We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go on my own!”
Review of Pitarra

Pitarra
Reserve with
Pitarra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #595 of 9,594 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Description: Restaurant centenary of Barcelona, ​​whose name comes from the Catalan writer known as Serafí Pitarra S.XIX. The brothers Roig have recovered his literary works and objects as a small museum. There are several private rooms for groups as well as Wi-Fi to our customers.Marc Roig as chef and his team will offer you a cuisine, not forgetting traditional dishes and game in season.Jaume Roig and his staff will recommend the dishes and drinks to make your visit to the restaurant is a unique experience in every way.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go on my own!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I went to PITARRA as a Farewell dinner for a group of Americans u was touring with!

I was pleased to find a place that looked traditional but bit stale and with known familiar dishes with a modern twist!

We had a paella and it was lovely, I can't wait to come back and try some of the nice dishes I saw other customers eating!

Also the area where it is, is very nice! A bohemian part of old ti
Town but was from the touristy Ramblas area!

Helpful?
Thank Tzingote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    179
    40
    24
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“It's ok”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The place looks cool and beckons you to enter. Hopefully you don't get stuck in the little room beyond the main dining room however. They were in a big rush and got some of the wine orders wrong and forgot to put out silverware. These little things start to add up. The food was just ok. Decent squid and padron peppers appetizer. The paella's however were fairly boring and mild in flavor with overcooked mussels and shrimp which had the shell sticking to the meat inside. Go for the meat paella combo instead. Not so impressed with this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SirNose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what an interesting place”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We found this restaurant quite by chance while we were out for a stroll around the back streets of the Gothic Quarter.
The 1st thing you notice about the place is the interesting selection of items on the walls from the many clocks to the many paintings and pictures. Then you are struck how friendlyn and welcoming the waiters are. As mentioned on other reviews they are keen to explained the history of the building and the occupants. Their tour de force is taking you upstairs to the private dining room where they say that the King of Spain and Gorbachev dined after the Olympics.

The food is well prepared and presented home cooking rather than master chef standard and I'm not sure they understand portion control. My starter was probably large enough for a main course. All tasted lovely just a little too much.

Overall if you are looking for something a little different from the run of the mill tapas on offer and are interested in history then well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Newbury_Chief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cagliari, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“In the heart of ancient Barcelona”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I went to have dinner here all alone, expecting that I wouldn't be that welcome on a Friday evening being a lonely guest.

So I was really surprised when the owner invited me to have a look around in his restaurant, while he explained me the origin of all the clocks and watches and ancient photographs hanging on the walls. He also showed me the "secret room", from where the 19th century owner of this place, clockmaker and playwriter Frederic Soler also known as Pitarra, could have an overview over this place.
The service was excellent and the food was good (I had stuffed goat lamb, a typical Catalan winter dish, and afterwards as desert I chose Catalan cream). I paid a fair price for what I got.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Inge09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
95 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not an elegant spot, but the food is reasonable”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This restaurant is anything but stylish. We had expected discreet lighting, perhaps Catalan instrumental music and tasteful decor. Pitarra is overlit, plays American pop and has a motley collection of items on its walls. To cap it off (sic), one diner wore a hat throughout his dinner. It's that kind of place.

The food is not bad, however. We had very good foie gras, tasty mushroom crepes, partridge and roast leg of goat followed by sorbets. This was the only restaurant in Barcelona that we visited that offered no wines by the glass. Instead, they persuade you to buy half-bottles.

The service was strange. One waiter actually dumped the cutlery of one course from the plate onto the table so it would be reused for the next course. The other waiters were pleasant enough.

Recommended for traditional Catalan cooking.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VRGFToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pitarra also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Pitarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing