We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Europa
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed here while in transit and was impressed with the convenience to the bus and train station
ie 5 uncomplicated minutes of walking max. Rooms functional but clean and not miniscule. No aesthetic appeal tho. Most impressive was the level of help and friendliness from the receptionist who went well beyond the call of duty to seek information and give advice and guidance when one of us had a dental emergency. While it is not particularly well located for the historic centre of Girona neither are a lot of the other hotels. Also often being beside the train station means being in a seedy part of town, this is not the case for the Europa which is on a shopping street in an area which felt safe and busy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosceite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

Excellent location: just few steps from main train and bus station. We landed at Girona very late at night, so it was ideal cause it is very easy to find and not far to carry bags.
Hotel is good, rooms are clean, hot water late in the night.
We were also allowed to leave bags in morning on reception to see Girona before leaving to Barcelona.
Receptionist was very kind!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed in Hotel Europa for 3 nights, and it was perfect for a short stay. The room is very small, and beds and pillows are very uncomfortable, and the walls are very thin but the room was really clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a few problems on the first night, but the staff sorted them out very quickly. Very close to the train station and also close to the center and the shops.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tetts92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Elfie1706
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We were given a warm welcome on arrival and given a room at the back away from any street noise. There are 5 rooms on each floor so there is less chance of noise during the night than in a larger hotel. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was clean. The hotel was chosen for the proximity to the bus station as we needed the 6am bus to the airport. The city was beautiful and probably deserved a longer stay, and this hotel would be a good base,even for 2-3 nights. Reception is open 24 hours.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back do not have street noise, so will be rooms ending xx4 on each floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edward c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

we've chosen this hotel primary for its location - 2-min. walk from the station, so if you come to Barcelona in Girona Airport late at night - it is convenient and fast to get here.
The staff is really nice (though a man who registered us spoke no word in English :)
The hotel itself is old-fashioned with antique elevator and wooden shutters on the windows, which seemed really nice to me. The bathroom is renovated, and the room is ok for a short stay.
The breakfast is pretty basic, I would recommend to better eat in town. Even if you go somewhere else, stay in Girona for half day - it's a great!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oggi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

If you are looking for a place just to go sleep at night and explore the city or close to train station(100m),this is it. Its on great location,quiet room,clean.
The beds are very small and not very comfortable.
We stayed for a night and we won't mind to stay again if we go back to Girona.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreas1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Costabella
Hotel Costabella
#9 of 20 in Girona
510 reviews
0.5 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.6 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#6 of 20 in Girona
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Margarit
Hotel Margarit
#10 of 20 in Girona
293 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis budget Girona Costa Brava
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#3 of 20 in Girona
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Juli Garreta 21-23, 17002 Girona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range: £43 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Europa 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing