We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't order paella”
Review of Cullera de Boix

Cullera de Boix
Reserve with
Cullera de Boix is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5,015 of 9,594 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: US$22 - US$34
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Eixample
Description: Cullera de Boix restaurant in Barcelona near the Plaça Catalunya and in Plaça Urquinaona offers fresh, inspired Catalan cuisine in modern surroundings. On the main floor you’ll find a buzzing bar with light, bright décor and very groovy typeface-inspired design, while the dining room carries on the themes of wooden floors, pale walls, dangling lights in hot Iberian colours, and cool seating. Chef Matarrodona – a graduate of the Jean-Luc Figueres kitchen – is inspired by rice and noodle dishes, offering a menu that changes frequently to reflect the seasons. Consider mushroom risotto with idiazabal cheese, black rice with cuttlefish and prawns or risotto with fish and seafood. Main courses feature both land and sea creatures in inventive presentations and the wine list tempts you with more than 200 bottles to try.
Wivenhoe
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't order paella”
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

I love paella but I had one months salt intake in one night. Could not properly identify meat in the paella either. Nice restaurant with helpful staff though, although our reservation was not recorded when we first arrived. Wine good. Complementary desert helped

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RobbieCCCCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    74
    43
    20
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing eating”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We were staying near this restaurant and was recommended by the receptionist. There were four of us and we went there twice trying different dishes each time. Every dish was amazing!!! I definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Barcelona, even the burger was an experience. A good variety of including paellas and it's and a variety of Catalan and spanish dishes. Not too expensive and worth every single penny

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nyah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ieper (Ypres), Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not good!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the hotel next to this restaurant/bar. The first 3 mornings, we ate outside on the terrace. The waiter was very very kind!!! BUT the last morning, it was someone else who stood behind the bar and this waiter was NOT kind at all. We could not eat outside he said, it was a big problem for him if we should eat outside. So, we ate somewhere else outside on a terrace and so we spent more money for breakfast.

We would never eat there again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dvina0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place!”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Food was amazing! We had a Caesar salad, the foie gras burger and the sweet and sour duck. All of them were so delicious we sent our compliments to the chef. Great service and food in an inexpensive place. A must go!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good food Fair price”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This was recommended by our hotel Apparently we were the first one in for dinner (it was 21:45) :)
Over all this is a place we would go back to, got really crowded (in a good way) half way through our meal.


The Cheese Camembert with panko bread is a must
Tomato salad with onion, garlic and tuna was real good but very basic

Pork tenderloin - recommended

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Boaz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cullera de Boix also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Cullera de Boix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing