We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, classy tasting menu”
Review of Hisop

Hisop
Ranked #554 of 9,704 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Hisop, the love child of two former Neichel chefs, Oriol Ivern and Guillen Pla, is slightly beyond the Eixample district, and their cuisine is slightly beyond the normal boundaries, as well. The restaurant itself is somewhat monastic with high ceilings and test-tube vases on white walls, each containing a single rose. Yet the ambience at Hisop is lighthearted and relaxed. The dishes are small, intensely flavoured and beautifully presented. The menu is misleadingly simple, 'squab' might be squab with pear puree and tomato confit served with a selection of three different salts and five different peppers. Great carte includes many wines of the region.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful, classy tasting menu”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I’ve been longing to go, and it didn’t disappoint. Wonderful ambiance, beautiful interior, and attentive staff. I had the tasting menu. First course was baby squid with yuzu. It was excellent. Second course was sardine tartar with mustard gelato. The gelato was exquisite, but I have never been one to like sardines. Anchovies, yes, but sardines, not so much. Third course was sliced tuna on a hamburger roll. It was creative, simple, and tasted like the sea. The fourth dish was definitely my favorite – raw prawn meat with marcona almonds and sliced black truffle – heaven. Fifth was perfectly cooked mullet (though I think it was actually goatfish) topped with a fried zucchini flower. The main course was tender lamb with rosemary and some sort of a kaffir-type cheese. The dessert was a watermelon, cucumber, & basil slush, with marinated olives rolled in powdered sugar. Chef Oriol Ivern was kind enough to come outside to meet us, which made for an amazing conclusion.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JAB1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    140
    78
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent fusion!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

It's a minimalist designed restaurant with great service! We tried the tasting menu without wine match, but the lady chosen for us a very nice bottle of catalanian red wine which is matching the food very well! We love it and had recommended friends to come!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank So_Winnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My boyfriend and I went in February 2013 for his birthday. We hadn't planned to go to a particular restaurant so in the hotel tried our luck at actually googling 'Michelin star restaurants in Barcelona' and tried calling a few of the more reasonably priced ones incase they weren't fully booked for that night. Hisop was the last one we tried before losing hope. And it did not disappoint! We ended up opting for the tasting menu and the food was absolutely sublime! It was different and exciting - all the unusual flavours expertly complemented each other. The star of the show was definitely wood pigeon in chocolate... Out of this world! Also, the service could not be faulted. The staff were so observant (yet not obtrusive at all!) that every single time we finished a course or glass of water or wine there was someone there within about 5 seconds clearing our table or topping up our glasses. It was an absolute pleasure! We would highly recommend this restaurant and would love to go back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rebeccadodds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal, low key”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We greatly enjoyed our meal here. No fireworks, that was a good thing. Clean tastes, flavors were assertive and paired nicely with the wines (we did tasting menu with pairings). We may have been only Americans in restaurant that evening. I liked the lack of pretense of the service and restaurant. The chef introduced himself and we talked a bit about his background and his sourcing of ingredients.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chipperbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great wine, perfect service, disappointing food”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

First impressions were good, with an elegant, minimalist setting and very competent staff. The first course of a simple grilled baby squid was perfect and the later prawn dish with mushrooms, almonds and truffle shavings was truly innovative and absolutely delicious. I strongly recommend the wine pairing – exquisite throughout.

Unfortunately, things went downhill from there. The fish course with zucchini ribbons and a deep-fried zucchini flower was bland and far too big for a tasting menu. The cheese course was the worst I have ever had in a restaurant – soft cheeses served freezing cold and one sliver of quince jelly for 5 cheeses without any other chutney/honey/nuts/fruit etc. Things went from bad to worse after the cheese. I expected to like the watermelon sorbet with tarragon cream as watermelon and ouzo is a good pairing, but this had an unpleasant texture and tasted slightly soapy.

I wish I had asked one of the staff to taste the next dessert as what was served cannot be what they intended. An inoffensive peach sorbet sat on fruit which had been made to taste like tinned peaches atop a layer of coffee cream on a gingerbread sponge – the sponge had been so overspiced that it was both grainy and overwhelmingly bitter. Worst of all were the lumps of what could only be discerned as orange cheese when it had warmed up a little, as in its frozen state, I was certain that someone had accidentally added lumps of candle wax.

We were very disappointed with the food at Hisop, although I see from their website that they have now changed to an autumn tasting menu which is hopefully better. For inspired and inspiring food in a similar price range I would certainly recommend Gelonch or Alkimia, as although Hisop has a more elegant atmosphere and delicious wines, the quality and innovation of the food fell far short of the other two restaurants.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank turtlethoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hisop also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Hisop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing