We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of The Chipiron - CLOSED

The Chipiron
Price range: US$23 - US$41
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: El Congres i els Indians
Description: Tapas and seafood restaurant.
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Outside of breakfast in our hotel, this was only the second place we ate, and it was lovely! Staff were friendly and helpful, bothered to make an effort with speaking English (unlike at Tapa Tapa, (chain) opposite; please avoid Tapa Tapa!) kindly accommodating our request to sit in the sun as soon as possible! Food was really good (particularly paella; we had the meat and chicken one which was delicious) and the prices were pretty average. Whilst it isn't a typical "off the beaten track" restaurant it is certainly very nice.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dimpsxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (1,493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 222 of 1,494 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed this place. We had an early dinner and bottle of Cava which was only €19.
We were upstairs on the balcony and enjoyed a lovely view of the harbour.
Our burgers were excellent. Really well cooked and extremely tasty.
The service was very friendly although slightly ineffective.
We would recommend this place and suggest that if you do visit you go upstairs rather than down.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Pipehitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Restaurant at the city port at the end of Las Ramblas. Great place to eat and enjoy the city port. Must try paella here, I recommend swordfish and baby squid Paella. It was delicious. Unfortunetaly the restaurant is a bit expensive, prices could be more reasonble.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank arekwarzycha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

We visited this restaurant two years ago. The food was average and expensive but the location very nice, especially on a hot day. On this occasion we had a number of items appear on our bill that we hadn't ordered, (bringing out double portions without mentioning) we discussed with management and ending up paying as they claimed there had been an honest misunderstanding and we had after all eaten the food.

Two years on, we again visited the restaurant due to the location. Ordered a number of tapas dishes, very carefully wording what we wanted and clarifying again at the end of the order. Surprise surprise, the exact same trick at the end of the meal.

On pointing this out to the waiter he then claimed we should 'just pay it as it was only a few euros' then continued to argue, claiming I was lying and had specifically ordered double portions. They ended up reducing the bill for the double charges, but only after 5 minutes of rudely arguing with us. The waiter then had the cheek to continue to repeatedly point out that there was no tip included!

I've never ever been met with such rudeness from staff and a restaurant that is so clearly trying to rip off tourists only there for a couple of days.

There are so many nice places to eat in Barcelona, this is the only bad experience we've had in two visits, do yourselves a favour and avoid!

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank alexb003
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 April 2016

OK, let me start with the good bits. The portions are huge. The wait staff is actually super friendly and nice. The decor is good. The view is amazing. Plus it's inside the Maremagnum mall so it's a good central easy to find place.

The problem however is: The food is just ok. The price is expensive. In fact, it's actually not great value for money as the price we paid for the meal, we would have been able to sample much better meals at a better restaurants elsewhere in Barcelona.

It's too bad though. The view and location is good.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank juihong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Chipiron also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.