We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Hotel Nord 1901”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Nord 1901

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nord 1901
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Loved Hotel Nord 1901”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We drove to Girona from BCN for our first night in Spain, and although we arrived a little dazed, the Hotel Nord staff was very welcoming. We were driving, and the hotel lowered the street bollards for our check in -- you just buzz them at the bollard. Parking is in a garage about 75 yards away. We had a triple room, which turned out to be a small apartment, with 2 bedrooms, a large very modern bathroom, and spacious sitting area with table and kitchen. Each room had a Juliet balcony overlooking the courtyard with pool, but it was quiet at night. A great set-up for a few days stay. The hotel is quite close to Placa Independencia and the bridges crossing the Onye River into the old town. Good selection of tapas places, cafes, and restos and also shopping nearby. Girona was beautiful, and we would definitely like to visit again -- and stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    125
    19
    6
    3
See reviews for
63
274
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in every way. Great rooms great service (especially Juan at front desk). Great location. Quiet yet cosmopolitan.
JUST STAY HERE! Charming wonderful city, great for visiting costa brava sights.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank informedtravelerNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed four nights and enjoyed the location, the service and the breakfasts which included scrambled eggs (unsual for Spain). My only complaint was that the Wi-Fi was a bit erractic and that staff seemed to have to reboot the router at least once a day, but obviously in the scheme of things that doesn't matter. Our room was big with lots of closet space and the bathroom was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkyMarkinCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Located in the Old Town, this Hotel is very conveniently for exploring the old part of Girona. A nice boutique Hotel with a dipping pool in the back - great for cooling off after a day of walking. No music around the pool, although there were speakers. We requested a high floor overlooking the street and it was quite large and well equipped - Wi-fi connection was good - Beds were comfortable. Staff was helpful, but not that knowledgeable about restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: We had no issue with a room facing the street ( re: noise) and there was no issue with A.C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donald m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I found this hotel by reading Trip Advisor reviews and no wonder it is rated so highly(currently number 1) !! It is a privately owned establishment with 19 rooms. If you are looking for a "big hotel" with lots of bars,restaurants etc then this is not for you!! The hotel is located close to the "old city" and so no need for a car... Girona has become a destination for low cost airlines(e.g.Ryan Air) as a gateway for Barcelona and is over an hour away... My suggestion is look no further than Girona..It is an old city with lots of fabulous museums,restaurants and shops and full of charm...You are almost transported back into the past.... It has history going back to mediaeval times...

Enough of the history lesson and travel info.... The hotel is contemporary in style and boutique style.The rooms are well appointed and have everything you could wish for from cotton buds to slippers... The pool area is small with a handful of double beds..There is a bar and though unmanned the front office staff will be delighted to serve you.A waiter is in attendance from 5-8pm... As I said earlier if you want a full bar service and fancy bar snacks this might not be for you.... Breakfast is continental with a few hot dishes and amazing value.... If you want tranquility,gorgeous rooms and excellent and friendly staff I can not recommend this hotel highly enough nor come to mention the city of Girona!!!

Room Tip: There are couple of rooms with kitchenettes and balconies...overlooking the pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterDalek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wylam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in this lovely hotel, a very short distance away from the old walled city. Excellent, professional staff always available. A real plus was the garden and pool area to relax in after a day sightseeing, not often found in a city hotel. We were upgraded to a junior suite so cannot comment on double room. If we had to find an adverse comment it would be the room was rather dark and the walls an unpleasant mustard colour. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed for 5 nights split into 2 visits at this hotel. It is in a really convenient location in the centre of Girona, within easy reach of the shops, restaurants & historical quarter, and has obviously been done up pretty recently.
The staff were incredibly helpful (especially as we left some luggage with them whilst we visited Barcelona!). We only stayed in an ordinary double bedroom, but it was the most comfortable bed we stayed in on the whole of our visit. Some people might find it a bit dark as it only has a window onto a central light well, but the room was lovely and quiet, pretty spacious and had a really good (and noise free) air conditioning unit.
We would happily stay here again!

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for one of the suites, but the ordinary rooms are great value & very com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 255Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Girona hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Museu Llegendes de Girona
0.6 mi away
Double Tree Hilton  Hotel Girona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlemany
Hotel Carlemany
#4 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nord 1901? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nord 1901

Property: Nord 1901
Address: Calle Nord 7-9, 17001 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nord 1901 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nord 1901 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing