We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss the menu del dia for just over €10”
Review of Blanc

Blanc
Ranked #39 of 504 Restaurants in Girona
Price range: US$22 - US$34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cocina mediterranea. La inspiracion de este restaurante se traslada a una tienda de ultramarinos, apelando a la formalidad y la nostalgia. Madera robusta, vitrinas con botellas y envases, caracterizan el interiorismo. Fusion mediterranea con reminiscencias orientales en la que conviven en perfecta armonia especias como el clavo, la canela y la nuez moscada junto a productos locales como las verduras frescas, carnes y pescados del dia, otorgando un merecido protagonismo al aceite de oliva Extra Virgen.
Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Don't miss the menu del dia for just over €10”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This restaurant is attached to the Hotel Ciutat, just steps away from the Placa de la Independencia and every weekday is packed with people (mostly locals) enjoying the excellent fixed price lunch menu. For an incredible €10.30 you get three courses plus a glass of wine in a lovely room. At night it seems to cater mainly to the guests staying at the hotel and lacks the buzz of the daytime crowd!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HoppyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    171
    69
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Blanc is Bland”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This is a hotel restaurant in the worst meaning of the term. It is trying to appeal to all guests without offending anyone and in the process it has become safe and bland.
We should have known when we first looked at the menu. Thai green curry, spaghetti bolognese and hamburgers!?! This place doesn't know who it's appealing too.
The food was "fine". Nothing wrong with it, just bland. My vegetable entree "with a touch of spice" had no spice what so ever. My husband& duck & rice main dish was nothing but my bland vegetables with a little duck and rice added.
When I don't want desert at a restaurant because I know I'll just be disappointed, that's a bad sign. We didn't bother with desert here.
Service was ordinary. Bread came very early on and as it was warm bread, we ate it while still warm. But then had no bread to eat with our soup entree; which would have been better. There was also no oil or balsamic served with bread and the bread was an additional charge.
Prices are cheap but plenty of other restaurants are this well priced and provide far better food and service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent price quality in its category”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed at the hotel across the street and every day we had our lunch in this restaurant by choice, we went the first day because it was just crossing the small street....and went back every day of the week due to the very good experience, in the evening we went to other restaurants, but there have been times that I thought during my dinner of this restaurant, very good price quality (is the chef still the Belgian from Antwerp :-).....?)
If I go back to Girona I will stay in the same hotel across the street, nord 1901, and I will have every day again a very good tasty 3 course lunch in this restaurant at a very very reasonable price (btw the wines are also good), I know this is another category than the fat duck, but never the less this restaurant deserves also a 5 because it delivers fully what one expect in this category (maybe tripadvisor could make sub-categories for the different categories of restaurants).
Greetings from Belgium

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edlih1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Locals know this one”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

In calle de Nord Girona you will find a gem of a local restaurant. Not the least bit touristy, beautiful decor and great staff who are happy to supply an English menu and be charming. Of course the food is excellent. But for us travelers it has to be the whole experience.. Excellent prices and ambience..friendly staff and good food. Thank you Blanc for a number of great meals over our stay.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melb50ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chic interior with good comfort food”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The interior was clean, crisp and modern. We thought the food would be presented as such, but were pleasantly surprised when it arrived on mis-matched plates and reminiscent of good simple home cooking. Theres a good variety of food on the menu to cater for most tastes. Staff were helpful and friendly. We were the only ones in the restaurant at 8pm and when we left we were one of four tables, walking past the next day at lunch time it was very busy, perhaps we ate a little early. Reasonably priced, spent just over 30€ two mains, two drinks and one dessert. Pretty faultless.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jade-anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blanc also viewed

Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing