We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and solid...”
Review of Betawi

Betawi
Ranked #1,980 of 9,698 Restaurants in Barcelona
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
addicte a Barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly and solid...”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I'm not an expert on Thai cuisine, but this place was near my hotel and I plumped for it over butifarra and mongetes. I should probably have gone for the butifarra, but that would be no reflection on the Betawi.

It's easy to find, amongst the tourist haunts of c/ Montsio. The staff are absolutely lovely and attentive. I had the prawn laksa and the chicken curry. The former was tasty, possibly a little salty, and the curry was just that... it lacked oomph, but as I said, I'm not overly familiar with Thai cuisine.

Well worth a visit, and a bit of a haven!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank floodbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    77
    32
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great find in Barcelona!!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stumbled across Restaurant Betawi when walking through the Gothic District. Great fixed price menu at lunch. Three courses plus a drink for €12. All delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arguineguin, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just for a quick bite, not to spend a dinner”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

A very small restaurant with on the ground floor just 3 tables giving it the impression of a living room. On the first floor more tables are available. The atmosphere is quite pleasant. The employees are quite neutral when receiving the guests. We ordered 2 starters, a mango salad and a soto ayam (indonesian chicken soup). Both dishes were actually very nice, although the soup was freshly made so the soup was still a bit weak of flavour. The main courses were a nasi goreng with chicken and a beef curry. The nasi goreng was quite simple with 2 extremely small sate but the taste was nice. The beef curry was a disaster as the beef was of very bad quality with a lot of fat and tough. We commented it to the owner who offered us a replacement of the same dish but with chicken which we kindly rejected. She was obviously a bit ashamed and offered us the coffee for free. We were looking forward very much to a typical indonesian dinner but left actually quite disappointed. We might give it another try sometime but for now I give it an average recommendation. Maybe we had bad luck...the bill including a beer and a wine was 43 Euro.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Montevino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“delicious !!!”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Had lunch there with friends, we share a couple of apetitazers ( they have a degustation plate just for this ) very good. The chiken brochettes and the beef were delicious, not that all spicy.
They have a fair menu, with vegeterian options, spicy food and not. And desserts. Rice and noodles are the main course and good.
Service, not bad, it could be better, but we got what we ask for and in a decent time. the place is nice and friendly, and only the air conditiong was on, when it was not needed specially full blast.

Other than that go and enjoy the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lukitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta Selatan
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Authentic Indonesian taste, but not Indonesian hospitality”
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

We were a bit surprised to find Indonesian restaurant in Barcelona. When we entered, we expected to get the Indonesian hospitality from the staffs. However, it turned out that not the kind of hospitality that we got. The waitress, who greeted us, told us to go upstairs to find a table for two even though there was a table for four available downstairs. We asked to be seated in the available table downstairs considering a 7-month pregnant wife. But, the waitress did not care and told us that the table was for four people. We later found out that the staffs working as waitress were not Indonesian.

Anyway, when the foods came, we quickly forgot about the little incident. We ordered sate ayam (chicken satay), batagor, and nasi goreng istimewa (special fried rice). They tasted very good and really closed to Indonesian authenticity.

In short, it is a really good place to find alternative food in Barcelona, especially when you miss Indonesian foods. But, do not expect to get the warm hospitality like in Indonesia.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pasq2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Betawi also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Betawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing