We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only good thing is the view”
Review of The Chipiron - CLOSED

The Chipiron
Price range: US$23 - US$41
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: El Congres i els Indians
Description: Tapas and seafood restaurant.
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Went for dinner at this restaurant due to the fab views over Port Vell. The views were the only positive. Service was slow and inattentive. Staff didn't bring menus/ bill when asked & didn't know the price of desserts or bother to find them out. Drinks weren't as advertised and we had to send it back. Paella had more bones and gristle than meat. Were given tomato bread on arrival and not told there was a charge until we saw the bill! While the view was amazing, nothing else about the experience was. Would not recommend.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Miss_HGw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (1,493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 186 of 1,493 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2016

We sat on the terrace outside the main restaurant (upstairs). We had the fish n chips which were ok although one piece of cod was slightly underdone. The paella was pretty good. Sadly two meals arrived well before the remaining two and there was no.apology for the wait.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank roslynl2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

The welcoming staff, the location, the food and the cocktails - all perfect! We went there twice on our 7 day Barcelona vacation and would definitely go there again.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank d3vil g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2016

This was our Anniversary meal so as we had eaten here on 2 previous visits to Barcelona and loved the food we just had to go back.
Started with a kilo of plump juicy mussels followed by a large portion of Seafood soup for me and a Fillet steak for my wife medium, cooked to perfection
The food is fantastic here and a beautiful setting overlooking the harbour. Prices are not cheap but you only get what you paid for.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Kenneth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We were in port for only a few hours on a sunday and with most of the shops in Barcelona closed except for those on the around The Chipiron Restaurant it was an easy choice for where to eat and we were not disappointed the spicy potatoes, seafood salad with guacamole, melon and Prosciutto,spiced olives, calamari and the meat plate all fantastic, the service was exceptionally fast and friendly

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Glenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Chipiron also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.