We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option when in Girona”
Review of Nord 1901

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nord 1901
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The hotel is conveniently situated in the centre of Girona.

The apartments:
We were in room 4.1 which is a very large apartment on the top floor of the hotel. For guests who have difficulty walking up stairs this won’t be ideal, because the lift only goes up to the third floor and stairs are required to get to the final floor.

More generally there are apartments facing the street and apartments facing the pool area. We stayed in one facing the street, which was fine by us, but it can get loud at night during the weekends. All rooms have air conditioning and are equipped with a kitchen area. The bath rooms are clean (ours only had a shower, no bath) and essential toiletries are provided by the hotel.

Some apartments have a balcony, most don’t. One thing to note is that these are apartments and not typical hotel rooms. The pool is fairly small and comes with few amenities although it’s perfectly fine for a bit of tanning. We didn’t try the breakfast or the dining in service, so can’t comment on that.

The service in the hotel is fine and the staff is more than happy to help you figure out where to eat, how best to get to certain towns, etc.

The town of Girona:
The town of Girona is fairly small, but picturesque. The hotel is conveniently located in the old part of town and about 10mins walk from the train station. There are many tapas bars around the area and a few nice restaurants as well (recommend restaurant Llevataps and restaurant Nu, which are walking distance and the world renowned El Celler de Can Roca, is about 10mins by car, but you’ll need to reserve a table months in advance). The old part of town has some nice historic sites and has a decent shopping area for those who interested.

For foodies:
For our trip in Girona we booked the following restaurants: El Celler de Can Roca (Girona), Sant Pau (Sant Pol de Mar) and Compartir (Cadaques). We didn’t have a car so we depended completely on taxis and public transportation.
In hindsight:
- El Celler de Can Roca is perfectly fine to travel by taxi from Girona centre.
-Sant Pau is possible via train, but takes about takes about 1.5h and you’ll need to change once. The trains are very nice and air conditioned.
-Compartir is pretty far from Girona and will take about 2-2.5 hours by train or bus (the bus only goes during the week and not on weekends).
-If you book any of these restaurants, I’d suggest booking lunch as you have plenty of time to get there, can enjoy the surroundings before / after and in the case of Sant Pau or Compartir, you won’t need to take an expensive taxi ride back in the middle of the night (taxi will cost you about 90 euros from Sant Pol de Mar).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TKB001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

Appeaantly this is a recently refurbished hotel. We paid 100 euro for 1 night and we were lucky that we were upgraded to the junior suite (room 3.2) for some unclear reason. This was not a room but more an ppartment. It was fantastic! Nice earthcolours on the wall ith dark grey doors etc. In the livingroom (yes!) couch, flatscreen tv, I-phone docking music station, complete kitchen!, then walk trough the passage and reach the spacious bathroom with big shower(slippery!) and bathrobes! The bedroom also was beautfully painted, very stylish and also has it's own flatscreen tv and best of all a brilliant memoryfoam bed with 2 pillows for each. The lights also are great not to bright. I have seen the brochure and all rooms are greatly decorated and clean, they just differ in size. The location is fantastic, with reastaurant Blanc across the street where foodquality/price was great compared to prices in my country, the Netherlands. You are just in the centre of the city and everything is at a small walking distance. Receptionstaff was also very friendly and they have a very nice garden with swimmingpool and loungebeds. (we did not go there as it was raining). I doubt prices will stay this low seeing the quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scrappy1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Perfectly placed for walking, shopping and eating. Close to river.
Very friendly and helpful staff, lift, clean and very well appointed rooms. breakast is good, no dinner and a very small bar, but surrounded by bars and restaurants, very pleasant old square close by. Garden area with small pool.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hodroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Stayed in a Superior Double. I obtained such a good rate online I wasn't sure what to expect but this is an excellent, trendy, modern hotel in a great location in Gerona. The staff were very helpful. We had dinner at the excellent Celler de Can Roca and this hotel complemented the experience perfectly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hipman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We selected the "Romantic Weekend Package" back in December at Nord 1901. The package included a 1 night stay in the hotel's junior suite, a bottle of champagne, dinner for 2 at a nearby restaurant, and in-room breakfast. Everything about the package was great and we really enjoyed the dinner - the food, wine, and service were exquisite. However, the breakfast was very disappointing. It consisted of a few rolls of bread, orange juice, and butter. Also, they claimed that the champagne came along with fresh strawberries -- we received candy strawberries. Nevertheless, we enjoyed our stay at Nord 1901; the staff was friendly and the room was very clean and well kept. The location is great - perfect for walking to Girona's old city and Jewish quarter. The hotel itself has a rustic charm with a modern twist and illustrates Girona's unique appeal. We would definitely return to Nord 1901!!

Room Tip: The junior suite is very private and cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dkitty13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Very nice and incredibly suited to a visit to girona as it is so close to the centre. very clean and staff were lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daytripper2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We were lucky to get a table at Celler de Can Roca, so I spent a long time trying to find a great hotel in Girona to use as a base for exploring the area.
Hotel Nord is tucked away down a cobbled street right in the centre of the old part of town. Close to restaurants, bars, and the Rambla, it is perfectly located, and everything is within walking distance. We booked a suite - a Junior Suite - which was only a small amount a night more than the standard rooms, and it was huge!! Large comfy bed with memory foam mattress, great bathroom and power shower, large living room with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the pool area, and a very handy kitchen area. We heard no noise from neighbours at all during our stay.
Staff were friendly and helpful and were able to quickly get us taxis whenever we needed to go further afield, even when there was a national strike in progress.

There's a fantastic deli a few yards south of the hotel, and so many great places to sit having a pastry and coffee for breakfast. Girona is stunning!

When we return to Girona, we will only come back here. I spent a long time looking at alternatives, all with problems (noise, distance etc), but this hotel was perfect.

Room Tip: Junior suite overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swempo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
799 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#3 of 20 in Girona
608 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
1.1 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#6 of 20 in Girona
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nord 1901? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nord 1901

Address: Calle Nord 7-9, 17001 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range: £87 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nord 1901 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Nord 1901 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing