japanese cuisiene. Took forever for food to arrive. Waitress was nes but pleasant, the older one was not. I'm East Asian. A SPANISH COUPLE IN TNE NEXT TABLE SPOKE RUDELY ABOUT ME.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SKMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UDON_N00dle_Bar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at UDON Born, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013
Google Translation

Buenas tardes,

Desde UDON queremos agradecerte tu visita y la sinceridad de tu comentario. Nuestro objetivo es continuar creciendo y mejorando día a día, lo cual sólo es posible con vuestro apoyo y comentarios.

Saludos cordiales,
El equipo UDON.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 76 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

The food is great, they have wonderful vegan options like veggie gyoza, tofu skewers and a few rice and noodles dishes that taste just great! The waiters are very professional, very welcoming and extremely efficient. No doubt about it, I'll keep coming back over and over again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UDON_N00dle_Bar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at UDON Born, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por tu valoración Eva C,

Nos alegra que disfrutaras de tu visita a UDON y esperamos volver a verte pronto en tu próxima visita a Barcelona.

Saludos cordiales,
El equipo UDON.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

A nice and clean place. The food was ok and priced fairly. Both of us had yaki soba and it was fine, though not enough meat in my opinion.

Thank Dani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UDON_N00dle_Bar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at UDON Born, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Thank you very much DaniHalf,

We are really happy that you have enjoyed the experience at UDON and our menu of noodles and izakayas.

We hope that you will visit us again soon!

Best regards,

UDON Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Found this to be a good option in meat-centric Barcelona, especially for something a little healthier than traditional spanish food. Ate here a few times and it was always very clean and had good service, food was tasty and decent value.

Thank StanCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UDON_N00dle_Bar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at UDON Born, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Thank you very much StanCapeTown,

We are really happy that you have enjoyed the experience at UDON and our menu of noodles and izakayas.

We promise that our main objective is to offer the best experience to all our customers, including the food and the service too.

We hope that you will visit us again soon!

Best regards,

UDON Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

After almost a week in Barcelona, my husband and I wanted to try something different and popped into Udon not knowing it was a chain. We sat down and looked at the menu and the food pictures looked great. We ordered some Gyoza and eat a bowl of ramen. The Gyoza came out quickly, but was bland and seemed like the used the wrong kind of wrapper. My food came out next, but my husband had to wait an additional 15 minutes to get his and the servers didn't seem to care. When we finally ate, the food looked nothing like the pictures, was bland and just wasnt what we were expecting. I would not recommend this over priced "Japanese" food place to anyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank heatherbgale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UDON_N00dle_Bar, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at UDON Born, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Dear heatherbgale,

Thank you for your visit and for sharing your experience. We are sorry the situation that you have explained and we want to check it with our team. Could you please send us more details to customercare@udon.es?

We promise that our main objective is to offer the best experience to all our customers, including the food and the service too.

We hope that you will help us to improve and you will visit us again soon.

Best regards,

UDON Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed UDON Born also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to UDON Born? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing