We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience and style”
Review of Nord 1901

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nord 1901
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Witney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Convenience and style”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Highly convenient central location but quietly situated just off the main square with a good selection of bars and restaurants. Spacious, comfortable room and ensuite in modern minimalist style. Breakfast continental and self-service, initially looking a little sparse but constantly topped up with fresh servings, but no other meals in the restaurant. Small external garden with patio and swimming pool. Well-placed for seeing all main sites on foot. Girona is a hidden gem of history and architecture, little-known before Ryanair used its airport to transfer to Barcelona but now a destination in its own right.

Room Tip: Slight downside was a broken washbasin plug not noticed by staff but quickly repaired. Rooms number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lescor_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    128
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
63
277
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We spent a week in Girona in August stopping at Hotel Nord 1901. First of all, the location is fantastic - on a quiet street but only a couple of minutes' walk into the old town. The staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room (3.1) was spacious and had the biggest bed I have ever seen (comfy too). The room was spotlessly clean. There is a pool to the rear, which is partly why we booked this hotel originally (I think it's the only one in this part of town with a pool). You can have breakfast sitting by the pool if you wish and fresh towels were provided. The only slight downsides were that the pool is mostly in the shade so was a little chilly and the breakfasts could have been more varied, but for some reason a lot of people only seem to stay in Girona for a brief spell, so this won't be a problem. Overall we loved the hotel and would definitely stay there again. Girona itself is a fantastic place and I would urge anyone to go for longer than the customary night or couple of days - we spent a week there and could easily have stayed longer. Great place, great little hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandJYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Myself and my partner stayed 3 nights in the Hotel Nord. Hotel is comfortable but not anything special. Room and bathrooms are spacious and clean, pool area was nice but very small with only a few of the loungers in the sun at any one time. Didn't bother with the breakfast as so many choices nearby. The hotel location and staff could not be faulted.

The food options close to the hotel are numerous, great quality and mainly very good value. Girona itself is a lovely city, easy to get around and very much a underated gem for a short city break.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulS844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
147 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights July/August in this hotel in the lovely small city of Girona. Location was excellent but finding it by car was a bit fraught as there was no signposting - the hotel needs to address this. Our room was on the top floor but as the lift didn't go that far we had to take the luggage up a flight of stairs for the last bit. The room was quite spacious and good facilities with air conditioning. We didn't try the breakfast as there were plenty of bars nearby for a more reasonable price. Car parking is in a garage around the corner from the hotel and expensive but then we found all of the parking in Spain to be very expensive. There is a small swimming pool out the back with sun loungers and bar service. Girona is lovely and well worth a visit for 2-3 days, plenty of places to eat. For those who don't want to pay the prices at El Celler de Can Roca (we didn't) - they have an ice cream shop in Girona - gorgeous ice cream! Very impressed by Girona - we will definitely return.

Room Tip: A room or apartment overlooking the pool would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

What a pleasure to stay at this gem of a place.Modern and clean with a very comfortable bed and friendly staff.Close to good food in tapas in square and free parking near railway line which staff told us, Couldn't fault it

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The staff is very helpful and made local calls to assist us. The rooms are very comfortable with modern and stylish decor. The breakfast buffet is excellent - including fresh-squeezed orange juice. If on a biking holiday, staff will store bikes on-site. Close proximity to shops and old town sites.

Room Tip: PrivAte loft rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soaked in ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We travelled into girona airport on our way to Estartit, on the return trip for home we stayed at the Equity point hostel, it was was very comfortable, breakfast included and brilliant value at around 60 euro for 6 people, the staff where great, i enjoyed my 10 days in estartit BUT the highlight for me had to have been the old town in girona, it has to be the most amazing place ive ever seen, its everything and more of what i imagined spain should be. The best advise i can give anyone who may be travelling into girona and going on else where is to plan your trip and stay in this wonderful place for a few days, i regret only having night but will be going back, girona is a true gem.

Room Tip: if staying at equity point make sure and go to the roof terrace at night, a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nord 1901? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nord 1901

Property: Nord 1901
Address: Calle Nord 7-9, 17001 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nord 1901 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nord 1901 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing